We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”
Review of De Rougemont Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Rougemont Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I love this place, the grounds look lovely the staff and service are very good, the food is scrummy and plentiful, I have sampled afternoon tea many times, always to a high standard, and this week had my first lunch with 5 others, and this defo wont be my last, yes we have always used groupons , but honestly the food is so good its worth the full price, I cant recommend this place highly enough,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spirited74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Spirited74,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on the hotel. I'm glad to hear that you really thought the hotel was great, including all the grounds, service & food.

Hopefully you will be back visiting soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
De Rougemont Manor Hotel & Suites
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    188
    91
    56
    39
See reviews for
136
177
19
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

A two night stay via laterooms.com was one to remember for positive reasons. Satisfactory room with free wifi and parking. I took advantage of the lunch time menu amongst other things and would recommend the thai fish cakes followed by the 8oz rump steak both served and cooked to a high standard, only £12.50. I would like to thank david (night manger, bar man and anything else warranted actually) for his personable and professional manner, great conversations and hospitality service, can be rare these days thanks.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank davidheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Davidheywood,

Thank you for taking the time to place your review, and leave us your positive comments.

Indeed all the food served at the hotel really is lovely! David Fuller our head chef & his team always make sure that every dish meets up to their ever increasing high standards.

Hopefully you will be in the area again soon, and we can welcome you back for another stay.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
De Rougemont Manor Hotel & Suites
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Afternoon Tea with family at this hotel, what a lovely experience. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, scrummy sandwiches and cakes. The scones were warm and plenty of clotted cream and jam for them. Choices of fruit teas as well as the usual and even their decaf coffee was good. Waitress bought over some foil to take home the leftovers without being asked which was very thoughtful. We had a groupon deal for this visit but I would go again without one, it was that good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear PaulandSally,

It's great to hear how much you both enjoyed your experience at our family owned and managed hotel.

Everyone really does love our afternoon tea, it really is delicious and great value, even at full price!!

Hopefully it wont be long before you are both back in the hotel.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
De Rougemont Manor Hotel & Suites
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Eight of us had tea at the De Rougemont Manor today the service and the tea was excellent we really did enjoy it we have been to quite a few hotel for tea and this one rated very high for the price. We did complain that it was very cold they had no heating on but the Manager soon sorted that out. The grounds look lovely but unfortunately it was raining.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Georgina K,

Thank you for placing such a lovely & thoughtful review of the hotel on tripadvisor. We always try our best to make sure everyone is happy and enjoying themselves, and like you said we will always try our best to accommodate any requirements such as heating etc.. .

Hopefully we can welcome you all back for afternoon tea or maybe our new lunch menu soon?

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
De Rougemont Manor Hotel & Suites
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel was booked at late notice via booking.com at a rate of £79 for a double room includng breakfast. It was an overnight stay on a Saturday evening. The hotel is situated in the Essex countryside a few miles from Brentwood. I was pleasantly surprised by the general appearance of the hotel as picutes on the hotel website made it look older and a but downbeat.

We were on the ground floor which meant walking through the restaurant area with our bags which was not ideal for diners.The double room was quite small but clean with coffe facilities and a tv. The breakfast was good, not great but the service was prompt and pleasant.

In the unlikely event I need to stay in the Brentwood area again, I wouldnt hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Celtic59,

Thank you for recently reviewing our hotel. It's so nice to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & time with us.

We do always try our best to offer the best rates where available, and its great to hear that you got to take advantage of this.

Hopefully you will be passing again soon, and can pop in again.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
De Rougemont Manor Hotel & Suites
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I bought deal for afternoon tea for two for myself and a friend. I'd recently had tea at another location and this was such a nice place I had hopes for yummy stuff. It's a beautiful hotel and I was impressed on arrival. The place was very busy and were given a small two person table . It did have lovely proper table cloths and our drink came shortly after we sat down. The tea however was very slow and we had to ask for it. The selection of sandwiches and cake was not great. The scones were dry and we did not eat them. The normal price for this is meant to be over £40 but I would never pay that much. I was disappointed as we left shortly after as it wasn't worth hanging on.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank theboysUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear theboysuk,

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely hotel. We always encourage any feedback and comments, as without it we have no means for improvement.

I'm sorry to hear that your experience didn't live up to your expectations, our afternoon tea is normally a real treat, and people love to hang on chatting etc... Hopefully you would consider using us again soon, so you can experience the same great value, great service & great food that all afternoon tea guests receive.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
De Rougemont Manor Hotel & Suites
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is the second time that I have visited De Rougemont Manor for afternoon tea with friends and yet again we were not disappointed. The staff are friendly and attentive and the service and refreshments throughout our visit were excellent. It is a beautiful hotel and the perfect venue to spend an afternoon with friends/family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Margaret S,

Thank you for letting us know about how wonderful your afternoon tea experience was.

Its great to hear such lovely feedback & that you are returning again. With our new lunch menu started hopefully we can be welcoming you again soon for this as well.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Brentwood's Best Kept Secret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
934 reviews
6.4 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
20.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rougemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rougemont Manor

Property: De Rougemont Manor
Address: Great Warley Street, Brentwood CM13 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rougemont Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your De Rougemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rougemont Manor Hotel Brentwood
De Rougemont Manor Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing