We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cafe in the area”
Review of Onaplate

Onaplate
Ranked #27 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Onaplate is an Independent family run café based in Shenfield. Now in it's 5th year, and open 6 days a week 8am to 4.30pm, we continue to serve the local community with the freshest food that is always prepared to order. Whether you are looking for an all day breakfast, a healthy salad, a sandwich or home baked quiches and cakes, we can guarantee the freshness and quality as all our ingredients are sourced locally. We are fortunate to work with Award winning local butchers and bakers, and source all our fruit and veg daily from Spitalfields. Our coffee is also locally sourced, we insist on using our supplier's finest roast, and our very popular milkshakes and smoothies are made to our own recipes. We have a lovely outside patio area, and are very dog friendly, in fact they even have their own special entrance. We are also available to hire for private functions, and are fully licenced until midnight on Fridays and Saturdays. We have a maximum capacity for 60 people, so a great location for events such as birthday and christening celebrations. We are very enthusiastic about being part of and supporting the local community, we frequently host wine and spirit tastings for both the Shenfield wine merchants, and also display the work of local amateur photographers and artists.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best cafe in the area”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I tend to meet mates he most saturdays for breakfast, honestly cant find fault. Great food, reasonably priced, friendly staff in a comfortable setting. Gets even better in the summer when you can sit outside on the lovely little terrace

As far as local cafes go, I havent been to better

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWard86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A lovely local, non-chain coffee shop”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Its lovely to be able to eat and drink locally in somewhere that isn't part of a chain. There is always a lovely welcome here. The food and drinks are very good, and there is a lovely small patio area at the back where you can outside in the summer. Great

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLGCEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Happy New Year!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We saw 2014 in at Onaplate, with the good friends that we usually see on New Years Eve. Just a select few, but the atmosphere was good. A few bevies, dancing and wonderful food as usual (compliments to Sue) - we had a great time. Totally transformed as an evening venue. Well done Sue & Steve, keep up the good work. If you haven't visited Onaplate yet, I suggest you get a move on.....you don't know what you're missing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val_G_England_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly, Good Service, Value for Money”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Steve and Sue have been in OnaPlate for about 18 months now. They have really embedded themselves into a loyal following. Unlike some other coffee bars in Shenfield they are not up themselves. Good coffee, sandwiches and jackets etc, convivial atmosphere all make for a diverting hour. Art is on show every month. Steve encourages local artistic talent without asking for anything in return. Visit the other end of Shenfield for a change of air, do yourself a big favour!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank petach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little place for a coffee and a bite to eat”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A friend recommended this place and it's a good little find. It's friendly, does nice home-cooked style snacks and bites to eat and is a good place to go for a catch up with friends over lunch or brunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleEater01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onaplate also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Onaplate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing