We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Nags Head

The Nags Head
Ranked #36 of 172 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: US$14 - US$62
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter booked this as she heard it was good.
It was ok. Considering the prices it was not value for money.
Starter I had was the sardines. It was two small sardines on a slice of toast £7.00 for that.
Then the roast beef which consisted of two medium slices of beef, two small roast potatoes and a little bit of veg of which the three bits of carrot where dried up.
Definitely not value for money. Thankfully I don't live in the area so I Will never have to come back again. At least in Eastbourne you get a decent plate of food

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Nags H, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Im very sorry to hear that your visit was not as expected and also that it has taken so long to receive a response. If you could private message me the date and time of your visit and number in the party i would be happy to investigate further?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 536 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We use the Nags Head when staying at Marygreen manor quite often as its near by, as with most Brentwood establishments they think they are better than they really are. Food and service is ok prices are what you would expect to pay and service was good ,at the end of the day it is a pub selling pub food nothing great but does the job but can be very noisy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Nags H, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for the review, im glad you enjoyed your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

second time we have visited here. Excellent service, food good value for money. will certainly come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Nags H, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

What a fantasic review, thank you very much. Look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Not visited for a while but it seems that place has definitely gone downhill. When we arrived we were shown to a table in the pub. I asked for one in the dining room but was by the young man that it was fully booked. This was not the case as it was almost empty for the rest of the evening.
Given a specials menu but fish on it not available.
Had steak but to be honest have had better in Wetherspoons
for a third of the price.
Only good point was that all of the three waitresses that we saw were very efficient and friendly.

Thank MICKRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Nags H, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review, im glad you enjoyed the service. We do value feedback and if you would be able to provide us with more details by private message such as date and time of visit, number in the party, we can investigate further? Im sorry that the response has taken so long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I visited The Nags Head last night with my father. When we arrived the restaurant was quiet and we were shown straight to a table. The menu had a good choice and after ordering our drinks we immediately ordered our food. We did wait quite a while for the food but this wasn't a problem as we had a long chat and the music wasn't too loud. Both our meals were very good, tasty and well presented. As the waitress was clearing our table we ordered tea for two. We had to chase this order a couple of times and my father would have left without his tea but I said we should wait a bit longer. When it did arrive it was a huge pot but only enough for three cups. The waitress was very friendly but not sure she really chased the food or the tea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Nags H, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for the review. Im glad you enjoyed your visit and would like to apologise for the slow service and the equally slow response. We have recently conducted refresher training for the staff and there was a section on service speed, so if you visited again hopefully you would find this to be much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nags Head also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing