We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BPW LASE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Very positive experience for a first time business meeting held in the Samuel Pepys Room. Light and airy, fully equipped - refreshments very good. Staff very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly look to using the venue again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

We visited here in early June and will certainly return when visiting this area. It's in a great location set back from the main road with ample parking. The initial view of the building is pleasing on the eye both inside and out. All the staff were very helpful and attentive. We had a garden room which was spotlessly clean, of good size and well appointed. the only criticism of the bedroom was that the frame of the bed protruded from the mattress and was not obvious due to the valance sheet; my wife bruised her shin. Food in the restaurant was lovely, salted or un salted butter is not that pretentious! All in all a very pleasant hotel that I recommend to couples or single travellers

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Best hotel for staying in Brentwood when visiting HQ of Ford UK. Loads of history in the buildings. Bedrooms, meeting rooms and common areas are full of exposed beams, low ceilings etc.. Not your average bland business hotel. Staff are very engaging but border on the Fawlty Towers kind of hospitality, charming but just not quite getting it right!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hector18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. Marygreen Manor is a historic building that has obviously been adapted for use as a hotel. Unfortunately, elements of it are ruined. The car park and reception area really need sorting out - they are just so unattractive. My room was one of those outside of the main building around a little quadrangle at the back. It only had windows on one side, meaning that the bathroom and bedroom had no window. It is strangely designed in that you have to climb up a big step to get into the small sitting area, then go up a couple more steps into the bedroom and yet more to the bathroom. It would be a nightmare for anyone with mobility issues. The room itself was fine and clean. The mineral water and trouser press were welcome features.

I had dinner at the hotel in the main restaurant. It's probably one of the most pretentious hotel restaurants I've been to in years! When traveling on business one really wants something simple, healthy, fresh and well cooked. The menu is complicated and OTT. Bread with 2 types of butter, amuse bouche, a pre-desert desert (yes, you did read that right!) and so on. All completely unnessary and just calories for that sake of calories!

Perhaps this hotel doesn't want business travellers - it does seem very wedding orientated - but if they do then I'd suggest a simpler menu option.

Breakfast was good and the coffee delicious.

I might stay here again but would think twice about it unless some more appropriate dining options are available.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I booked several rooms and 2 suites for myself and family to prepare for my wedding( held at Ashwells). I stayed in suite 47, it was very clean and spacious, with enough room to accomodate my bridesmaids, beautician and hairdressers.The bathroom was very clean, and I can highly recommend a soak in the jaquizzi, to calm nerves! The Hotel offered us a great discount on our stay for the wedding party, all staff were very polite and attentive.The breakfast is cooked to very high standard with alot of choices. My only negative comment is the carpet in the suite had seen better days, which you dont expect to see in a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Booked Henry viii room for this special celebration - invited 40 guests. Excellent choice for party, large enough so people didn't feel crowded , small enough so felt warm and friendly. Staff were excellent from first enquiry right hrough to waiting staff. Were allowed to decorate room ourselves: all the extras we wanted e.g canapes served with drinks before tea party began readily agreed to. Waiters terrific very friendly and obliiging e.g. one guest (without prior warning) asked if there were gluten free cakes and these were made available. Quality and quantity of food provided for the actual tea was superb. Many if our guests are looking forward to going back there themselves for their celebrations etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21bugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I booked here for a Sunday afternoon tea with 12 ladies. Firstly, when I phoned to book, the gentleman that I spoke to on the phone was SO rude, I was really shocked but hoped that I would have better customer service on the day. Admittedly, the food was really lovely, the sandwiches and cakes were all really nice, though some of the sandwiches were very cold and seems a little stuck together, so I assuming they were made hours before and had been sat in a fridge, rather than all being prepared freshly. The service was just a bit random, I kept having to call someone over to ask for some tea, and then for champagne and then the food and then the bill too, which took about 15 minutes to come and then was wrong, so I had to send it back. There were about 4 staff walking around, and they didn't seem rushed off their feet, so I wouldn't put it down to being understaffed. They weren't very attentive at all. I had an afternoon tea at the Kensington Gardens Hotel in London and it was very different, the waiters were all over you, as soon as you finished tea they were bringing you more and often came to ask if everything was ok. I had a really lovely afternoon though, was nice and relaxed and I enjoyed the food and drink, just the service could have been better!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee8118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
671 reviews
8.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
378 reviews
21.0 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,684 reviews
11.9 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range: £70 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing