We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little independent pub!”
Review of Thatchers Arms

Thatchers Arms
Ranked #59 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Upminster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little independent pub!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have visited this pub a few times this summer, mainly because it's getting harder and harder to find a good pub that offers quality food at reasonable prices, and isn't part of a big chain where all the food is identical and microwavable.
I've only had lunch here each time, but I can vouch for the sandwiches and omelettes. The omelettes are cooked to order, the bread is fresh from the bakers and there's a good choice of fillings. Looking around me, the main meals look lovely and I will be going back to sample them soon.
There's still an olde worlde charm about the pub and it's an extremely pleasant experience to while away an afternoon there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    15
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
154 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lacking....”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

...in food the damp Monday evening I tried what looked a charming place from the road. Maybe not the best time to visit but it was dead with just a few locals in quite a large bar area. Had my pint and left. Maybe more welcoming at the weeeknd.....?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thatchers Arms”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Typical pub food which is always delicious here. Look for the Steak and Ale Pie. This was wonderful and can sell out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarrieWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battlesbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You're taking the piss!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have been using this pub at lunchtime for about 3 years now and always considered the beer prices reasonable.
Arrived there today and my usual 2 pints (1for me ,1 for a friend) has gone up by 40 pence?. Is that to pay for the new tables/chairs out front, which were in dire need of replacement any way?
Even the barmaids were embarrassed when I pointed out the price increase.
I could understand if there had been a huge increase in a Budget, or beer supplied by the brewery but this is just profiteering.
It's a pity the Licensee doesn't spend some of his profits on redecorating/painting the interior, upgrading the toilets, fixing the leak under the gents urinals,mending the wonky stools in the bar area and tarmaccing the car park.
Still, I suppose the fact he's hardly ever there, and that the staff do a wonderful job running it must have something to do with it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoverP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Coriander on everything?”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Nice location, nice pub and nice atmosphere for our family get together lunch. The waiting staff were helpful and friendly too. Unfortunately, the food was hit and miss. The prawn cocktail starter was good and ample, the soup was also good and the bruschetta might have been OK except that the traditional topping of tomato and onion was liberally laced with finely chopped coriander leaves. As one of the large proportion of people who dislike coriander, this spoiled it for me - i didn't expect it in an Italian dish and it was not mentioned on the menu or I would have asked to have it without. The more traditional basil would have been much nicer.

So, imagine my horror when the coriander turned up again on my jacket potato with baked beans..... and then made a further appearance on my cousin's beef lasagne!

Coriander aside, the main courses were OK - the "proper" chips being a real high point.

The most alarming problem was saved for dessert; the apple pie looked absolutely wonderful but was almost totally inedible. The pastry on the top was like half inch thick pliable leather whilst the pastry on the bottom was equally thick but rock hard and utterly flavorless. I'm not sure what had happened to it but there should be a law against it.

Overall, this could have been a very nice meal out but for a few basic slips. Don't think we'll be rushing back,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thatchers Arms also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Thatchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing