We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food”
Review of Imperial Peking

Imperial Peking
Ranked #72 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: US$13 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Stoke On Trent
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Lovely food -restaurant is dated but the staff were nice and the good really good. Resonably priced too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    16
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ESSEX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just an awful night”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We went in on Friday evening. To begin with the greeting we got was far from welcoming,but we chose to overlook that. Unfortunately things got worse from then on. The cutlery laid out was dirty, in fact revolting was a word used amongst us. Each bit had dried food still on it?! (sack the dishwasher methinks). When we pointed this out & asked for clean ones, the waiter just grunted and went off to find new ones. The food standard was poor. My friends chicken dish was pink in the middle, and my partners meal was tough and gristley. My own meal was verging on cold,but I ate it anyway (was worried we might cause world war 3 of we mentioned anything else!) the bill came to around £110,which was not good for such a poor meal. 4 people,2 of us drinking coke!? And to top it off, 3 of us were ill overnight and the next day. We certainly won't be returning and would not recommend any of it,hence the poor rating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eab103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Wow fast...”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Couldn't fault the attention from the staff, every time you looked round they were there.

Menus and drinks arrived promptly and after a few minutes our order was taken.

We just started a conversation while waiting for our meal to start and the soup arrived. We are talking 2 minutes.

Within a couple of minutes of finishing the soup, the mains arrived.

With the exception of the Kung Po Chicken which we both found bland and if anything it seemed like it was in a sweet and sour sauce rather than anything with any bite, the rest of the food was excellent, especially the Mongolian Lamb.

Wasn't particularly expensive either we thought given we were eating in Brentwood.

We were in and out of the restaurant within 40 minutes. Whilst overall it was a good meal, we just felt rushed. If I had known in advance I would have slowed them down a bit.

Would return though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avatar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
“Good for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Not been there for a long time. But, been there a few times and loved it every single time.

Duck here is one of the best I've had.

Lunch time deals as well which is always a good thing

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“chinese food at its best”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Have eaten here several times. In fact when choosing a Chinese restaurant we go to the Imperial Peking. Never disappointed us. Good and quick service. Polite waitresses and waiters. Every dish superb. Pleasant environment and spacious.
They now added value by having a buffet Sunday lunch for a very good price, £12.95. Don't be put off by the fact that this buffet limits you to 4 choices of starters, 3 mains and 1 rice and 1 noodle and as many of these as you can eat. It is absolutely enough and well worth.
You may need to reserve a table at special occasions and on Friday-Saturday..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank camadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imperial Peking also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Imperial Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing