We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IN LIQUIDATION”
Review of Whitehall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broxted
Reviewed 8 May 2012

they have not yet advertised this, or made it public knowledge,
But this venue has shut down! no one is on site AT ALL - didnt even have the courtesy to advise the people who have weddings coming up at this site!!

they have taken all the money - for the wedding venue and guest rooms - and left me with nothing

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

We decided to have our wedding at Brook Whitehall. The hotel and venue took our breath away. We had family come from abroad and around the country and stayed at the hotel. On there stay there was no hot water and in some rooms no water at all. No apology and no compensation when we questioned the manager. A champagne breakfast was booked and paid for with the room but a normal breakfast was given and no answer to why they couldn't provide what was ordered. The dinner provided wasn't what we order and just got a simple "sorry" and it wasn't changed. We wouldn't recommend to anyone you will be waisting you time and money. All you will get is a "sorry" and nothing else. A complaint to the head officer isn't worth it's time either, they just say "Sorry" too and say they can't do anything to help. I'm beginning to think the company motto is SORRY

Room Tip: To choose a good room stay at the Raddison at the airport just around the corner, a little more expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

May I start by stating that I formed my opinion on only 6 hours of time at the hotel. We arrived late as we needed a sleepover before flying from Stanstead early the following morning. The check-in was satisfactory, there were no issues with regards to getting a late drink before we slept, however the bedrooms are incredibly dated/tired/worn. The main issue for me was the oppressive heat in the bedrooms, now I'm the first to admit that there is nothing worse than a chilly hotel but this was the opposite to the extreme...to the level that we couldn’t sleep even with all windows open and please bear in mind it was early March.! The thermostats on the radiator were jammed so nothing could be done other than grin and bear it. May I suggest to the 'Brook' Higher Management that addressing such an issue would clearly free some cash for urgent matters such as staffing and/or refurbishment..cummon think about it.! Never again...sorry you had your chance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed at The Brook hotel in early January 2012 and was amazed how little staff are employed, but how professional they are despite working under what appear to be very difficult conditions. I especially want to commend Trevor (night staff) for his thoughtful, professional and welcome help to resolve a problem I had . He offered 5 star service and is an assett to this hotel. The hotel itself is in need of some decoration and modernising although it retains charm and is a welcoming place. My room was acceptable and large, but again, needs to be updated. Overall, a reasonable stay for the price I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the grounds and not the front entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capetown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here 1 night with partner and her daughter to break up a trip from N Yorkshire to SE London. Utterly charming building full of interest. It was very quiet due to it being mid january so there only appeared to be 1 member of staff on at a time but they were friendly and helpful. The bar is very basic but suited our needs and the food was good although the menu was rather limited. The room was lovely with comfy beds, a nice bathroom and a good telly, although the heating was way too high so we ended up sleeping with the window open.

I would definately reccomend this hotel for anyone flying out of Stanstead. Such a nice change from the normal chain hotels you get near airports.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

A party of four wanted to try something different new years eve's so booked up for the party dinner and entertainment. On arrival hotel looked impressive but in need of a little tlc on the outside on being shown to our rooms we were impressed with the size. Some areas in need of refurbishment, others perfect. Food and service excellent, laid on music just right for friendly intimate party. Happy new year

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tottiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

booked into the hotel in between flights for 8 hours.
first thing i noticed was the carpets dirty and bits patch together and slightly musky smell of the room.
it was a cold night outside so the heating at first was great but as the radiator was so close to the bed it was unbearable and was unable to sleep,the radiator knob to turn it off didn't seem to have a affect.
cheap but wont be booking again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skytel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkUpton, General Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

Thank you for your review of the Brook Whitehall Hotel. I was sorry to hear that you had issues with the heating in your room and general state of the carpets.

We are currenlty undergoing a soft refurbishment of the hotel and this should improve the issues you had with the carpets. In regards to the heating in your room, we have our maintenance department looking into this and they are currently examing the heating system in all rooms to ensure they all work as intended.

If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me kirk.upton@brook-hotels.co.uk

Once again, please accept my apologies for the issues you raised and I hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Kirk Upton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Hotel

Address: Church End, Broxted CM6 2BZ, England (Formerly Brook Whitehall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Broxted
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broxted
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitehall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Elizabethan manor house is in quiet countryside, 5 miles from London Stansted Airport. It offers en-suite rooms, free parking and a 15th-century dining hall. The Brook Whitehall Hotel is in the village of Dunmow. It is less than 10 minutes' drive from Stansted Airport. Many of the large rooms have views over the gardens, lawns and quiet countryside. The rooms mix original charm with modern comforts. Hotel Rooms: 26 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Broxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing