We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again!”

The Plough Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 157 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

I said in a previous review that I'd be coming back here to eat...and I did! Warm welcome, fantastic service and top food! Loved it! Definitely coming back again... must try

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    58
    16
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Brilliant evening had yesterday at The Plough. Warm welcome with a great menu. Enjoyed the food very much and the attention from the staff was perfect. Met the owner who was very polite and welcoming. Great place to eat on a regular basis. Good find!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very good food, great service! I would recommend it to anyone to try this lovely bar & restaurant. I go to the Plough quite often with my wife because we really enjoy the food they make. I would also suggest that you don't leave the restaurant without trying the homemade desserts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dressed up Pub Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Very disappointed with The Plough, as expectations were high. Firstly staff were pestering us to take a drinks order. Starter of Asparagus with poached egg was the biggest rip off I have experienced, three skinny pieces of asparagus with a poached egg and some cress £7, I did complain to the waitress who said she would tell the chef of my disappointment, I am still waiting.
The main meal of pork was ok but nothing special on dressed up pub food. My wife's tempura battered prawn starter was also disappointing, as the batter was quite greasy, message for chef go to Australia to learn how to make tempura batter. On leaving the owner who behind the bar couldn't even thank us for our custom or bid us good night. Learn from this message or your customers will go elsewhere. Whish I had my Iphone with me to take a pic of the asparagus starter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Daio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for an average meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I ate here with my husband a couple of months back during a week day lunchtime. I have never been before and found the surroundings to be modern, clean and well decorated. I had the Liver Parfait to start, which was very bland and tasted of nothing, although the steak pie I had for main was very good. Service wasn't overly attentive, but also not the worst I've had. Lunch menu is great value, but I would never choose to eat here of an evening as the menu seems to be exactly the same for the evening but at a higher price. Overall a very average experience, although I would give this restaurant another go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Demeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Plough Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing