We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal!! Groupon deal ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olde Dog Inn

The Olde Dog Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Olde Dog Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 156 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!! Groupon deal ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely evening.

Was not rushed at all was their for 1 and 1/2 hours

Plenty of choice only option couldn't have on groupon deal was steak which for me and my partner is fine because we never choose steak.

We had the mushroom/ bruschetta starter we shared half each was yummy.

Main

My partner had fish and chips it was lovely and lots of it :)

I had the duck with beans in tomato chilli sauce it was perfect and the duck just fell off the bones :)

We finished with the Belgium waffle and ice cream all the desert options come in the groupon meal and a great choice of hot and cold desert.

So pleased we got the groupon deal and it's only down the road from where we live so will be sure to go back again and next time we want to try the ploughman's

Also staff were lovely and helpful and drinks a good price.

All the food was also beautifully presented on the plates which in chain restaurants you don't ever get.

Helpful?
Thank marinak1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    74
    23
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food and beverages.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have visited many times. Generally great food and beverages. Never had a bad meal.
Simple but varied specials board using local ingredients.
Just wish we didn't have to wait so long to pay/ order drinks.
Maybe that goes with the relaxed atmosphere.
Recommended still.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Groupon Deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

First time visit to this pub last month. Groupon offer was 2x3 course meal for £20, from what transpired to be a fairly limited deal menu. We did however find some very acceptable meal choices. Portion sizes were very big, the different courses were very tasty, service was very friendly and accommodating. Would happily recommend this pub and in particular this deal which offers superb value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Take_Me_Away_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Groupon coupon offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

First time in this restuarant. Delightful setting. Quaint building. Lovely atmosphere when entering bar. Staff very friendly. Three course meal offer with about half dozen choices in each course.No outstanding dishes in this offer but all four of us managed to find something we liked.My Steak pie with Guinness gravy was wonderul. My Husband was full up after his whitebait starter. Generous portions.Piping hot food which is always a must for my Husband. Drinks were a bit pricey but I always presume that is how the restaurants make their profits.We weren't pushed into buying more than one drink.Will definitely come again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hornchurch
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“fresh home cooked food at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Such lovely home cooked tasty food average pub prices although the drinks are a little on the pricey side. Friendly staff and an extensive choice of "specials" on the black board. Go on give it a try - lunch menu good and reasonable too. This visit I had the butternut squash leek and stilton lasagne which was superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jules2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olde Dog Inn also viewed

Brentwood, Essex
 
Brentwood, Essex
 

Been to The Olde Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing