We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unable to sleep due to the planes landing.!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Church Hall Farm B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Broxted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We wanted a visit to Audley End and this sounded ok . . .But. No reviews mentioned the noise from large planes landing every few minutes at Stansted! The owner Tony said they stopped at night but. . No. - .they were still flying at 3'30 am! We hardly slept at all. We had a small cramped room in the back garden and a tiny bathroom with a basin too small to wash your face. The back garden was unkempt with junk and weeds. Did we get the worst room? The front ones may have been better. . But you'd still hear those planes coming in to land! Instead of a relaxing break we went home tired out!

Room Tip: A room in the front and a good pair of ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, Owner at Church Hall Farm B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

What a pity your stay with us was not enjoyable as you seemed so cheerful at breakfast; you may recall we chatted about our plans for the rear garden which is currently undergoing landscaping ; big oaks from little acorns grow, we hope.
Our home is a small country cottage and we endeavour to make each room cosy and inviting; the hand basin you refer to is exactly that, for washing hands and is conveniently situated next to the shower used for washing other bits.
As we are only 3 miles from Stansted Airport some aircraft noise is to be expected; we have no control over the flight path but are at a loss to know how they flew all night as it is against current regulations. Perhaps it was a rogue cargo plane that woke you ; some people seem to be more sensitive to noise than others.
Weeds are flowers too, you know and beyond our patch is a lovely view of open countryside, seen clearly from your room; we are told it's quite picturesque and although it wasn't mentioned we do hope you took time to enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Me and my partner stayed two nights, one night at the beginning of our holiday and one at the end, as we were flying out from Stanstead early and arriving back in late, so we had the great opportunity of staying in two different rooms.
We felt we had already started our holiday when we arrived there and was not over until we left after our return there.
We had a great holiday in Rome and Venice, but we were also both looking forward to returning to the cottage on our return.
Both rooms were very homely, clean, tranquil and the beds were so comfy.
The B&B was run by Tony and Jan and they were extreamely welcoming, friendly, approachable and down to earth.
So nice of them to let us share their kitchen/dining room to eat our takeaway.
Outstanding value for money.
Continental breakfast was lovely.
We used the transfer service to and from the airport, very reasonable and convenient.
I really can not rate this B&B enough, we will sure be staying there if we fly out from Stanstead again, would also happily stay here again for a break, just a shame its some distance from our hometown in Manchester.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarahbManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed one night here before going to a wedding nearby. Our room was lovely, clean and full of character, with a very comfortable bed. Tony & Jan were very friendly and welcoming, and provided a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stephlmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for one night as were attending a concert locally. In a lovely rural setting this beautiful bed and breakfast did not disappoint. The room was very clean and fresh smelling, comfortable large bed too! Breakfast was enjoyable and as much as you could want. Tony was very friendly and helpful, willing to help you with anything that was needed, giving us good directions for our travel. If ever over this way again would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had an over night stop here on our way to London-Stansted. Lovely farmhouse set up in rural location. Full of character, nice rooms and very helpfull and freindly owners. Very good continental breakfast was served in the thatched cottage kitchen - fresh fruit, cereal, toast, yogurt, croissants, pots of marmalade,.. , but I would prefer some personal time during breakfast.
Really good place for an overnight stay prior to and early flight. I would have no hesitation in recommending this fantastic B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mateja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our room was really lovely and clean, wi-fi worked well.
We had an early flight from Stanstedt and we got our very good breakfast on the night before to our room, so we even got breakfast before 6 am.
Tony was really helpful and friendly and gave us good directions to a pub, where we could get food on Sunday night.
Would stay again, if in need of accommodation near Stanstedt.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Really nice start to our holiday staying at this close to Stanstead airport B&B. Very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and pleasantly decorated. Pubs near by for food and very nice continental breakfast in a picturesque kitchen. The transfers were prompt and we even had our luggage weighed on a very accurate antique weigh in thing..I chose not to stand on it myself!
Thank you to them

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Church Hall Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hall Farm B & B

Address: Church Hall Farm Church End, Broxted CM6 2BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Broxted
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Broxted
Price Range: £56 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Church Hall Farm B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Hall Farm B & B Broxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing