We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastro pub for an enjoyable evening”

The Plough Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 171 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Six of us enjoyed a nice meal, in pleasant surroundings, with attentive staff. Fun atmosphere, a little noisy due to low ceilings and a crowd who like to enjoy themselves. Food was very nice, but a bit pricey. Overall a good venue for the future.

Thank steviewonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

I had heard really good things about this Restaurant and decided to try it with four members of the family including my Mother on Sunday, March 10th 2013 (Mothering Sunday).
Our reservation was for 12.30pm and we had a superb lunch in very pleasant surroundings and a great atmosphere. Food and service was excellent - the young team of waters/waitresses have been trained to a high standard. Value for money couldn't be faulted. Despite the occasion, we were never rushed to finish. We all agreed that the venue will be a regular choice in future. Although we live in the area, this was our first visit but certainly won' be the last.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug_T580427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Went there on 09/2/13 OMG.......... had such a lovely meal , its so nice to rave about a restaurant rather moan about it , took me half hour to chose, had scallops on top of this delish risotto( omg) to die for! ....really nice , and sea base with pac choi with a prawn an crab jue another omg..... so tasty , its a pub restaurant very relaxed , had some wine , and thought we would have a change on our second glass but did not like it ,they changed itwith no promblem at all ....nice staff, grate food , fair price, an on my door step , sooooooooooo glad i found you !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank blackcloudjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We booked a family table for 5 at The Plough one Sunday during Nov 2012. A pre Christmas family meal. Fixed price menu for all (inc one child). All had a roast dinner option.

The food was tasty, portions generous (too much for the dessert) and service was friendly and efficient.

The cost of lunch was, I thought, overpriced. The bill came only as two totals, bar and food which made it rather hard to determine if it was correct.

I would try The Plough again although I think for an evening meal and see if the atmostphere was different. It's a local pub/restaurant and worth another try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Great food, good staff - fair price. Good atmosphere. Easy to access from the A12 and definately better than mundane service stops.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Photonbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Plough Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing