We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must return again soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gastro Burger Company - CLOSED

Gastro Burger Company
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must return again soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We went there for my Sons birthday as we could see the high ratings of others on Trip Advisor and we were not left disappointed. Obviously a street cafe by day, but at night turns into Gastro burger. Chris greated us and explained the food, everything sourced locally, meet from Organic farm in Brentwood and everything made on the premises including sauces etc. We shared the starters which were excellent and then proceeded to the burger course. I had a veggie one and I have to say I smelt the very ripe cheese way before I could see it, but it tasted excellent. Family had combinations of different beef and chicken burgers but all were enjoyed and finished down to the last crumb. Onion rings were best I have ever tasted and we shared combinations of fries etc. Only drawback was we didn't have room for dessert which looked good also. Pity as one had apparently been Chris's dish on Masterchef when he was a finalist, still gives us something new to eat next time. Liked the fact you can bring your own wine so we could enjoy what we liked without he heavy markup. Car park just round the back was free at night so no problem parking. We had booked and were glad we did as all tables were taken even on a Wednesday night. Can see that this can be done via Twitter if necessary, but we picked up the phone and rang the old fashioned method. All in all a gastronomic feast at very reasonable prices, can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    8
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, friendly and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Chris made us feel so welcome and the food was gorgeous! As I vegetarian, I had a choice of starters and burgers. Everything was so fresh and clearly prepared with love. We will definitely be going back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spaff274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Burger Heaven!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

A delightful experience with friendly staff and delicious burgers! Chris is very passionate about his food and makes sure you are aware of the local produce that goes into every dish. Desserts are an absolute dream which again are all homemade!

Fantastic to see a family run business doing so well! If only Brentwood had more places like this...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdy3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Plain and simple - but excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place does not pretend to be something it isn't.

What is does provide is a fun, affordable venue for good food with welcoming staff.

It does not serve wine, (but does serve a few lagers or jugs of Pimms), so take your own. This really cuts prices and there are a few off licences within easy walking distance.

The menu is simple, burgers and a few starters and sides. But everything is done well. Staff cannot do enough to accommodate and advise...and they have personality too!

Everything is quite casual and relaxed.

The volcano starter is lovely, good fun and freshly prepared. The bernaise burger is great as well.

I would certainly go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great burgers, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Chris, the guy in charge, is absolutely lovely -- very friendly and attentive. The burgers were great quality, well cooked and delicious. The fries were a bit of a let down as they just weren't hot enough, but the onion rings were fab. Disappointed that three of us wanted Brownies for dessert but they were unavailable on the day we went -- I guess that just means we'll have to go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MummyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gastro Burger Company also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing