We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst Chinese food ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Garden

Happy Garden
Ranked #102 of 156 Restaurants in Brentwood
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
1 review
“worst Chinese food ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The food is simply horrible. The prawn satay was half cooked. The chow mein tasted bad and there is no difference between the dishes. We almost threw away half the order.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pragna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal for 2 <3”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend always come to HG, it's been the longest chinese in brentwood, which we both love. It's always beens and the wait is long however its worth it
The thai curry is my favourite and is never let down! I deco recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best takeaway in Brentwood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

A a regular customer of the Happy Garden Chinese takeaway in Brentwood Essex. Service is excellent and the delivery fast, as for the food it is the best local takeaway not my nearest either but always hot and never disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ericwong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful experiences every-time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Everytime I have ordered from happy garden I have had a bad experience each time thinking it might have been a one off and giving them the benefit of the doubt. Last night I placed an order and was told 1:20 mins, after 1:45 I call up and was put on hold for 7 minutes while they tried to find out where my order was. Eventually I hung up as no one had any idea what was going on. After 2 hrs I received a call to say my last dish was being cooked and would arrive shortly. I then cancelled my order after making a complaint and then being told 'if we aren't good enough for you go somewhere else' it's good to know their customer service skills are just as good as the kitchen organisation. I have often received deliveries really late therefore would advise not to order 'fast' food from this takeaway.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 583 helpful votes
“Wrong order, twice in a row - avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

It was ridiculous. We were delivered wrong order both times we ordered. We have moved to Great Wall and they have never failed us.

We asked for vegetarian food, no chicken, no meat, no egg - after eating a few bites, realised that they had put beef in it. On calling back, they said yes - no meat, no chicken, no egg, it has beef in it. They didn't even understand what had gone wrong.

Similar experience a few months later. We wouldn't try again :-(

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Garden also viewed

Brentwood, Essex
Brentwood, Essex
 
Brentwood, Essex
Brentwood, Essex
 

Been to Happy Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing