We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend the 'Murder Mystery' nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend the 'Murder Mystery' nights”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel in November to attend the Murder Mystery night with a group of friends. It was a great evening - very amusing actors, fabulous food and great service, as always. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and you would struggle to find anything on the same level for the price charged. Next time I intend making a long weekend of it and thoroughly spoiling myself! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We were glad to hear you enjoyed one of our Murder Mystery Nights. It was also a pleasure to read your comments regarding our food and service. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the Marygreen Manor in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    268
    99
    29
    38
See reviews for
257
284
33
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We know that everything went well on our wedding day thanks to the professional, friendly and experienced staff at Marygreen. Marygreen are well used to weddings and have everything off to a T - everything was covered; the MC ensured that events ran to time and organised the guests. We particularly loved the fire in the Oak Lounge along with the live music we had chosen. The fact that Marygreen has lots of rooms and space to wonder about was a real bonus as the day was cold and dull - but not in our hearts. Thank you Marygreen.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review to our listing. We were delighted to read your comments regarding your wedding and are glad you enjoyed your special day with us at The Marygreen Manor. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The food and service at the Marygreen Manor for a Christmas Party was superb. We had 17 rooms booked from double to deluxe Executive Rooms and they were all spotlessly clean, decor is to a high standard and facilities excellent. The staff are welcoming, happy and friendly and made our stay an evening to remember. Thank you and well done to the Marygreen Manor Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew020307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review. We were very glad to hear you enjoyed your Christmas Party with us and that you were happy with the accommodation booked.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marygreen Manor in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I had to stay in Brentwood on business and was booked in to stay at another hotel (I can't remember the name) I drove around for ages trying to find it I pulled in to Marygreen Manor. I walked into the reception and was so impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the wonderful old world charmed I cancelled my booking at the other hotel and stayed here. I am due to return to Brentwood next month and know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerndownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted you enjoyed your unexpected stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Marygreen Manor in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I will add more following my return from honeymoon, but, please, anyone considering this hotel as an option I advise you to check into the premier Inn down the road. My family were really upset by this venue and left to feel un-ashamedly ripped off.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reasonablefella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My partner and I stayed here for our wedding night as it was near our evening venue.

Location
The Hotel has good access to the A12 and M25.

Hotel
The Hotel looks great from the outside and internally is in keeping with the era. There are lots of car parking spaces.

Room
We stayed in the Jane Seymour Tudor suite. It had a very comfortable four poster bed. In the room there were tea and coffee facilities. The room can’t have A/C installed due to its age but there was a stand alone fan in the wardrobe. The en-suite has a shower cubicle and a separate Jacuzzi bath with the usual toiletries included.

Food / Drink
The cooked breakfast wasn’t bad, there was a small cold buffet aswell.
The bar seemed quite a comfortable place for a night cap. There’s also a garden area which would be nice for a cup of tea in the morning.

Staff
The staff were friendly, not any problems there.

Overall
We got a special offer B&B rate on their website which made our stay extremely good value for money. I would recommend a stay here for a special occasion but only in a Tudor suite.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Thank you very much for your review. We were very glad to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We were also pleased that you were able to take advantage of one of our many special rates available on our website.

Our Tudor Rooms are indeed very popular but we are sure you would find our Garden Rooms equally as comfortable and well appointed; definitely well worth considering should you book to stay with us again.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marygreen Manor in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

They do not know the meaning of customer service and were extremely rude.

Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Screentime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Thank you very much for your review. We were sorry to read of your obvious dissatisfaction with your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to respond fully but are unable to do so with the limited content of your review.

If you would like a more comprehensive response, and can supply a little more detail, we would suggest contacting the hotel directly on: info@marygreenmanor.co.uk or by telephone on: 01277 225252

We hope we are able to resolve this issue for you.

Thank you again for taking the time to send in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
646 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
595 reviews
8.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
21.0 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Property: Marygreen Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing