We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not return” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Brentwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I would not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was very poor, less than you would expect for the prices paid, the menu also left a lot to desire. I think the standards of the hotel have greatly improved if you are there for a meeting, parking is plentiful my only problem with the hotel was the quality and standard of the food available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    167
    140
    68
    66
See reviews for
82
85
25
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bell Park
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Used the hotel as our UK base (visiting family) and was just right.
It has a definite business weekdays/party weekends split. However, we were not disturbed at all.
Pretty good gym/pool/spa attached and is free for hotel guests
Breakfast was great and there are various themed dinners, too.
Five star it ain't but it's perfectly acceptable, with clean well-serviced rooms.
Great attitude from the staff who were all very friendly.
The only negative comment I would make is that our room was a little warm and had no individual thermostat. Also, we did travel with kids and although they are probably not normal customers here, they did go out of their way to provide them with little treats.

Room Tip: Top floor furthest from the lifts will be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worzel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeamBrentwood, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Andrew Stanley C,

Thank you for leaving such kind feedback following your recent visit, in particular your comments regarding the great attitude of our team.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Efrem Teclu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willaston
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed one night on a business trip. Conveniently located with a large free car park. Reception staff friendly and efficient and keen to extend a welcome. Room was standard HI fare, clean and comfortable. (Range of TV channels seemed rather limited but maybe that was just my TV?). Bar area & restaurant a little too open and impersonal for my tastes. Also selection of drinks & knowledge of barman, although he was very pleasant and helpful, was surprisingly limited. Didn't have diner in restaurant but breakfast, which was buffet style, was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAHWillaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear SAHWillaston,

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you liked our friendly hotel staff and comfortable room accommodation.

I am sorry to hear that our bar and restaurant services were not at par with your standards. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with our hotel management to reconsider improvements where needed.

I hope we get to host you again next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after winning a competition to meet one of the Towie cast for a morning shopping in their store. This hotel was a perfect location, being only 6 mins drive into the centre.
Check in was smooth, the room appeared excellent however we were let down by the 2nd bed (sofa bed).
Travelled and stayed with a friend and she was sleeping on the sofa bed. After an afternoon sleep before a night out in the sugarhut, she awoke with horrendous backache from the thin mattress on the sofa bed. She contacted reception who swiftly changed our room. We were informed that they are currently updating the hotel and the older style sofa beds with the thin mattresses are being replaced. We were moved to a room with a newer sofa bed. The manager was very pleasant and quick to solve the issue. We also had complimentary room service dinner which was appreciated.
The staff in the holiday inn brentwood were very friendly and professional and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank brittanny_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeamBrentwood, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear brittany_uk,

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your prize stay with us here at Brentwood.

I am glad that we were able to act quickly to resolve things for your friend and do regret the discomfort caused. I can confirm that we have now received delivery of the new replacement sofa beds mentioned.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team here and should you have the opportunity to return to us the in the future, we will very much look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely,

Efrem Teclu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms adequate , food ok. But the team who work here are excellent , service starts with a smile and I've never not seen one here . This Makes all the difference , would recommend as a good location for the m25 and leisure facilities fine. Ask for a room facing the car park to avoid road noise .

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank madgreek18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeamBrentwood, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear madgreek18,

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your great experience here at Holiday Inn Brentwood. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to greeting you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Efrem Teclu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Check in was so quick and easy reception staff had great local knowledge and very helpful
Room was clean, and well appointed.
Restaurant was great, choice of food was limited, but made up for in presentation and taste.
The staff in restaurant we're managed by Steve who was very keen to give good service, and the staff all seemed to be vary capable and quick to help.
We ate in the restaurant for two nights out of a three night stay, and on both occasions enjoyed the food and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ann W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a candid review about our property. We’re glad to know that our location suited your needs and that our staff was able to assist you right away upon check in. Your kind words will be a motivation for us to continue providing excellent service to our valued guests like you.

Your comments about the food selections have been taken note of and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for further review. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this is our best resource for improving our service and achieving superior guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booked 1 night at short notice so only standard rate available. On arrival the large car park was full so clearly the hotel is popular. Greeting was friendly and status was mentioned with the now standard and underwhelming offer of points or a single drink. As the drink is normally a small glass of wine or a single bottle of beer I took the points.
Room was adequate but tired and dull. Bathroom was basic but functional and there was tea coffee etc. My room faced the M25 and the noise was constant and irritating. The bed was ok.

WIFI was dire. The free wifi for elites members is now a laughable joke and I was offered free wifi or a variety of options up to a ludicrous £58 for high speed internet access. The free service was so poor that I switched to my G3 phone which was faster. Note 3 G not 4 G.

IHG need to get a grip of priority rewards and recognition. No upgrade no proper 21st century wifi and really no incentive to stay. Hilton get this right with free breakfast and upgrades and I just wish one could have been available nearby.

On returning to the hotel around 11pm the entrance was littered with cigarette ends and empty Stella Artois glasses giving the impression of a really neglected doss house. It's not of corse but it is typical of hospitality in the UK and of this section of the market.No doubt the hotel will responds saying it was unusual, not normal standards and apologising....all the while doing nothing.

There is a pool and the smell of chlorine permeates the stairwell and rooms nearby.

This is a place to spend the night if convenient and clearly people do.

I can't comment of the food as I did not eat and venture near the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Binman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Binman62,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brentwood hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
0.4 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
1.9 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
12.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brentwood

Property: Holiday Inn Brentwood
Address: Brook Street | M25, Jct 28, Brentwood CM14 5NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brentwood 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Brentwood is located just off junction 28 of the M25 and only 1 mile away from Ford Motor Company in Warley, and 0.5 miles from British Telecom offices. Holiday Inn Brentwood is 15 minutes from Lakeside Shopping Centre, 25 minutes from Stansted Airport, 40 minutes from Central London and is the perfect choice for business and leisure travellers alike staying in and around Essex. At the Holiday Inn Brentwood all guest rooms have air conditioning and are non-smoking. Offering a choice of standard and executive bedrooms as well as Family and 2 Accessible Bedrooms. High Speed internet access is available in guest rooms, lounge and The Academy. We offer a la carte dining in our restaurant, 24 hour room service or bar snacks. Unwind after a hard days work in our fully equipped health club, including beauty and fitness facilities, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Holiday Inn Brentwood is a popular venue for meetings and events and can accommodate a variety of functions in The Academy which can cater for 120 people theatre style, and offers breakout facilties. Events over the forthcoming months close to us:May - Southend Air ShowFree Car Parking available. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and conditions apply. Restaurant Closed on Sundays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brentwood Hotel Brentwood
Brentwood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brentwood Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing