We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best burger and chips”
Review of The Bull

The Bull
Ranked #5 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“The best burger and chips”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I dined early with a friend - a bit too early, as it was a touch dead in the pub, too quiet. On the plus side - plenty of parking. On the other hand - I didn't want to hear the staff chitchat, and it was freezing cold in the draughty aircon.

However what The Bull lacked in atmos at the time it more than made up for by serving me one of the best burgers and chips I've ever had. It was a rare breed burger with absolutely perfect chips, attractively presented and piping hot.

Service was somewhat lacklustre but that burger... I would go back for another anytime.. delicious. Next time I will go later when the staff and the town has woken up a bit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for your review of The Bull and we were glad you enjoyed your burger. We are sorry that it was so quiet during your visit, in between lunch and dinner the restaurant does get less busy. With reagrds to being chilly pease always let the staff know if you have any issues as we would always go out of our way to recify any issues our guests may have. We hope you make another visit to us soon. Many thanks Ed & Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    173
    43
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday meal”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

It was my friends birthday and there were 14 of us celebrating her birthday. The table looked lovely when we arrived and there was plenty of room for us all. Most people had three courses and not one person complained. The food was perfect. Portions were very good and the service was great. The pub has a lovely relaxed feel to it and the décor is very easy on the eye. We all agreed to eat there again - soon. Top marks to The Bull for a great night!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonHappyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we were all really pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit, as the staff all work so hard to ensure that everybody has an enjoyable time here. We look forward to your next visit. Many thanks Ed & Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not much of a welcome”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had enjoyed lunch with friends here the previous week. I was in Brentwood in the afternoon and thought I'd try the bar menu, which looked good, before attending another event in Brentwood that evening. I ordered at the bar - about 5.00p.m. - & asked if I might sit in the empty restaurant, but no, because 'all the tables were reserved'. Found a corner seat with my drink, reading and awaiting my snack. After about 5 mins., staff appeared - would I mind moving because I was sitting where the dartboard was to be. Where did he suggest I sit? The 'choice' was limited to directly under the TV screen, or adjacent to the bar queue. I declined both. I asked again about the restaurant seating, still empty. He went to check and agreed I should sit there. No darts match started by the time I left.Snack good, but marred by the rest.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jan_chris060214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
We're sorry that you had a bad seating experience at The Bull, but glad you enjoyed your food during your visits. Usually when people order at the bar from the bar food menu, they then take an informal seat in the bar area rather than the a la carte menu. It was just unfortunate that the table you chose in the bar was one that we move for the darts team on a Tuesday as it is located in front of the dart board. I admit the staff may have been a little premature in moving you and the table if the team still weren't there when you left. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope that you will give us another chance. Many thanks Ed & Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WE LIKE THIS PUB”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have tried this Pub/Restaurant on many occasions & never been disappointed. The Bar Menu is good & portions are filling. The Restaurant offers a wide range of good food well cooked & presented. The staff are helpful & friendly. Don't expect Posh but do expect a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
It was great to read you enjoyed your experience here at The Bull and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit. Many thanks Ed & Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
“The Only Place in Brentwood”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Looking for an ordinary midweek pub Dinner, thought we would try The Bull, we opted to try the restaurant as opposed to the Bar,, they very kindly found a table for two, considering they were fully booked, we were very grateful, and got anything but ordinary, this was superb food served by really nice friendly staff in lovely surroundings. You really need to book in advance, and once tried you can see why, far more comfortable than the Nags Head, nicer staff, but the really big draw to the Bull is the food, My wife's Liver and Onions was the best sh had ever had, and my Surf and Turf from the specials board was full of flavour and cooked to perfection. My only cpmplaint is that as they are so busy I cannot drop in on a whim :o)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your visits to our pub. We are always looking to improve and all feedback we receive is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to review our pub and look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Ed & Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing