We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales

Prince of Wales
Ranked #30 of 156 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great choice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Visited yesterday after reading the brilliant reviews. If you want a leisurely delicious home cooked meal , this is the place for you. The food is very fairly priced and the friendly welcoming staff is something you won't find everywhere. Will definitely visit again and will put it at the top of my favourite places to eat. Thank you,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dagenham1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very happy customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We found this place on Trip Advisor that came highly recommended. It's clear to see why. The owners and staff are so friendly, chatty and welcoming.The food itself is really lovely with lots of choice and very generous portions but also very good value. The ambience is cosy and warm. Would definitely recommend a visit to this place and we certainly intend to come back again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“very good pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had sunday afternoon 'lunch' (3pm) here and the food was really top quality. We had to wait a bit for our meals to come but that's because evrything was cooked to order. The pub itself is a traditional country pub type place with no pretensions to grandeur. Our 3-course meal for 6 cost £100 (not including drinks). I have paid twice that for vastly inferior food. The staff are relaxed and friendly as well. well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goa127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Wouldn't go no where else for quality satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

This pub is the friendliest pub I've found in the Essex and Havering borough.

Great home cooked food by amazing cooks. Staff and locals make you feel extremely welcome. Familys welcome and great menu's for both kids and adults.

The staff are friendly helpful and bubbly, and can easily hold a conversation. Which is hard to find in pubs theses day's.

I've strongly recommend the pub to friends and family as its so homely and welcoming.

Prices are very good as the portions are very generous and you will be full by time you leave with a great taste in your mouth mad sure by the great cooks and waitresses.

Overall I keep coming back because its the best place I know for customer satisfaction, extremely highly recommend......

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Pub, great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We visited the Prince of Wales on a Saturday evening with some friends. We had a great time, the atmosphere is really nice. The staff and Landlord were really friendly and helpful, especially as one of us felt ill and they very kindly provided some pain killers.

There was live entertainment, which was very good, enjoyed this also. The food menu has a really good choice and was excellent when it arrived. Great portion sizes, hot and delicious. We each had a different meal choice and can honestly say all four plates were cleared. Only wish I felt well enough to have a desert. Will just have to come back for that... All in all, great pub. Felt at home and made to feel very welcome, nothing too much trouble. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JKHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prince of Wales also viewed

 

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing