We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting Customer Services”
Review of Tower Arms - CLOSED

Tower Arms
Price range: US$26 - US$58
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting Customer Services”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

As you will see, I have already left an honest review, however wanted to provide an update.
After posting my review, I received a shocking response from whoever is in charge of their Trip Advisor logs. It included calling me undesirable names and swearing at me.
After trying to explain why I made my complaint, I was then given a load of rubbish about how he was a great businessman and knows how to run a pub, and that I am basically lying.

I now see that the place is closing down, and I truly hope it is just to get rid of the people who currently run it and not to replace the pub itself.
It is a stunning building in a great location, and it deserves better ownership....it shouldnt be turned into housing or a supermarket!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Redwez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    7
    16
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beware. Management lie in responses”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner dined in December, we didn't have a very good experience and I wrote an honest review about that. This is precisely what Tripadvisor is for. I am not part of a witch hunt or wish to sabotage anyone's business.
A few days later we read the response from the management and were completely shocked. Every point that has been made is a complete mocking lie. We were not told any of what they state, we did not have items removed from our bill and we did not make complimentary remarks they claim we did. The entire response is fabricated. I imagine this has also been done to other people. Reading the responses they have put together for other reviewers is quite frankly appalling and lacks any care for customer service.
I was also contacted by another reviewer who told us they received an abusive private message from the management after writing a bad review. Utterly disgusting.
If you read previous reviews, you will see someone else warns of the same behaviour.
Beware of this management and restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Convictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Force Advertisiing”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This place has no repect for their customers. They dont care about your experience just your money. Booked up expecting a christmas party night. All we got is a back room, no music, no atmosphere. Force advertising. The best is yet to come. Trust me this NOT the place to complain. Coz boy when we did two women turn up the size of haystacks and started pushing us around. How dare they i am Pegnant so is my sister in law. Tables being knocked, glasses smashing, kids crying. It turned into Cell Block H. Never ever have i experienced anything like it in my life. Wish we had read the reveiws before we booked......and yes it is as bad as they say.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I agree, swindled is a apt title.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was booked in October for my daughter-in-laws 30th Birthday on the expectation of dancing and music in the marquee. When we arrived there was none of the entertainment advertised, and the owner had not bothered to let us know, as she quoted "it was a bIrthday party."
She was very rude and eventually gave a discount on the price of the meal., as we pointed out that it was advertised on the boards outside and inside and also on the web..
My daughter-in-law and son were extremely upset and furious that we had all been let down so badly on what should have been a very good night out celebrating her birthday.
However I must say that the two waitresses did everything in their power to try and make up for the situation. I would not recommend this pub and suggest that in future they get their fact correct when they are going to provide entertainment for the customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Last time. Rude manageress”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for a drink and for food at the weekend. Previous experience in the summer and in November was not good, so we weren't expecting much and we were right not to. Food was far from being up to scratch, things missing and cold. We had to nag for our dinner to be served as per menu. Don't bother complaining, the manageress is rude and dismissive.
We won't be going again. Such a shame as tower is literally on our doorstep.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cforsyth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tower Arms also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing