We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Reviewed 18 November 2013

No complaints about cleanliness or hospitality, but this hotel is badly in need of a facelift.
My room was comfortable, but the shower was anaemic, the paintwork tired, and the heating was either tropical or polar.
Breakfast was typical Holiday Inn, and the coffee and cooked breakfast was good, but fried eggs do not improve after sitting in a dish for twenty minutes.
Stay here if you need to, but I won't be hurrying back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Julian P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the shower.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at the hotel, we would like to thank you for providing your feedback. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments.

These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of occasions due to a convenient location and brand security. Ok for a couple of nights or break up a journey but not a holiday hotel. It has all that you could look for, wifi, lively open plan bar area, gym and conference facilities.
That said I never really look forward to visiting. I always seem to have an issue at check in with lack of drinks vouchers or priority rewards vouchers. You also have to request a wifi voucher every day rather than one to cover the duration of your stay. The food in the bar and restaurant is good quality when you eventually get it (I have known to wait 40 mins for a Caesar salad. )
Rooms are clean and well appointed and you know you'll get a good nights sleep

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank MrsFrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear MrsFrodo,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the room accommodations you had and the convenient location of our hotel in the area. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had during check-in and any inconvenience you may have encountered that affected your stay negatively. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed with a friend as midway meeting point, and good location for lakeside...it wasn't complete budget hotel, but not too badly priced.
Room was big with decent bathroom, and all standard stuff.
Gym was staffed by friendly people, and equipment in good order. Pool and Jacuzzi all good too, it all felt clean.
Starbucks coffee, and the food in general seemed a bit pricey to me, but no more so than any other place that has a captive audience, so to speak.
Breakfast was plentiful in the morning, good selection, even if staff were a bit slow at service.
Rooms seemed like they needed soundproofing at one point, as conversations in corridor could be heard in our room, but the night want too noisy so can't complain.
Shower hot and powerful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loup65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear loup65,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked your room accommodation. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is a run of the mill mid priced hotel that offers everything you would expect for the price you pay.

Check in was very quick and the girl on reception was very attentive and friendly

Rooms - are of a good standard with all amenities including TV, desk area, iron and ironing board, drinks tray and plenty of wardrobe space. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of space around to move about freely

Bathroom - was well appointed and basic with everything that was needed. This was clean and bright

Breakfast - was excellent with a very wide choice from a buffet service including make your own pancakes. The food was all fresh but there tea and coffee was a bit to be desired.

Check out - was again very quick and efficient with a friendly service

All round a very good hotel. I would recommend staying and would go again, just dont know what some people expect for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I recently stopped at this hotel as they were advertising Costa coffee. I had a green tea and a packet of ginger snap biscuits. They charged £3.05 for the tea and £1.50 for the biscuits. The following day I visited Costa in Hornchurch, Essex and ordered exactly the same. The green tea was £1.75 and the biscuits £1.15! The Holiday Inn should be avoided like the plague charging these prices. That is day light robbery.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherP200261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear HeatherP200261,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. It is unfortunate the pricing structure of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here several times and always had a pleasant stay. The rooms are clean and a good size. Can get very busy at w/e which only adds to the atmosphere. Good location for Brentwood centre and London City

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Marv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here the evening before my Hubby Ran a 1/2 marathon in North Weald Park
Rooms clean and spacious
The staff were all very helpful , and came to the rescue when I realised I hadn't packed tooth paste aghhhh :)
The Waiting staff in the dining room were really nice , and gave us a couple of recommendations for lunch , one of which turned out to be perfect (THANKYOU )
Would defo stay here again if in that neck of the woods

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_H_E_B_O_S_S079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,026 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
531 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge London Romford
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brentwood

Address: Brook Street | M25, Jct 28, Brentwood CM14 5NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range: £65 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brentwood 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Brentwood is located just off junction 28 of the M25 and only 1 mile away from Ford Motor Company in Warley, and 0.5 miles from British Telecom offices. Holiday Inn Brentwood is 15 minutes from Lakeside Shopping Centre, 25 minutes from Stansted Airport, 40 minutes from Central London and is the perfect choice for business and leisure travellers alike staying in and around Essex. At the Holiday Inn Brentwood all guest rooms have air conditioning and are non-smoking. Offering a choice of standard and executive bedrooms as well as Family and 2 Accessible Bedrooms. High Speed internet access is available in guest rooms, lounge and The Academy. We offer a la carte dining in our restaurant, 24 hour room service or bar snacks. Unwind after a hard days work in our fully equipped health club, including beauty and fitness facilities, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Holiday Inn Brentwood is a popular venue for meetings and events and can accommodate a variety of functions in The Academy which can cater for 120 people theatre style, and offers breakout facilties. Events over the forthcoming months close to us:May - Southend Air ShowFree Car Parking available. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and conditions apply. Restaurant Closed on Sundays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brentwood Hotel Brentwood
Brentwood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brentwood Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing