We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Brentwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bland ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

A functional hotel that screams nothing but mediocracy. No real ale, no food prepared fresh on the premises, plastic tables and chairs all goes towards making this hotel instantly forgettable. That said the rooms are a good size and the staff were cheerful and polite and a credit to the brand. But honestly I can't see myself rushing back any time soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Enderley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Enderley007,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selection prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    167
    140
    68
    66
See reviews for
82
85
25
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
501 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here again for one night on business. Check in was chaotic and understaffed. I was spoken over and ignored. The IT failed.

My room was a standard HI room and fine.

Dinner was very average but the staff appalling. I simply don't know where the manager has found a group of such rude, socially inept people. He / she must have worked really hard to recruit such a bizarre collection but someone should overseeing the manager! Breakfast was edible but the staff appalling.

The most bizarre experience happened at check out when the unusual check out guy who was so off hand the night before asked me to rate the hotel out of 10. He accepted my low score for dinner but tried to get to me agree to a "9-10" score for 'reception'. I refused and said it was 2-3 max. That didn't get recorded, obviously! What a sham.

This is a very average hotel. It is completely unmanaged.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeamBrentwood, Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when recently in Brentwood.

I am sorry to read that your recent stay was poor. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your review further, please contact me on Brentwoodm25@ihg.com with a suitable number at your convenience.

I appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Brentwood in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Efrem Teclu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brentwood hotels

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

One night with Scunthorpe United. The rooms are quite a good size but the bathrooms are very small. The hotel is clean and tidy, bar limited and food ok. Road noise a problem if your a light sleeper. Didn't use the indoor pool so cannot comment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeamBrentwood, Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and your feedback during your stay at the Holiday Inn Brentwood.

We always welcome all guest’s feedback so that we can ensure our standards are kept high or identify where we can improve.

Once again, many thanks for your review and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to look after you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Efrem Teclu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Being a regular visitor to the Brentwood area for work, tend to stay in the same establishments.

Holiday inn is sinking to new depths especially in the food and beverage departments. All the draft lagers were undrinkable and absolutely stank, to the extent that all were returned. Those of my party that did consume the beers were all ill, whilst those of us that left and went to a local pub were fine.

Rooms are ok but if you are on the side facing the A12, opening the window for fresh air and you will be awoken by the traffic noise which starts well before 6am

Relly poor experience from a hotel that is not heap for the area

Room Tip: None that face the a12
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baz1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeamBrentwood, Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback.

It is very disappointing to read your review; please accept my sincere apologies that we were unable to meet your expectations.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments in more detail, please contact me on Brentwoodm25@ihg.com with a suitable number at your convenience.

Thank you once again for your review and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to discuss your review further.

Yours sincerely,
Efrem Teclu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you don't pay very much , you won't be disappointed.
The rooms are very small, the bar pretty basic, and the service adequate just about
It's got one lift you could get 2 plus cases in just about
It feels old and tired,
It's a long way from the town and station too

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCriagD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear BCriagD,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed here, there was a mess up from the company we booked it through and the staff at the holiday inn were really friendly and did their best to help and accommodate us! Steve behind the bar was lovely and patiently put up with us even after the bar closed!! Room was great, comfy bed, spacious, and we had a connecting room! 5mins in a taxi to Brentwood..... For a cheap night I would definitely book here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz242g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stopped here December 2013 on business as it was close to a customer location. I had seen mixed reviews on this hotel and was somewhat put off by the notice on the front page of the hotel website about its proximity/popularity due to a local nightclub, however I decided to give it a go. I stopped here for a few days and found that the hotel was good in some regards, but lacking in others...

On the positive side, the reception/bar/restaurant area of the hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and polite. The room service food was also nice, which was someone surprising given my past experiences with Holiday Inn's.

On the negative side, you have the noise downstairs and the level of cleaning in the rooms... The noise on the ground floor when there is a party/function WILL keep you awake. Anyone stopping here should definitely avoid the ground floor unless you are part of the party. The cleaning was unfortunately the biggest issue for me and my colleague, where both of our rooms were in a bad state... Bathtubs with hair in them, bed sheets that were clearly stained, and a telephone that looked like it had never been cleaned (see the picture I uploaded).

Overall it's a shame because if it wasn't for the level of cleaning (more specifically the lack of) I would have rated this hotel 1* higher, as the party noise is inaudible on the top floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor as you get all of the noise from the bar, stop as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeInAHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear LifeInAHotel,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. It was very rewarding to hear that you appreciate the service you received at the hotel bar/restaurant as well as the room service you experienced. However, I would like to apologize for any challenges that transpired during your stay particularly with the noise and poor housekeeping service. Your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service and accommodations that we have to offer.

Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
0.4 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
1.9 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
12.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brentwood

Property: Holiday Inn Brentwood
Address: Brook Street | M25, Jct 28, Brentwood CM14 5NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brentwood 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Brentwood is located just off junction 28 of the M25 and only 1 mile away from Ford Motor Company in Warley, and 0.5 miles from British Telecom offices. Holiday Inn Brentwood is 15 minutes from Lakeside Shopping Centre, 25 minutes from Stansted Airport, 40 minutes from Central London and is the perfect choice for business and leisure travellers alike staying in and around Essex. At the Holiday Inn Brentwood all guest rooms have air conditioning and are non-smoking. Offering a choice of standard and executive bedrooms as well as Family and 2 Accessible Bedrooms. High Speed internet access is available in guest rooms, lounge and The Academy. We offer a la carte dining in our restaurant, 24 hour room service or bar snacks. Unwind after a hard days work in our fully equipped health club, including beauty and fitness facilities, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Holiday Inn Brentwood is a popular venue for meetings and events and can accommodate a variety of functions in The Academy which can cater for 120 people theatre style, and offers breakout facilties. Events over the forthcoming months close to us:May - Southend Air ShowFree Car Parking available. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and conditions apply. Restaurant Closed on Sundays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brentwood Hotel Brentwood
Brentwood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brentwood Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing