We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here recently on business for the first and last time. As a business woman I have travelled for 27+ years and stay away in hotels every week up and down the country. I was trevelling with a colleague and thought the hotel expensive when booking but reasoned that it would be a relaxing stay during what was a very busy working week. The hotel is hugely overpriced and the rooms tatty, extremely dated and in desperate need of updating. My garden room obviously a twin usually, as the 2 headboards where at each end of the head of the bed. The bathroom had no heating and was very cold underfoot. The reception took us 25 minutes to check out in the morning which is totally unacceptable in a business situation. The food was just ok but sadly the service was so poor that I refused to pay the service charge that was automatically added to the bill. This is a building with lots of beautiful period features but sadly needs a huge amount of updating to be anywhere close to justifying its currently over inflated room rates.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 907Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    251
    94
    26
    37
See reviews for
236
267
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I absolutely never write a review BUT, having read that awful last review I couldn't not leave one myself. My sister and I have twice stayed in this hotel. Both times we had afternoon tea, fabulous and wonderful and well worth the money. Both times we got a great deal on the room and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this gorgeous hotel to anyone wanting to come to Brentwood. It is first class in all aspects x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled into thinking the pictures look nice and it's expensive when compared to other hotels in the area. This place is shocking!!!!
The staff are rude, public areas are worn and the rooms needed updating 10 years ago and they are also COLD and we stayed when it was reasonably warm outside.
Ignore this at your peril!!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

There's a lot to like about this hotel - lots of appears to be tudor so it's fairly attractive. My room
(35, aka Catherine Howard) was just lovely, in the attic of the main building and a symphony of tudor beams and wonky floors. Certainly no problems with hot water, and a lumpy but acceptably comfortable bed. Fresh fruit and water in the rooms was very welcome.

Didn't try the food in the restaurant (it looked very expensive considering the menu) but the food in the bar is excellent, if a bit mingy on the portion size - chips were particularly good. There is a Harvester opposite, but that is best avoided like all of its breed. One real ale (not good) in the bar but otherwise homely and comfortable.

My room was excellent value, and included a continental breakfast. The cooked breakfast was an extra £2 and is definitely worth the money - good ingredients and very fresh eggs. Brentwood is unremittingly ghastly, but the hotel is very close to the M25/A12 junction and so could be very useful for long journeys.

So why the loss of the fifth star? Checkout was a nightmare - two staff working at peak time, neither of whom had any English or knew anything about the IT system. It took me 12 minutes to check out, once I had got to the end of the eight-person queue, and I was late for my meeting. It's a shame, because a little training would have got them an 'excellent' rating

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazy_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Booked Sunday afternoon tea for my husband birthday celebration. ( His choice as we had been before as invited guests and loved it!) Were were joined by son, daughter in law and two girls aged 3 and 7 ) . We were shown to our conservatory table and served promptly....... various teas selected and squash for the children... The sandwiches, and cakes served to table and the warm scones, cream and jam followed before we could blink! The service was excellent, without being over the top, addition sandwiches, tea , coffee etc was requested and served without question, We thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were attentive without being overbearing, we were not rushed at all. We asked to take the remained of the cakes home for the children ( these were left purely because everyone had eaten their fill) this again was accommodated and presented back to the table as a silver foil swan...a delightful touch. Would highly recommend. We have already booked a twixmas break and have also booked the conservatory for our family celebration for our Golden Wedding next year.Can I say more !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

this a lovely hotel.staff extremely helpful.Rooms are set in a type of garden/courtyard, and are like little chalets. Equipped with tele,hairdryer lovely complimentary toiletries,including mouthwash.Bathroom had bath and shower .Breakfast was very good, continental and full English,fresh fruit and cereals Relaxing bar and lounge area.Would definately recommend this and will stay there again.not cheap but it is London and worth the price.(Free car parking also),
lovely garden area to sit and eat or drink

Room Tip: our room was 29 and was in the "garden "square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalsallJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for a long weekend for the 4th time this year, but our booking was not correct.
so instead of a Garden Room (nice) or an Executive Suite (very nice) we were allocated a Executive Appartment (terrible)

The "Executive Appartment" was a run-down flat in the sad old block of flats next door, with shabby decor -- it looks like it has been at least 20 years since anything was done in there.
The carpet and soft furnishings were disgustingly dirty the paintwork was very worn and peeling.

To add insult to injury we discovered that this type of room only gets "serviced" 2 times a week, so the second night we had no clean towels, etc;

The only good thing in this room was the bedding which is the only part that looked like it belonged in a hotel.

I summary, we had a similar experience to the one described by "Chukijani" in December 2012 in his review “Dingy and Dirty!!!!”

If we had not been to this hotel previously I can assure you we would never return.
Be sure you avoid this type of room at all costs

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.0 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Property: Marygreen Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing