We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Hut Village

Sugar Hut Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Nightlife in Brentwood
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

10 of us came here on the 10 May for a mates birthday,crap service food orders wrong delay in waiting for puddings,then got refused entry to club as no one had Id nobody had been told about Id rude staff travelled 200 miles spent £200 in restaurant still wouldn't let us in. 2 hours later 2 girls from our party did get in and wasn't even asked about Id so work that one out totally ruined the weekend will be taking this further.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helenmazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar_Hut1, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Hut Village, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Originally we couldn’t accommodate a booking of ten so you booked 2 tables on separate occasions. We were totally unaware of this until contact was made with our business administrator, who then did her best to accommodate your party of ten which she succeded in doing.

When saying the orders were wrong, I do believe there was one mix up with new potatoes and chips, which was rectified instantly. The delay with your deserts was not helped by the fact that one of your party changed their specified desert from the preorder as she decided she didn’t like the one she had ordered. Despite this our staff politely came over and apologised and offered to make the deserts complimentary.

We do not discriminate from a spend of £20 to £2,000 so the matter of you spending £200 would have no impact on the level of service you received. Every guest of Sugar Hut Village is treated exactly the same.

You requested for service charge to be removed, which it was. However you then proceeded to ask staff to compensate you with a round of free drinks as well.

Having spoken directly with security & restaurant staff I am more than satisfied with how professionally our staff dealt with the situation and all areas of our company policy were adhered to.

Upon our restaurant closing it is normal procedure to advise customers that we are closing (even though most of our customers are astute enough to check opening & closing times of the restaurant) and it is time to leave. Judging by your comments you seem almost offended that we asked you to leave when closing, which I assure you is normal business procedure. I am not sure if your normal way of leaving a restaurant is by verbally abusing the waitresses but this is not language any of our staff should be subjected to.

When Sam made the booking she was emailed on 30th April 2014 (A full 10 days before the event) and in that email it clearly stated: -

“Entrance to the club is subject to our normal terms and conditions that can be found on our website”

Sam was spoken to on the phone on 2 different occasions after this email and with no question being raised about our entrance policy one would assume there were no questions or misunderstanding with our terms and conditions.

If our terms and conditions were not read and you were refused entrance we are not to be held responsible and we had informed you “Entrance to the club is subject to our normal terms and conditions that can be found on our website” if this has been ignore we are not responsible for you being refused entrance to the club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    46
    38
    87
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An over rated night out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

It's over priced entrenches fee and drinks. Very snobby and pretentious customers. Nice decorations.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Portia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A bit of stardom feeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very nice location - Not quite where or what you might expect but surrounded by a nice town centre and good people. Your see the TOWIE stars regularly if you know where and when to look.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than I expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I went here with a group of friends. We had a meal before going into the club. The food was much better than I was expecting and reasonably priced too. I was surprised that he building has so much character and the atmosphere in the club was great. The music was really good. Will definitely be back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YsanneBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trying to order lunch ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend went to have a coffee, decided to have lunch but it was 1145 they don't start until 12 not a problem,but the staff are so rude we wanted them to take the order for food when ordering our coffees, the reply we got don't do food until 12 we knew that but they could have taken order then put it in kitchen at 12 simple,I thought so we walked out we are both from Brentwood I'm in service industry think some training is needed in customer service

Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar_Hut1, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Hut Village, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We would not have taken your order before 12 and put it to one side as the last thing we would have wanted is for you to have your order lost or overlooked when orders start coming in at 12.

Our staff should have explained this reason to you and we can only apologise that this was not explained. As if it was hopefully you would not have felt this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Hut Village also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Sugar Hut Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing