We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De Rougemont Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Rougemont Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed In the de rougemont for 2 nights in January! Had a great time the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Stunning hotel and surroundings. Food was excellent also. Will look forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenandwill35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Head Of Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Lauren&Will,

Thank you for placing such a lovely and honest review on tripadvisor. Obviously we are a family owned and managed hotel, and all staff try their best to treat every customer like they are part of the family. Its great to see this hard work is reflected in your review.
No doubt we will be seeing you again soon, and will make sure there is a nice warm welcome waiting for you.

Many Thanks
Sam Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    183
    88
    54
    37
See reviews for
134
169
19
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

First impressions - beautiful hotel with lovely grounds but a liitle tired in the public areas!
I had requested a quiet room as there was a wedding taking place so we were given a room in the annex - fairly quiet with a bed that had seen better days, fairly old bathroom with a very mediocre shower but very clean throughout.
The dinner was held in the function suite which was a little soulless and cold but the food was good and the staff are lovely!
Breakfast was average more acceptable in a roadside cafe than a 4 star hotel with poor choice, presentation and standard.
Overall a pleasant enough stay, and the price paid was a Groupon deal so not too expensive - if i had paid full price i would have been disappointed and the hotel will need to up its game to retain the 4 stars!!

Room Tip: the annex rooms are quirky but minimal headroom for showering due to eaves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissiecakecrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Head Of Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Chrissiecakecrumb,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel so soon after your visit. It was great to hear that overall you enjoyed your short stay with us. All our rooms are currently in the process of being re decorated. We have now completed 15 rooms, however in such a large hotel it will of course take time.

We really do have an excellent food and beverage team who make sure that you thoroughly enjoy your meal from the service to the quality.

Hopefully you stay back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

stayed here for one night on 15 Feb, staff very welcoming on arrival very nice and clean, food was excellent for dinner and breakfast, staff very polite and helpful ,needs a bit of tidying up out side patio a bit uneven has a lot going on lovely grounds not a lot to do if you want to walk say to shops or a town

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Head Of Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Ann,

We are so pleased you enjoyed the hospitality we offered when you stayed! We try to make all of our guests experiences a good one! Without a doubt our staff always receive many comments on the excellent service they offer, and it’s always great to hear it via review websites, comment cards etc.. We are a lovely country hotel which is a pleasant 3 minute walk to the local pub or nature reserve, and a further 20 minute walk into the high street. Alternatively a 5 minute car or taxi ride.

We do hope you will visit again and look forward to it.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Booked a special package through Groupon and wished we hadn't ! Tried to overcharge us for a cobweb ridden room in the gods with broken off window handle and peeling wallpaper and paint.
Staff were the biggest letdown as we were not told about a wedding function when booking that blasted music until 12.30 am so that the floor vibrated and every word of every song could be heard. They had a separate building that was a function room that they could have used for this but instead chose to make the other guests walk outside in the cold to it to have dinner!! Waiters unhelpful and rushed us at every chance and were very aloof, breakfast choice very poor and mean portions.
Overall fab hotel let down by poor service, we felt de- valued and unfortunately did not appear alone in our thoughts!
Definitely NOT a four star, have had better service from guest houses and five star establishments. Have worked in this industry and know it from the inside, also been a mystery shopper and have the knowledge to know when something is wrong and believe me, if they don't improve then people will vote with their feet! Bad management will force this establishment to re-think it's strategy or in this era of recession they may not last.
The last straw??? An envelope containing our bill pushed under the door in the early hours, with the incorrect amount outstanding!! Why when we had swiped our Visa card on arrival?? Good Morning?? Not!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Yum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Head Of Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear 1Yum,

Thank you for reviewing De Rougemont Manor and saying that overall the hotel was fab. Obviously if you have worked in the industry you will understand the importance of guests opinions and reviews. We accept we are not perfect and always look at ways to improve. I have taken a look over your booking with us, and it has been noted that you were made aware we had a function on as did every other guest that evening. The Groupon package (which incidentally was excellent value for money) that we were offering was put together two weeks before we went live with it, the wedding we was holding in the Champers suite had choose that suite some three years in advance, so therefore we were unable to move the function suite on that particular evening.

I do apologise your stay wasn’t up to your expectations, if you would have made a complaint at any time during your stay we would have been pleased to deal with it, however you chose to post a review before speaking to us, which in our opinion is not a fair way of dealing with issues such as this.

I will state for the record that over 250 couples stayed during a 5 day valentines period and we received many compliments and very few complaints, many guests have promised to visit again so in general we are very pleased with the outcome and hospitality shown by our staff.

Please do not let issues such as these taint your opinion of our family business, we would love you to give us a second chance.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Took the wife for a Valentines' night away-all in all, it was nice-great food and good value, but the hotel and the rooms are 'traditional' to say the least.

Maybe just dinner next time, rather than a night away.

With some investment, this place could be amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Head Of Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Cookie142,

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the meal and value for money. David Fuller our head chef and his team are always working away as with all staff to make sure that everyone enjoys their visit. We really do value your comments, and would like to let you know we are currently in the process of redecorating all our bedrooms. We started in January and so far have completed 12, it an ongoing affair in such a large hotel as ours.

Please do visit again, and let us know as we have a fantastic welcoming waiting for you.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Local Haunt Cosy & the Staff are just Great.
Glad it has stood the Test of Time, just like my Love of the Place.
Whether it has been a Wedding, Fashion show or Dinner Date or just Drinks and a quiet chill out away from it all. The Pool is the summer months is inviting or just a walk around the grounds is a delight... with a nice afternoon tea with friends.
Happy New Year to you All & see you soon.
Sometimes Words are Cheap, and Actions speak Louder!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Head Of Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear AlfieL,

What a lovely review of the hotel! We love to hear what our not only our new guests think but our loyal guests who keep using us.

There is always something going on at the hotel, if not a wedding, party, fashion show, boot-camp, photo-shoot, or just a fully booked hotel, we always make sure that every guest is looked after.

A happy new year to you too! Hopefully we shall be seeing some more of you over the coming months.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed here on business for one night, midweek.

Staff very professional, but still had a personality - they weren't all 'Corporate' which was a real breath of fresh air. From check-in, through to the bar, to service in all areas of the hotel, they were without exception, really great. At least until breakfast the next morning......

Hotel is in need of a real tidying up though - it looks tatty around the edges and although my room was a good size and clean, it was very old-fashioned and as a consequence it felt over-priced. Even with the radiator turned full up, the quilt was obviously man-made cheap stuff and was too thin and as a consequence the room really was way too cold to be comfortable. Even at £ 99.00 I'd expect it to be warm enough.

I alluded to the staff at breakfast - I had to witness a little altercation between 2 staff members (male) who both decided they were too busy to go and replenish the bread or something. You really don't need to hear that in the morning - and the young guy really needs to learn how to speak with more respect to his older colleagues.

Would I stay here again - I guess so, but I would request a different room for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Head Of Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Jar1965,

Thank your for taking the time to place a review on the hotel. As you can see from all our reviews and obviously you have witnessed it first hand all the staff really do work hard, and although we are very professional, we like to add a friendly approach to.

Thank you for your comments regarding the exterior. These have been passed on to our directors. We are currently in the process of re-decorating the majority of our bedrooms, however we are still keeping the original charm and character of the building which is the reason a lot of guests choose to stay with us.

Hopefully it wont be long before you join us again.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
6.4 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rougemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rougemont Manor

Property: De Rougemont Manor
Address: Great Warley Street, Brentwood CM13 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rougemont Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your De Rougemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rougemont Manor Hotel Brentwood
De Rougemont Manor Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing