We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea with friends”
Review of De Rougemont Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Rougemont Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I went for afternoon tea, on a Groupon voucher, with two friends.

We were able to park the car in a disabled space in front of the hotel and it was a short wheelchair ride for my wife to the main entrance then through past reception to the bar and dining area.

We handed the voucher in and were shown to our table and orders taken for tea or coffee, I ordered coffee and my wife and one of our friends 'breakfast' tea and our other friend Earl Grey tea.

The young man waiting on us was polite and efficient and we waited a short time before the drinks arrived.

A small criticism I will mention is that we had to wait approximately 15 mins from when the coffee and teas were served before the afternoon tea was served to us.

Having said that, the food served was excellent , the scones (two each) were still warm and delicious with a generous supply of cream and jam.
The cake selection comprised a fruit patisserie, lemon tart, chocolate eclair and lemon cake.
The sandwiches were freshly made with a good selection of fillings.

We were asked if we required further coffee or tea and were provided with further pots of coffee and 'Earl Grey at no extra cost.

After a leisurely tea we went out on to the outside seating area for a drink.

All four of us thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and would have no hesitation in going again or recommending De Rougemont Manor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Barry B

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely report on your recent visit to our hotel.

We are delighted that you and your party were able to come and join us for our delicious Afternoon Tea and that you were all able to enjoy the wonderful experience which we aim to provide all of our guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you all back to the De Rougemont Manor again very soon.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
T: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding at de rougemount manor and they couldn't have been more helpful.
I stayed the night before with my parents, husbands parents, bridesmaids and a few other relatives and even before the big day nothing was too much trouble. We ate at the restaurant and had amazing food. Especially the cheese board.
My maid of honour and I stayed in a beautiful room the night before that had a sofa and a large bed, which was perfect for us girls to pamper and do our nails. We ordered room service and it was there in a flash.
The day itself was like a fairytale with lots of suprises, which between the staff and my parents went very smoothly and totally amazed my husband and I.
My husband is a landscape gardener, so the grounds were perfect for our theme of gardens and gems. Beautiful place with beautiful scenery.
The reception. The food (even for a vegetarian like me) was fabulous and what ever we needed was never too much trouble and the waiters and waitresses kept making sure that everything was just right. I would like to say a special thank you to Devin and Niomi for everything they did before the event and on the day itself. Devin on the day especially as she was always in eye sight if we needed anything and kept making sure we was ok.
Thank you to all the staff at de rougemount for making our day extra special.
We will definitely be back to visit and will most definitely advise others to go to de rougemount manor. Thanks again from Mr and Mrs Thomas.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Lindsey T

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your wedding with us at De Rougemont Manor.

We were delighted to be able to share your wedding day with you and it gives us great pleasure to know that it was everything you had wished for.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to see us again soon and we wish you and your new husband all the very best.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Dept.
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
T: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A group of friends and I met here for an afternoon tea treat. We were left waiting in the bar to be served for drinks for 15mins to begin with. When seated at our table, the room itself was tired and not really cared for. The table settings were minimal - and not in a minimalist way, just an uncared for way. We were served by a very young waiter, who needed so tips and training in his service technique. When the tea was served, after a 20 minute wait, the sandwich platter was plonked on our table with no discussion of the vegetarian options (although all sandwiches were on one tray, with meats touching other options - not ideal for most vegetarians). The cakes consisted of some lady fingers piled on top of the plate, with a couple of what looked like tesco cream cakes. The scones were again, pre packaged, rather than freshly baked. We had to call the waiter for milk and sugar for the tea and again, teaspoons to stir. We waited over 40 mins before again calling him over for a second pot of tea. Overall, appalling service, which was only enjoyable because of the group of friends I was with!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashlid1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Ashlid1981

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us, we do always welcome all guest feedback.

It is a shame that you did not receive the experience that many of our guests do when they join us for Afternoon Tea.

I have taken a detailed look over your review, and passed your comments on to our Restaurant and Kitchen team and I can reassure you that we will be looking into the issues raised.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the De Rougemont Manor again soon and please contact me prior to your arrival so that we can be sure of a warm welcome.

Kindest regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
Tel: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our glorious wedding day... such a petite affair with only our families, held in such a grand venue.
Our every need was catered for... a ceremony room laid out beautifully followed by the most perfect afternoon tea. A well presented and most delicious selection to feast upon, 'commented on by all who attended.'
Beautiful weather gave us the opportunity to enjoy the stunning 'Italian Gardens.'

So thank you as we now have an album of memories and a lifetime of gratitude to all at the 'DE ROUGEMONT MANOR' for hosting our special day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary_price15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear gary_price15

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your wedding day experience at our hotel.

It was an honour to be able to provide you with the wedding day of your dreams, and as such help to create your lasting memories.

Thank you for choosing to share this most special occasion with us at the De Rougemont Manor hotel.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I am a seasoned traveller having worked for a global hotel chain for a number of years.

Positives:
The hotel is a pleasant old Manor House in a nice area close to the M25
The front of house staff are very pleasant and helpful

Neutrals:
Rooms require more attention to detail - no excuse for some of the poor housekeeping and cleaning noted

Negatives:
The restaurant is a big big let down. Service slow, menu cluttered and confusing, not good value for money at all

We waited an unacceptable length of time for our food (even if cooked from scratch A La Carte) and it was not worth the wait - some ingredients hot, others cold and the chef clearly doesn't taste/season as he cooks.

The head chef has clearly been watching Ramsey's Kitchen Nightmares, unfortunately he has only watched the programme and not studied the script! Gimmicky narrow rectangle shaped plates and awful 'trendy' slates' not suitable in size or shape for the dishes served, food that 'looks' nice but is let down by taste and temperature.

Senior Management at De Rougemont - go back to basics - serve quality local ingredients - cooked well - and served in good time - Your chefs are trying to copy the premier league 'celebrity chefs' - shame they are from the lower leagues - Give Gordon a call!

Would I stay here - possibly. Would I eat here again - No.

Tip to potential customers - Brentwood is 8 minutes away with an abundance of good quality restaurants. Eat out!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Becks220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Becks220

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we always welcome all guest feedback and appreciate the time given to writing one.

We are pleased to hear how pleasant you found our beautiful Victorian Manor building in which we are set.

Indeed, our staff always go above and beyond for our guests to ensure their stay is as enjoyable as possible and as such it is good to read that you received this experience when staying with us.

We do ask our guests to report any issues or niggles that they may have to our reception team as and when things occur. This enables us to rectify or remedy, where possible, straight away, thus ensuring the remainder of your stay is to your expectation.

I have now been able to investigate your comments regarding our kitchen/restaurant.
We are at this current time between Head Chef’s, with interviews taking place daily to fill this role. We do have an excellent back up team of chef’s fulfilling this duty and every effort is being made to ensure the smooth running and high level of service that our guests expect are being maintained.
However, as a busy hotel, we do have nightly functions on, which guests dining in our restaurant are not always aware of as these take place in various locations throughout the hotel, in addition to this our room service and bar areas also all serve food. This can sometimes lead to a longer waiting time for food than usual; we apologise that you were not informed of the possibility of a delay on this occasion, all restaurant staff have been reminded of the importance of doing so.

We truly hope to be able to welcome you back to the De Rougemont again in the future and when booking please contact me directly so that I can be sure of a warm welcome.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice room if not a bit expensive great breakfast as they cook it when you order it which is a rare commodity these days nice bar and swimming pool staff were also very helpful I would certainly go back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Christopher s

Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback on your stay at our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and were able to experience many of the things that we pride ourselves on offering to all of our guests, such as our beautiful, heated swimming pool and our freshly cooked to order Full English Breakfasts!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the De Rougemont Manor again soon to enable us to impress you all over again!

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
CM13 3JP
T: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned after having a wonderful afternoon tea at this beautiful hotel,
What can i say..... a spectacular treat, one of the best teas ive had, home made pastries, nice selection of sandwiches, tasty home baked scones..........

Service was good ........beautiful hotel, will be back to sample more of the restaurants treats, thats for sure

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear louise s

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your experience with us.
We agree wholeheartedly that it is indeed a beautiful hotel!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea visit so much.
We pride ourselves on offering a delicious variety of treats to be enjoyed and it is always a pleasure to read that we are maintaining our high standards for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon to sample more of what we have to offer.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
Essex, CM13 3JP
T: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,057 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
685 reviews
8.6 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
702 reviews
12.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rougemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rougemont Manor

Address: Great Warley Street, Brentwood CM13 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range: £58 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rougemont Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your De Rougemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rougemont Manor Hotel Brentwood
De Rougemont Manor Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing