We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update/refurb,but pleasant enough....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs an update/refurb,but pleasant enough....”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.Had we had to pay full rate for the room it would have been seriously overpriced.The discounted price we actually paid was acceptable to us.

The room was comfortable if a little tired,but little extras such as fresh fruit and coffee making facilities were welcome.

On the technology side the tv was very poor with pictures for ever breaking up.

FREE in room wifi broadband connection is standard in most places we travel now ( maybe its a loss leader,but it is an essential service for businessmen and women,and certainly a magnet for many of us nowadayswhen booking rooms).The policy of charging for access needs to be reviewed.

Food excellent,both the evening meal, and the full English breakfast.

Staff attentive.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterL_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    256
    96
    26
    38
See reviews for
241
273
32
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I have stayed at Marygreen twice in the last year and have enjoyed both my stays. The first time I stayed we got a room in the "new block" separate from the main house. Our room there was lovely; loads of space, a great bathroom and very clean and tidy. On our second stay we were placed in a "garden room" surrounding the lovely courtyard outside the main house. Whilst this room was clean and spacious, it was nowhere near as nice as the room in the new building. My in-laws have stayed in a courtyard room when there was a wedding on and it was very noisy and they asked to be moved room because of the noise and smell of smoke coming through the windows. My advice would be to check if there is a wedding on and if there is upgrade to a room in the new block!
The breakfast has been fantastic both times and they have made exactly what I wanted both times. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always offer to carry your luggage to your room. The only issue I had was dealing with a recpetionist who didn't posess a very good grasp of English made worse by my Northern accent in Essex. Her inability to communicate did make life difficult I must say.
Overall this is a lovely hotel in a very pleasant setting and I would recommend upgrading to a newer room if finances allow.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbeebies_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stapleford Abbotts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We were extremely pleased with the food and service provided for a reception on April 14, 2011.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We had our wedding at Marygreen Manor in September 2010 and can honestly say that we could not fault the day. Also all of the help received from the management and staff on the day and beforehand in preperation for the day was first class. We had 32 people at the wedding with most staying over for the night. Everything went exactly to plan, the food was excellent and the whole day was thouroughly enjoyed, not just by us but also by all of our guests. A few of us from the wedding day have just booked up for the Murder Mystery night on 3rd June 2011 and are staying over again, which has prompted us to now write this review, which we should have done much earlier after the wedding. We can highly recommend this venue for a wedding, or just for a night away with excellent food and very good accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My colleague and myself had booked two rooms in this hotel for a total stay of 4 nights. The building is in old English style, very pretty and attractive. The exterior and interior are adorned with lots of wood making for a very cosy, pleasant cottage feel. The bar is inviting and makes for an agreeable venue for a relaxing drink after work before proceeding to dinner. We tried out the restaurant and found it satisfactory. The price was correct. The dishes were presented in a classical appetizing manner and were well-flavoured. The restaurant exudes a fine-dining style. We likewise tried lunch but were less happy with that experience. The poached salmon was flirting with the limit of its expiration date and should not have been served anymore. The soup of the day remained invariably of the mushroom type all throughout our stay. The rooms were nice and tidy. I had booked a superior room whilst my colleague had opted for a standard room. The lay-out and size of both rooms are virtually identical. The superior room have a renovated bathroom making your stay considerably more pleasant. Many of the rooms in this hotel are accessible via outdoors or are in a separate building altoghether. The windows of the superior rooms were small so that the light had to be switched on during day time as well. Wi-fi was available but not free (10 GBP per 24 hours). Breakfast offers you the choice between a (extremely limited) range of cold cuts and cheese and a full English breakfast (toast, beans, saucages, etc.). The biggest minus in this hotel is the staff. They were without exception plump, ineffective, surly and seemingly in a perpetually bad mood. Some of the characters looked like they came from a comedy show and were very excentric. It made us suspect the work environment in this establishment may be suboptimal leading to disgruntled employees who consider guests more as a nuissance than as asset. The hotel's approach to regular business guest requests (printing, photocopying,...) is awkward. If you are looking for a real business hotel you may want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: the superior rooms have nicer bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2011

I have tried the lunch menu at the Tudors restaurant at Marygreen Manor on a few occassions now with mixed results. My latest visit was on 7th April with 2 friends and the restuarant was empty apart from a family at the next table so it lacked ambience. The low level background music was dreadful and we asked them to turn off the speaker that we were sitting under but the other speaker remained on. The menu choice was limited and the starter was disappointing but the main and dessert were very good. It seemed good value for money until the coffee at nearly £4 ! a cup and the service charge at around 12% was added on!. I'm not sure I will go again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Avoid this place like Vanessa Feltz`s knickers..Even the staff complain they are doing four jobs at once. When you first drive in make sure you dont park to the left in the wrong car park and get clamped.
Service was awful.They dont know the meaning of the word. I thought it was a self service bar!
Oddly, the full breakfast is 25% more expensive for guests! How so?
I would at best give them 3 stars...they certainly dont deserve four..
If you are extra hungry, the food scraps on the outside of the sticky menu`s should tide you over until you are lucky enough to be spotted by a member of staff!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyphilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were sorry to read your comments as it is always disappointing to hear that we failed to deliver the normal levels of service we are able to achieve. I am also sorry that you seem to have experienced some difficulty in our car park; however I would like to assure you that no vehicles have EVER been clamped in our car park neither do we have a “wrong” car park.

It would appear that there is also some confusion regarding our breakfast pricing. We offer an advanced purchase rate of £10.00 for breakfast. This is only available to guests booking accommodation with us. We do not charge 25% extra for hotel guests but rather offer them a discount of 32% for booking in advance. I am very sorry if this was not communicated effectively to you during the reservation process.

We would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you during your stay with us and we are sorry that we did not get the chance to do so. However please be assured that we will use your feedback to improve on the areas of service and presentation you mention in your review.

We sincerely hope you do not let this isolated incident deter you from staying with us again and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marygreen Manor Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
622 reviews
8.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
294 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Property: Marygreen Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing