We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Rougemont Manor(Brentwood)(Great Value!)
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel(Brentwood)(Great Value!)
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kilns Hotel(Brentwood)
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brentwood Guesthouse Hotel(Brentwood)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonshire Hotel(Hornchurch)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,097 results
Traveller rating
612
302
108
32
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
302
108
32
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teasamuel pepysgarden roomcakestudors restaurantcatherine of aragon suitelovely gardenlounge arealovely hotelwedding receptionwarm sconesfinger sandwichesmain buildingfour poster bedwedding nightspecial occasionour waiter
Filter
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 1,097 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed near the end of May 2014 for five nights. The room was clean, but the bed, bed linens and pillows were horrible. I've never slept in a bed so uncomfortable. The pillows looked like they were here when the hotel first opened. Buy some new pillows! Same goes for the mattresses. I don't mind the décor or the size of the room, but good grief, change out items that can easily be updated!

The room was also quite stuffy. We had already opened the windows, which only resulted in a few flies coming in our room. When we called the front desk to for help, their solutions were to tell us to open the window and turn on the fan. Gee, thanks. I looked at the fan, and I wondered if it had ever been cleaned.

Overall, it was an average visit. It's such a lovely place, it really only needs a few changes to the rooms to make it great. One last thing that was bothersome: the rooms are awfully dark, along with the bathroom. Better lighting would be helpful since there wasn't much natural light.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.
Our pillows are renewed regularly. Additional pillows are available in the wardrobe. We offer non-feather pillows for guests with feather related allergy's and also have some firmer pillows available. please be assured that had this been brought to our attention during your stay every effort would have been made to find you a more suitable pillow. Our mattresses are also checked and turned regularly with replacements purchased as required. Please be assured that I will ensure the mattress in the room you used is double checked by our Head Housekeeper. Our bedding is all pure cotton and again this is replaced as necessary by our laundry supplier.

Fans were recently put in to our rooms for the summer months. They were thoroughly cleaned before they were taken to the rooms and have since been dusted on a daily basis. When you contacted reception to say that you found your room to "stuffy" it was suggested that you open the windows and use the fan provided hoping that this would increase airflow through the room, reducing the "stuffiness". I can only apologise if you found this suggestion unhelpful.

We are conscious of our environmental responsibilities and, like many other responsible businesses, one of the many changes we have made is in the sourcing of energy efficient light bulbs. These are used in 95% of our light fittings. The light from these bulbs is not, in some cases, as bright as the old fashioned high energy bulbs but most of our guests find the lighting to be adequate. Had we been aware of your concerns over the lighting in your room during your stay we would have been able to organised additional lighting and again, it is a shame that we did not have the opportunity to do so.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write your review and hop we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to he Marygreen Manor in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We brought a friend here for her 60th birthday to have afternoon tea. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were delicious and plentiful. The hard working waiter was extremely helpful and our friend thoroughly enjoyed her treat.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in a room but were able to view one. Choose one of the ones on two levels. They are large and look very comfy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 86karend86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review.

We were delighted to read you had enjoyed your Afternoon tea here at The Marygreen Manor Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed an overnight stay at the hotel in April. The rooms were very comfortable and extremely well-equipped. We stayed in the modern part of the hotel, some people may find the low ceilings and narrow staircases in the old part of the hotel a problem. The gardens are a lovely place to have a coffee in the morning. The breakfast was excellent and the staff in the dining room were very accommodating.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad that you had the chance to experience the delights of our tranquil garden! We hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Four of us had dinner in the restaurant for my birthday. The meal was excellent, beautifully presented in the Tudor dinning room. The service is also excellent which you would expect
from this top quality restaurant. There is an extensive wine list and menu. The coffee is served after the meal in their oak panelled lounge which has an open fire. The atmosphere of this
Old Tudor building is relaxing and well worth a visit for any special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your meal in Tudors Restaurant and I have passed on your kind comments to the staff concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tudors in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Myself and 5 other family members booked in for a one night stay which included scones on arrival, a three course dinner and breakfast in the morning. From the moment we checked in we were greeted by the most professional hotel reception that I have ever encountered immediately making us all feel welcomed and looked after. Our rooms were excellent they really suited the Tudor style feel and are set in a courtyard style setting with a very pretty view of the well kept gardens. Scones were laid out for us outdoors (at our request) and were so yummy and plentiful. We relaxed in the very neat and tidy lobby area and were impressed my the attentive waiter service, one thing that you notice about this hotel is how hard working the staff are. For the evening dinner we were looked after by Annette who I believe is the assistant manager. She gave us exceptional service accommodating our food requests nothing was too much trouble, she really is a huge asset to the hotel. Our dinner was served in the lovely conservatory and was outstanding, couldn't fault anything everything was cooked fresh and had so much flavour. We retired to the hotels beautiful lounge area where we were welcome again by Annette (this lady really is SUPERWOMAN) we had waiter service by the lovely gentleman (sorry didn't get his name) he too is an extremely hard worker as he was serving us till very late and was there bright & early for breakfast. Breakfast was FANTASTIC again everything was just superb and we had the pleasure of seeing the Tudor dining room in all it's glory. An amazingly room to be in. We recommend Marygreen Manor and thank Annette and her team for providing us with extra special service in what is becoming a very 'inpersonal world' Thank you x

Room Tip: A deluxe room is outdoor and faces out on to the garden. Lovely setting.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and I have pass on your kind comments to Annette - I am still considering her request to have "Super Woman" added on to her name badge!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews