We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea for two ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Rougemont Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Rougemont Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea for two ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Afternoon tea with my partner was another great experience, this is the second time we have come, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and it was a relaxing way to spend the afternoon. Big thumbs up .......!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Marti J

Thank you for writing a review about your visit to us for Afternoon Tea.

It is always a pleasure when we welcome guests back to the hotel and it delights us that you had such an enjoyable afternoon.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to visit us again soon.

Kind regards


Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood
Tel: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    183
    88
    54
    37
See reviews for
134
169
19
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a warm and happy hotel with excellent service. Dinner in the restaurant was scrumptious! Hotel staff could not have been more attentive. Great bed and lovely shower! Thanks for making our week-end special.

Room Tip: South side and east wing are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanieM2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear JoanieM2468

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read that you had such an enjoyable weekend with us, and that we were able to provide you with the exceptional service, food and environment that we aim for all of our guests to experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon in order that we may spoil you all over again!

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood.
Tel: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Held two days training at De Rougemont Manor early August
Good location close to M25. Facilities were pleasant all requirements catered for.
Buffet lunch was more than adequate
All staff were helpful and polite
Special thanks to Sam and Emilie for ensuring both days run smoothly
Will definitely return and would recommend for similar training days

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexBadgerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear EssexBadgerLondon

Thank you for taking the time to review your recently held training days with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear that we have been able to provide you with the facilities and support required for your conference to run smoothly, and we hope to be able to be of assistance to you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood.
Tel: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Horrendous hotel.
Dated rooms, awful food/service, rude waiting staff and lack of cleanliness.
We were extrememly disappointed with our stay.
Dirty rooms, very unclean carpets, spiders everywhere.
Do not try to ask for room service (even though it's one of their facilities) its a very big hassle for them.
We order two club sandwiches (chicken and bacon) only to be told we couldnt have them "cooked" (toasted) they expected £7.50 for these each.
They came to what i can only describe as spam and grey packet chicken. AWFUL.
We went down to breakfast the next day to have to try and find a clean table to sit at.
The staff eventually came to take our order but we had to guess what to have as they didnt have any menus!
I requested to have scrambled instead of fried egg and crispy bacon on my full english... this was greeted with a huff.
Eventually our breakfast came (to the dismay of a lot of others who had ordered before us) but I was served crispy bacon, NO scrambled egg and NO sausage?
I let the staff know my order was wrong but i had no apology and no one came to rectify the issue again.
They charged us £149 even after the complaint for our stay, do not bother!!!!

Room Tip: Theyre all really bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lwilliams79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear IWilliams79

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.
It is always disappointing for us to hear when a guest feels that they have not received the level of service and accommodation that we aim to give to everyone who visits us.

As you are aware, we are a busy four star hotel who pride ourselves on our standards of service and cleanliness. To this end, our rooms are regularly inspected to ensure that they continuously meet with those high standards, however as you would have noticed during your stay; there are comment cards in our rooms which encourage our guests to report any concerns that they may have with their room to our reception team so that we can rectify these immediately, where possible.

With regards to your order for room service, our hot food menu finishes at 10pm and thereafter only cold food is available for room service, which our night manager informs me, was prepared freshly for you and delivered promptly.

It is a shame that you felt your experience at breakfast was so disappointing and that you did not receive the food which you had ordered. Our staff all work incredibly hard to maintain the hotel policy of ensuring our guests overall experience is the best that we can possibly provide, however there is always room for human error which upon investigation appears to be the cause of you receiving an incorrect breakfast.

I have made various unsuccessful attempts to speak to you via telephone regarding your review and would be very grateful if you would contact me when it is convenient for you to do so. To this end, I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood.
Tel: 01277 226 417
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Arrived for Sunday lunch, was given the wrong menu and chose from it. Eventually food arrived that was the nearest equivalent on the Sunday menu, but NOT what we wanted. Very brusque waitresses grabbed the plates and huffed off. Eventually got an approximation to the right food, but still not good. Poor waitressing, poor organisation and generally poor experience. Shan't be going back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mastam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mastam4

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent Sunday lunch visit to our hotel. We do always welcome all guest feedback.
It is with disappointment that we note your comments regarding the service and overall experience you received when dining with us. It does appear that unfortunately there was a slight confusion as to which menus were in operation on the day of your visit. However having had the opportunity to speak to our restaurant staff who were working that day, they have confirmed that all food served was to our usual high standard, enjoyed by all who received it and despite the menu confusion the rest of the afternoon was thoroughly enjoyed.

We do hope that you will consider dining with us again and as such we look forward to extending a warm welcome to you.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood.
T:01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I wasn't expecting much but for a 4* star hotel I was expecting a lot more. Me and my boyfriend were desperately looking for a hotel to stay near V festival where we spending the day. This was the only one we could find near the time which was close and had a decent star rating. The decor is very tired and dated , which makes the hotel appear dirty. We paid £149 for a double room and a full English breakfast. I'm sad to say if was very upset that I had spent such a large amount for such a small room, with a minature Telly and a shower that just about dribbles out some water. While we couldn't see any evidence of it being dirty , the appearance of the room (decor etc) made it feel that way. My boyfriend ordered the full English breakfast which He was majorly disappointed with , whilst it tasted nice it was literally one of everything 1 egg, a small sausage, slice of bacon, spoonful of beans and half a tomato. I ordered porridge which was pleasant enough , the buffet was substantial but the cold meats and cheeses seemed a bit random and out of place ? The staff we came into contact were nice enough. ,however we were not asked if we needed any help with our luggage upon arrival at 10pm , after coming back from the festival obviously tired with arms full of bags. We had a fairly good sleep until we were woken up at 7am by a alarm which were unsure whether it was a security or fire alarm. When we checked out we were not asked about our experience of our stay which I would at least expect from a hotel with such a high 4* . eating. I'm sad to say overall we were both very upset and dissapointed in our experience at this hotel and will remember next time it's worth spending an extra £100 to camp at the festival.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottelouisegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Charlottelouisegreen

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
It is disappointing for us to hear that your stay was not to the high standards that our guests usually enjoy.
As previously mentioned by us, all of our rooms are currently in the process of being redecorated and being such a large hotel this is something which takes time. Due to your booking being a late booking and therefore one of the last taken for this weekend just passed, you were unfortunately in one of our as yet undecorated rooms, however we do have notices in these rooms asking our guests to report any niggles to reception so that where possible we can immediately rectify this for you.
As noted, our rooms are always cleaned to the highest standards and as such I am pleased to hear that you felt this was the case.
I have spoken to our chef regarding the concerns you raised over the cooked full English breakfast, and it is always hotel policy to serve 2 of most items on the breakfast (sausages excluded). Our kitchen confirmed that this was the case during your stay. We are also more than happy to provide more of anything on the cooked breakfast menu should a guest request it.
We apologise for the 7am alarm, however we cannot be held responsible for guests smoking in their room, which is strictly against hotel policy and was dealt with immediately by our management team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, please contact me directly when making your booking so that we can be sure of a warm welcome.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood.
T:01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Again and again we have have stayed here and yet again a fantastic night, we always say we'll write a review but always forget! Unfortunately people alway remember to write bad reviews but not always good!
Well this one is good good good!
Our room (117) is so beautiful, me.. as I feel most woman would feel a four poster bed is like being in the fairy tale that we always secretly dream of!
Our meal was amazing...starter...main and dessert!! Not one complain. Bar and gourmet equally amazing!
And most importantly the general feel and way the staff is absolutely fabulous, such a friendly atmosphere with a personal touch.
My particular compliments goes to Tina, Barbara,vish and davine.....lovely people and very professional, always more than happy to help....no problem to big, no friendly chat to small :)
Lovely weekend or night away, perfect you time!
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianneparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Marketing at De Rougemont Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Lianneparkin

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel.

It is always wonderful for us to hear that we are providing our guests with a first class experience in every aspect of their stay and indeed we pride ourselves on the family atmosphere created within the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Kind regards

Sarah Turner
Marketing Department
De Rougemont Manor Hotel
Great Warley Street, Brentwood.
Tel: 01277 226 418
Essex's Best Large Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
6.4 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rougemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rougemont Manor

Property: De Rougemont Manor
Address: Great Warley Street, Brentwood CM13 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rougemont Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your De Rougemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rougemont Manor Hotel Brentwood
De Rougemont Manor Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing