We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect end to the perfect day”
Review of De Rougemont Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Rougemont Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel at around 10.30 On Monday 2/6/14 after our wedding reception and was greeted with warm congratulations by the hotel receptionist. Before retiring to the bridal suite, we spent a while relaxing and talking over the day in the very comfortable Champers Bar where the staff were very attentive. Our suite was everything we could have hoped for, four poster bed, 2 bathrooms, a reception room and a beautiful view over the gardens. The bed was extremely comfortable and the place immaculate. Breakfast was delicious!!! so much to choose from the buffet and the full English was faultless. It really was the perfect end to a perfect day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Assistant at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Diane L

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderul TripAdvisor report on your recent stay with us at the De Rougemont Manor Hotel.

It delights us to hear how much you enjoyed your wedding night stay in our bridal suite and indeed your breakfast from our extensive buffet/cooked menu choice the following day.

We hope that you will return soon so that we may spoil you all over again!

Kindest regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Assistant
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Brentwood
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having stayed at the De Rougemont before we booked again in Early June 2014 and will be returning again soon.
The Reception staff was Very Helpful in changing our room to a ground floor room due to a change in our circumstances. During our stay (3 nights) the Hotel catered for every request that we had.
The Food was Excellent and the restaurant waitress (breakfast) was the most efficient and helpful we have ever been served by. The night Reception guy was very helpful and profesional as was the Receptionist who had seen us at both booking in and at booking out, they are a Real Credit to the Hotel .We have plans to revisit Brentwood again later in the year and will time our trip to ensure we book the De Rougemont Hotel again.
Thank you for a Lovely Stay

Room Tip: We have not found any probles with the rooms on the ground floor side and next level rear that we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Assistant at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Rob M

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel.

It gives us real pleasure to know how much you enjoy staying with us.
We agree that our front of house staff, including our Receptionists, Night Porters and Restaurant staff are a huge credit to us and your comments will be passed along to them accordingly.

We look forward to your return visit again later this year!

Kindest regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Assistant
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Brentwood
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Seeing this place had 4.5 on tripadvisor I expected it to be very good. The photos suggested it would be, but it was a pretty disappointing affair.

The service was always very nice but my room was a bit like an upmarket old people' home and with the hotel being nowhere near anything else you are a captive market.

The food was very poor. I had the fish and it was awful. The prices are pretty much what you would expect and the bar is quite pricey.

The gym is rubbish. The photos on the website are old and you can't quite see that it's in a very large shed outside. It has very old equipment and the cardio kit is the stuff I was using in gyms 15 years ago. The roof is very low so it's not possible to use some equipment if you're a bit tall. The pool was quite nice, but not the cleanest.

I wouldn't stay here again by choice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Advisor at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Andrew R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, we always welcome all guest feedback.

We are glad to hear that the service you received whilst staying with us was of a good standard, indeed we pride ourselves on our ability to look after our guests well.

All of our rooms are currently undergoing refurbishment which as you can imagine in a hotel of this size can take some time to complete, however we would have been more than happy to offer you a room move in the meanwhile if you had spoken with a member of our team.

I'm shocked to read you feel that our guests are a captive audience when staying here, with nothing around. Indeed we are set in 12 acres of beautiful grounds and although it is a short 8 minute drive, we have Brentwood Town Centre with many shops, bars and restaurants.
We also have Brentwood Station 5 minutes away with direct links to London in 27 minutes. Further afield you could take full advantage of Lakeside shopping centre, consisting of over 100 shops, bars & restaurants. We have a lovely village pub and restaurant all within easy walking distance.
Again its a shame that you didn't bring this to our attention as any member of our staff would have been more than happy to point this out.

Our hotel gym is always well used and is a popular feature with many of our guests. Like most hotel gyms, we have tried to incorporate as much commonly used kit as possible within the space we have available.

Hopefully you will consider staying with us again if in the area to give us a second chance at welcoming you to our hotel.

Kindest Regards

Sarah Turner
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street
Brentwood, Essex
CM13 3JP
Tel: 01277 226418
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel at 10 30pm on a Monday evening and was pleasently greeted by the receptionist.......Before going to our room we spent an hour relaxing in the Champers Bar. Staff were very obliging and the hotel was immaculate.
We were shown to our room overlooking the Italian Gardens, which was also immaculate. The bed was huge, comfortable and clean and the room had all facilities needed.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding with a selection of jucies, cereals, crossaints, cold meats etc.....and the Full Englist breakfast was delicious!!!
Would highly recommend others and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Kellie H,

Thank you for taking the time to place such a lovely review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. We really do love to welcome all guests feedback and taken on comment all comments.

I'm so glad to hear what a wonderful experience you had with us, and how much you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully you will be visiting us again soon, and we can spoil you all over again.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First impression was good. parking around back of hotel was a bit awkward as the rear doors were sometimes open sometimes not, if you went around the back entrance (with suitcase, shirts, laptop etc) as its quicker and the doors weren't open you had to walk all the way around to the front, not good in the rain. Hotel was clean although a bit dated, staff were helpful and generally cheery. facilities in the room included free wifi which was a good connection, Usual tea tray which had a lovely chocolate drink but the cup was too tiny to put it in (take your own mug if you like a proper drink) single room a bit small for me but adequate. Used the gym which again was adequate although had to wait 20 mins for the key as the resident chef had taken it and forgotten to return it to reception. Walked around the nature reserve, again you need a key for the gate and the correct clothing and footwear (nettles aplenty, bees and wasps etc). Food in restaurant was nice but a bit pricy. A menu with mains under £20.00 would probably have a busier restaurant. Breakfast included in rate and was nice. Only real issue I had was noisy drunks outside at midnight NOT GOOD. Overall the place was adequate and would use again (double room though).

Room Tip: hold your breath in the lift, it smells funny. not funny ha ha but funny open sewage pipe underneath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenbevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Glenbevis,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we do welcome all guests feedback.

In regards to the parking situation you mentioned about walking around from our main car park, indeed this is a 60 second walk from the main entrance, although you are more than welcome to park at the front of the hotel and unload any luggage or bags here, there are also porters around who will be more than happy to assist with the carrying of luggage and bags, which I believe you declined the help of on arrival.

Indeed our Wi-Fi does have an excellent connection, we have recently have this completely changed to allow all our guests to use high speed internet all the time. I'm glad you found your meal with us nice, and hopefully upon your next visit you will take advantage of our Bar & Grill menu, I believe on the evening your ordered off the A La Carte menu, if you were wishing for a cheaper menu our Bar menu is available in the main restaurant.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Looks are very deceiving! This hotel seemed perfect from their website; spacious, beautiful grounds, great facilities, comfortable rooms and 5* food. Where do I start? The grounds are beautiful I saw a baby rabbit (The highlight of my stay).. My room was small, cold, unequipped, some of the television channels didn’t work nor had no sound, shower had poor water pressure and all in all; the facilities were outdated. And my curtains are broken!

I do not believe this hotel should be rated four stars! The second night was very interesting! We especially ordered food at the bar thinking, it would be a quick service as we had to be somewhere. We were informed half an hour later that they didn’t have particular ingredients.. When one of my colleagues asked how long the food would be, we were told that ‘everything is cooked from scratch’ in a very condescending manner.. Literally everything was cooked from scratch! Nothing was prepared meaning that we had to wait an hour and half when we would’ve had to wait forty-five minutes in the Ritz. Not ideal.

The selection of foods for breakfast was awful and the ‘full English breakfast’ which should be freshly cooked wasn’t. My bacon and eggs looked as if they were kept in a hot hold for more than 2 hours. It was like eating beef jerky.

The size of the rooms was not worth the money what my company paid, although I turned all the radiators to full.. I arrived at the hotel each morning and the room was freezing and had to use the hair dryer to warm my bed.

The presentation of the restaurants was confusing. Why place a chair in front of the fridge of wine bottles? Is that chair going to serve my wine? The napkins were in fact: paper napkins. I’ve stayed in 4 star hotels that believe presentation is important in all areas, even the toilets; NOT the one!

The majority of the staff was very polite and accommodating! I’m off to go for a swim, let’s hope I don’t drown.

The cleanliness rating of the food preparation areas had four stars (should be five in a 4* hotel - no exceptions!)

Have fun reading my full review in one of London's top news papers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Damian M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel with us.

I have taken a detailed look over your review and also your booking in general. We do aim to satisfy all our guests, and will always go above and beyond to assist.

We do have placed throughout the hotel, and bedrooms signs that clearly state if there is anything we can do for you, or if you wish to discuss any issues then to speak with a member of the team. Unfortunately we are only human and on rare occasions minor mistakes may occur although as you said the staff are very polite and accommodating and would of been more than happy to address the issues immediately if they had of been brought to our attention.

Hopefully when in the area again, you will re considering using us, and if so please let me know so we can be sure of a warm welcome.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I can best describe De Rougemont Manor as like a privately run guest house, but on a large scale. On the positive side it was close enough to the M25 as one would want for easy access, and the bar food was very good (and bar staff very pleasant and helpful). On the negative side it was expensive (£189.00 for a suite including breakfast on a Wednesday evening), the room décor is quaint (ie. old furniture - my bed was difficult to get in and out of without bashing yourself on the wooden frame, and was very noisy), and the breakfast very poor (the cooked breakfast had been pre-cooked with solid fried egg and dried beans, while the bread basket had two packaged loafs (Warburtons I think) and a French stick).
I would guess the original manor would have had some character, but this had been lost with an unsympathetic conversion into a hotel and conference venue.
Overall, not an unpleasant stay, but I am sure there are plenty of better options in the area at the same price or less.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Manager at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Ste M,

Many thanks for your recent review. We do ask all guests to leave us feedback so we are able to hear what people thought about their experience with us.

Indeed our location is ideal for everyone, we are located only minutes away from Brentwood Mainline train station, and all Major roads including the M25, A12 & A127.

I'm glad to hear you were satisfied with your main meals, and have passed your comments regarding the breakfast onto our Kitchen team. They will investigate into your comments and change accordingly where they see appropriate.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,014 reviews
6.4 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
613 reviews
8.6 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,643 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
664 reviews
12.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rougemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rougemont Manor

Address: Great Warley Street, Brentwood CM13 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range: £67 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rougemont Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your De Rougemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rougemont Manor Hotel Brentwood
De Rougemont Manor Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing