We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barracks for middle-aged road warriors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Dated, worn, chipped, a bit shabby, but who cares - cheery atmosphere, the staff are genuinely welcoming and helpful, everything works, pretty much, and the Hypnos beds are comfortable, a big plus. Slapdash housekeeping control - the room I was first allocated showed signs of recent occupation after having been cleaned. Rudimentary, boring bar with poor choice of beers. Predominantly male middle-management clientele. Very poor quality steak, I won't risk the dining room again. OK breakfast but mediocre coffee from harassed waitress rushing around with a vacuum jug. I'll save myself for the nearest Costa next time. £16 for wifi! - they take advantage of a captive audience. Free parking though.

Would use again if in the area but if they want me to upgrade them to 4 star they need to take a few leaves out of Accor's book: install a decent self service coffee machine - and change their beef supplier.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Gilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear John Gilmore,

Thank you for your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. It is lovely to read your kind words regarding our staff. I am sorry our hotel was not able to live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your comments regarding the housekeeping service and the food. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. We will address these with the proper department to improve the quality of product and service that we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

The staff at the hotel were lovely very welcoming and friendly and there was sufficient parking too (which was free) however once you get to your room it is slightly dated and in need of a revamp overall a good stay and close to the town which was what we wanted but don't expect anything more than just ok

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickytoria17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here on business and found the room to be pretty shabby. Service was terrible as they did not answer the phone when I attempted to order room service or when I called down to reception. Stated the reason was they were too busy however there were three members of staff standing around with no customers when I was told this!! Food was average. When I visited, the pool and gym were shut for renovation so have no comments on that. The room looked out onto a busy motorway and you could hear the noise clearly even with the windows shut. For a hotel catering to lots of business travellers, to charge so much in this day and age for Wifi is a joke, this should be free or a small charge. I will try avoid this hotel when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renpen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Renpen1,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We truly regret to see that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We do take these reviews very seriously to help us find areas that would benefit from improvements. We would like to obtain some additional information about your experience and have sent you a private message.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The staff here are very welcoming and tried very hard to ensure my stay is successful.

The hotel is let down by the decoration, fixtures and furniture are in desperate need of refurbishment. The cost for a room follows the standard ICG policy but you feel here that you do not get value as the rooms are so tired and worn. This is such a shame as so many of the Holiday Inn Expresses are so new, clean and bright. This Holiday Inn is old, dull and as a consequence you feel that it is not comfortable.

I arrived at 11.00pm and there was no food available just some confectionary in the room. In addition the bar was closed! Although 3 staff were on duty they were not allowed to pour me a pint. I had just arrived following a 6 hour journey from Portugal so a British draught beer would have been very welcoming at 11.00pm.

This is a real disappointment as it is in a brilliant location next to the M25 but far enough away not to hear it! Plus close to other main routes and excellent for getting to central London.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Dave H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The staff were very friendly and the place was busy. It lacks a bit of personality, similar to most off-motorway hotels but that's to be expected.
My executive room was a bit noisy because it had one of those link doors to the next room.
Free internet and it has a swimming pool!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldeayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear ldeayton,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to read your kind comments about the staff and we appreciate the high score for Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights on business, the room was standard fayre although looking a little tired, was concerned over the stains on one of the pillows and the perfume smell on anoher.

The service in the restraurant was not good neither was the food,I had to wait for ages for the staff to come and take my order despite the place being quiet, when the food arrived I had to send the soup back as it was very very salty, so after complaining once, I was then not left alone, for the next nights all of the staff on duty came and asked if everything was okay, this was overkill.

My big gripe is the price of wifi at £16.00 per night, Wifi costs pennies these days and should be included free of charge, 60 years ago you would have paid extra for hot water, it is now considered a standard item, wifi is the same, it is not a luxury extra it is a facility required to work.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Chris P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

My wife, myself and two sons (5 years and a 7 month old) stayed here last weekend and we all had a positive experience.

Ok, if you want a romantic 5* luxury spar break, look elsewhere - but on the basis of what we paid, it met our expectations, ticked all the boxes and therefore, I have awarded this hotel 5/5.

Prior to our stay, I had read the occasional complaint on this site regarding noise from revelers staying over after a night of partying at the "Sugar Hut" of TOWIE fame. I rang the hotel in advance and was reassured that, given we had children, we would be located at the quieter wing of the hotel. We were happy that staff did take our needs into consideration.

We arrived a few hours early (misjudged traffic) and unfortunately, as we had been allocated a specific room, the room wasn't ready. Though the receptionist did offer us a different room, we decided to come back later. It wasn't a problem.

When we came back after check-in, there was a hand-written card to welcome us and some complimentary fruit in the room. I am unsure as to whether this is standard practice or a simply sweetener given that we weren't able to have our room immediately but either way, we were at fault for being very early and the card/fruit was a nice touch. Thanks.

The room itself was as we have come to expect from Holiday Inn hotels. We have stayed in some top hotels in the past and never really made use of them when we have the kids with us (waste of money not being able to use the facilities or enjoy the peace and quiet) so we tend to go premium as a couple and use the Holiday Inn when with the children as they are great for our little breaks.

The room was clean, tv with a range of channels, brew facilities, iron and ironing board, trouser press, hairdryer, shower etc.

The hotel is in a decent location not too far from Brentwood centre and the motorway junction (parking good and minimal road noise at night). The receptionist at the evening (Chelsey) was very accommodating and warming towards our children which was nice and she also provided us with some Colgate toothpaste as my wife forgot to bring some!

Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Tea, coffee and fruit juices, cereals, pancakes, fruit and of course full English!

Overall, we had a good stay and we would recommend it. No problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
3.3 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
92 reviews
11.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brentwood

Address: Brook Street | M25, Jct 28, Brentwood CM14 5NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range: £61 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brentwood 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Brentwood is located just off junction 28 of the M25 and only 1 mile away from Ford Motor Company in Warley, and 0.5 miles from British Telecom offices. Holiday Inn Brentwood is 15 minutes from Lakeside Shopping Centre, 25 minutes from Stansted Airport, 40 minutes from Central London and is the perfect choice for business and leisure travellers alike staying in and around Essex. At the Holiday Inn Brentwood all guest rooms have air conditioning and are non-smoking. Offering a choice of standard and executive bedrooms as well as Family and 2 Accessible Bedrooms. High Speed internet access is available in guest rooms, lounge and The Academy. We offer a la carte dining in our restaurant, 24 hour room service or bar snacks. Unwind after a hard days work in our fully equipped health club, including beauty and fitness facilities, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Holiday Inn Brentwood is a popular venue for meetings and events and can accommodate a variety of functions in The Academy which can cater for 120 people theatre style, and offers breakout facilties. Events over the forthcoming months close to us:May - Southend Air ShowFree Car Parking available. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and conditions apply. Restaurant Closed on Sundays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brentwood Hotel Brentwood
Brentwood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brentwood Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing