We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but let down by some niggles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Rougemont Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Rougemont Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel but let down by some niggles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for a business trip and found the hotel very appealing with lovely interiors, nice grounds and lounge terrace area to sit out out in the evening. The staff were helpful and very pleasant but my otherwise pleasant room was let down by a couple of annoying issues. My room (number 1) was on the ground floor right next to the main door connecting the lounge areas to the bedrooms and it slammed shut all night starting again from 5am the following morning. The matress was very soft with one side of the double almost unusable. I would expect a good mattress for £99 per night.
The resaurant was very good and good value for the area. The breakfast was also good.
This is an expensive area for business trips but I still prefer this hotel to the Holiday Inn or Premiere inn and would stay again but would hope to get a better room next time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 until they fix the banging door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear roy_jackson

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are delighted to read how highly you thought of our hotel, grounds and staff. We are ourselves very proud of all of these aspects.
Our restaurant, Heseltines, is indeed one of the finest in the area and we take pride in the breakfast choice that we can provide to our guests.

It is a shame that you felt that you had a couple of niggles with your room. We do try to encourage our guests to report anything you may be unhappy with to us at the time of your stay, so that if possible we can ensure it is resolved to your liking.
Please do not hesitate to request a certain room when making a booking with us, where possible this will always be accommodated by our reservations team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the De Rougemont Manor again soon.

Kind regards


Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood.
CM13 3JP
Tel: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    178
    86
    55
    35
See reviews for
130
166
19
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Took my parents here for afternoon tea on the 19th June.
What a delightful place. Full of history and a beautiful setting.
The service was very good and friendly.
The food was fresh and tasty and well presented, but I do wish they did champagne by the glass.
The toilets were clean and I did like the towels with the lovely soap and hand cream.
I shall return, thank you for a lovely afternoon tea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salliechannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Salliechannon

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel.

We are so pleased that you and your parents enjoyed your trip to the De Rougemont Manor, we pride ourselves on the whole experience that we offer to our guests when they join us for Afternoon Tea, ranging from the delicious food to the exceptional service.

I am delighted to announce that we will soon be offering Prosecco by the glass too!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Assistant
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
Essex
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

First stay here, booked as an overnight business stay. Receptionist was very courteous and helpful upon arrival. Used the gym, the equipment is limited and a bit dated, so don't expect too much! Had a single room in the conference annex which is separate to the main hotel. Had the neighbors from hell in next room.Loud, TV turned up etc, no manners at all! and did not respond when I knocked on the door at 11.30pm! By this time I went across to reception and asked for another room and the staff were happy to move me , all good now until I came to use the shower in the morning- no hot water and very low water pressure!
Evening meal was good, service by the staff good, just a shame about some of the guests. So although my first visit was not perfect, I would stop again, but would probably more specific about room requirement.

Room Tip: Main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VernonPL678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Vernon L

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you found our staff so helpful and courteous; we strive to ensure we give our guests the best possible experience every time they stay with us.

We would like to thank you for bringing the problems you encountered with your room/neighbours to our attention whilst with us; we always ask this of our guests as it enables us to immediately remedy the situation to the best of our ability and hopefully ensures the remainder of your stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

The hotel is currently undergoing some renovation/redecoration work to the bedrooms and the pressure of the showers is one of the areas which has now been dealt with.

Please feel free to request a specific room whenever you book with us, provided it is free on the date you wish to stay this is never a problem. Our reservations team will be more than happy to oblige.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Assistant
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street
Warley, Brentwood.
Essex's Best Large Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gifford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is difficult to judge and I struggled to decide whether to give it 3 or 4 rating. It doesn’t feel good enough to get a 4 while 3 seems a bit mean. If Trip Advisor allowed it I’d probably give it a 3.5.

The building itself is characterful as it is built around an old manor house. There are pleasant grounds and the small village of Great Warley is nice. There isn’t much to Great Warley except the Thatchers Arms pub which does reasonable food.

The hotel looks a bit tired in places but in general the bedrooms are in good condition. I have stayed in a variety of room types. The single rooms are VERY small and for any longer than a 1 night stay are best avoided. The double rooms are larger but not what I would call particularly big. I have also stayed in one of the junior suites and while it was a nice period room, it faced the front and was very noisy due to the road outside. The road itself is a country road but traffic continues throughout the night. The old windows in the room could not be closed properly so didn’t help shut out the noise. It meant I had 3 very restless night’s sleep. The beds are not the comfiest. I often feel I’m poked in the ribs by the springs. A major issue with the rooms at this time of year (summer) are the curtains. While they are lined they are not lined with blackout material and also don’t seem to cover the windows very well meaning that the room is bright very early. If, like me, you need a dark room to sleep properly then you will struggle.

Breakfast is nice but there is a limited choice. There are some aspects of breakfast that slightly irritate such as having to remember to pick up a spoon from the buffet for cereal or fruit as the tables are not set with one. Generally you remember this once you have sat down! There are other small things that irritate such as the staff forgetting to put out enough sets of tongs so I’ve seen people pick up meat with the tongs meant for the pastries. While it doesn’t particularly bother me I could imagine some veggies would be horrified. There is also something I see as bad hygiene. There are loaves of crusty bread to cut but unlike other hotels there isn’t a napkin wrapped round so people grip the bread directly while they cut. It puts me off eating it as I have no idea if their hands are clean.

I agree with other comments about the gym. It is in a large shed in the grounds and has very old kit. However, it serves a purpose and is better than nothing.

There are a few quirks that make me grin wryly. At the front of the hotel there are several parking spaces. Some are for disabled but the remainder are for “Hotel Directors” or “General Manager”. It seems a bit odd to assign them in this way.

Rather bizarrely part of the lounge-cum-dining room-cum-bar is used for conferences and meetings. This is segregated from the dining room and bar by a thin net curtain. It is rather strange to be sitting having breakfast listening to some chap giving a presentation on the latest leasing rates for cars or the wholesale price of concrete!

The layout of the dining-room is also a bit strange. You have to walk right through part of it to get to the bedrooms on the right-hand side of the hotel. It must be a bit irritating for diners to have people walking back and forth from their rooms.

The vast majority of the staff here are good and very pleasant. When I’ve had an issue it has been dealt with quickly.

The Brentwood area is not endowed with good hotels so if you are working in the area the choice is very limited.

If you go in to a stay here on the basis of the many 5/5 reviews you may be disappointed. However, if you go in with an open mind and expect a slightly quirky, friendly place that has a few faults then you will be fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiscoGaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Discogazza

Thank you for taking the time to write such a full and detailed review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We welcome all guest feedback and always ensure that any changes which we can implement immediately are done so.

Some of the comments you have made have already been actioned, such as breakfast spoons are now being laid out on the breakfast tables and whilst ordinarily we aim for a cloth to be placed over the bread, we accept that this isn’t always the case. However all restaurant staff have been reminded of the need of this small but important gesture, along with ensuring that the appropriate utensils are placed out for serving of the breakfast buffet.
We do feel that we offer an extensive breakfast choice to our guests, with fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, yoghurts and juices to name but some of the selection all readily available on the buffet, as well as our cooked Full English breakfast menu.

As you are aware, the hotel is set in a very old building and therefore is not purpose built like many modern hotels. Our main restaurant is sectioned off from the larger bar/dining area and although anyone staying over the other side of the hotel will indeed need to walk through here in order to get to their room, any guest wishing to avoid this sporadically passing traffic can happily be seated in the main restaurant.

We do indeed have twice weekly breakfast meetings which are held in the main section of the hotel. This has been the case for some time now and this is to facilitate the members of the meeting to enjoy our breakfast buffet/cooked menu choices as part of their networking groups.

We are delighted that you commented on how pleasant our staff are, we are very proud of the team here at the hotel and it is each and every employees aim to ensure that our guests get the most out of their stay with us.

Thank you once again for such a thorough review and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon, to see some of the changes reflected which you have brought to our attention.

Kindest regards


Sarah Turner
Marketing Assistant
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
Essex.
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went to de rougemont manor today to book our Christmas Day lunch. We had lunch here last christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it. So while we were here booking it we decided to stay and have a drink and light bite. The service was very good. But a couple of things today let the food down. We had a club sandwich which was lovely apart from the cheap packet bread used. It would have been so nice with proper fresh bread and would have looked better as well as tasting better. Also we had the Guinness rarebit, unfortunately they had put far to much mustard in this, so would not have that again. They did redeem themselves with the eaton mess, this was both tasty and well presented.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 552LindaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear 552LindaR

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It gives us great pleasure to hear that you are returning for your Christmas Day lunch with us again this year, and how much you enjoyed last years experience.
Our Christmas lunches are one of the highlights of our year and we love to see guests returning to spend such an important day with us.

Your comments regarding the food have been passed onto our head chef for him to look into and hopefully this will be remedied accordingly.
Indeed, our Eaton Mess is pretty remarkable and a favourite of many!

We look forward to seeing you for Christmas dinner and hope that you can find the time to come and see us before then too.

Kindest regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Assistant
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
Essex
Essex's Best Large Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel at around 10.30 On Monday 2/6/14 after our wedding reception and was greeted with warm congratulations by the hotel receptionist. Before retiring to the bridal suite, we spent a while relaxing and talking over the day in the very comfortable Champers Bar where the staff were very attentive. Our suite was everything we could have hoped for, four poster bed, 2 bathrooms, a reception room and a beautiful view over the gardens. The bed was extremely comfortable and the place immaculate. Breakfast was delicious!!! so much to choose from the buffet and the full English was faultless. It really was the perfect end to a perfect day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Assistant at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Diane L

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderul TripAdvisor report on your recent stay with us at the De Rougemont Manor Hotel.

It delights us to hear how much you enjoyed your wedding night stay in our bridal suite and indeed your breakfast from our extensive buffet/cooked menu choice the following day.

We hope that you will return soon so that we may spoil you all over again!

Kindest regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Assistant
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Brentwood
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having stayed at the De Rougemont before we booked again in Early June 2014 and will be returning again soon.
The Reception staff was Very Helpful in changing our room to a ground floor room due to a change in our circumstances. During our stay (3 nights) the Hotel catered for every request that we had.
The Food was Excellent and the restaurant waitress (breakfast) was the most efficient and helpful we have ever been served by. The night Reception guy was very helpful and profesional as was the Receptionist who had seen us at both booking in and at booking out, they are a Real Credit to the Hotel .We have plans to revisit Brentwood again later in the year and will time our trip to ensure we book the De Rougemont Hotel again.
Thank you for a Lovely Stay

Room Tip: We have not found any probles with the rooms on the ground floor side and next level rear that we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing Assistant at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Rob M

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel.

It gives us real pleasure to know how much you enjoy staying with us.
We agree that our front of house staff, including our Receptionists, Night Porters and Restaurant staff are a huge credit to us and your comments will be passed along to them accordingly.

We look forward to your return visit again later this year!

Kindest regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Assistant
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Brentwood
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.8 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
6.3 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
8.6 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rougemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rougemont Manor

Property: De Rougemont Manor
Address: Great Warley Street, Brentwood CM13 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rougemont Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your De Rougemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rougemont Manor Hotel Brentwood
De Rougemont Manor Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing