We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening Meal”
Review of Chelo

Chelo
Ranked #39 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Exquisite Persian and Mediterranean charcoal grill serving the very best of the cuisine.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We recently eat at the new Chelo Persian Restaurant in Brentwood. The food was interesting and different from other local restaurants. The waitress explained the menu and we experienced excellent Persian aubergine starter with freshly made nan. The mains were expertly cooked, we both had chicken cooked in different ways, the rice was an experience in its self , soft and flavoured with saffron, the meat was succulent and lightly spiced with authentic flavours. We will definitely eat there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    22
    4
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Popped in here for lunch on Saturday after seeing their board advertising a £4.95 lunch deal. We were greeted by Lucy who showed us to our table and explained the menu and the lunch deal. The food is all Persian and the deal was a choice of either lamb or chicken cooked on a skewer served with rice and salad. I chose the lamb and my wife chose the chicken. We had a bread starter with a yoghurt and shallot dip, which was very tasty. Our mains were delicious. The lamb and chicken were lovely and tender with lots of flavour. The rice was excellent - a combination of white and saffron rice - light and fluffy. We will definitely be back for an evening meal as the menu looked very enticing. It includes lamb, chicken and fish. I quite fancy one of the stews. It's nice to have an alternative cuisine to the usual Italian and Indian,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank moleytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a new restaurant in brentwood........I'll be back.....”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family and I ate at Chelo recently....the Persian food menu is a nice change from the typical heavy offerings of many of the other restaurants in Brentwood.

I liked the open style of kitchen and the service was very attentive. Furthermore, the food was excellent and the bill very reasonable.

If I was to highlight a couple of minor gripes.....they should look to get new menu's, the existing ones look amateurish as several dishes are scribbled out with marker pen. More importantly they should get a website, there is no reference of them anywhere on the web and the only way I was able to get their phone number to make a reservation was to drive pass their shop front and scribble down their details.

Good luck Chelo......

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Persian Food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good quality food and excellent service specialising in Iranian national dishes (kabab). Good variety of appetising starters as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good new venue in Brentwood”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is where the Red Frog used to be. Been open for just a few days on the 15th April when visited. For a new venture the food was of the highest quality. There was a great choice of Persian based food not just kebabs. They even served powered raspberry with the kebabs. One issue is that the description of the kebabs on the menu makes it very difficult to understand the differences, however the manager was more than happy to explain. I had the minced lamb and cubed lamb kebabs with naan. Everything was delicious, meat tender and flavorsome and naan was great. My wife had the prawn kebab which had a lovely flavor and were lovely and moist, she had rice which was lovely and fluffy, Starters was a small issue as some items had run out on the "mixed starter" but they were more than happy to replace with other items, The staff were great, very friendly, happy and helpful. For a new venture a very good start. Good Luck but if you keep this up you will not need it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulandSueBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chelo also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Chelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing