We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge Punching Above Its Weight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Travelodge Punching Above Its Weight”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a Travelodge that the company should be proud of. The Chelmsford hotel features the new refreshed look and it is of very high quality, forget what you knew Travelodge for previously try them out with a fresh mind.

The room and bathroom was spotless with a nice fresh smell throughout the hotel. The room had the usual tea and coffee making supplies although any hairdryers/fans/irons etc are on a first come first served basis from reception. The new King sized beds that Travelodge have installed are of very high quality, much comfier than I expected and found it very easy to sleep. The bed did not creak or have any lumps/bumps in it.

All rooms have showers but not all have baths (one of my friends was in another room). However the water was hot and of a decent pressure for a good shower. The cold tap did not work in our bathroom however I guess this was more bad luck than anything else, mentioned this to the staff on exit but was not offered any goodwill gesture for next time. Would have made a nice gesture.

Staff on reception were in exceptionally friendly and made you feel instantly welcome, felt like they would do anything and everything they could to make the stay more enjoyable.

Overall, give the new refreshed Travelodge brand a try. You WILL be pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: Odd numbers rooms are on the car park side which is quieter, ask for this side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xp132476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    113
    83
    48
    90
See reviews for
90
125
52
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Near to where we wanted to be, comfy bed and pillows and it was spotless, shame about the car park, a real shame! The location was at the bottom of town but not too far even after a drink or three, worth a visit for a good night out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Macadabadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Located close to the centre of town. I was on a cycling holiday with friends, and booked well in advance to obtain the best price. We were able to take cleaned bikes into our rooms for security. I had a problem with a pedal cleat but happily a new Evans bike stop had recently opened so was was sorted the next morning.

Room Tip: Family rooms seem larger than standard doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I can't help note numerous of previous reviews on Travelodge Chemlsford. Whilst people are having their own opinions I think that many are forgetting that Travelodge is a budget accommodation and not in the same ballpark as the likes of The Ritz.

We booked in for one night, thought it was a great deal for £50 family room with 3 continental "all you can eat" breakfasts. We got a taxi from Chelmsford Bus Station as we have never been to Chemlsford before, it cost £5 but after seeing where it was we walked to and fro for the entirety of our visit. This is a typical Travelodge, good location and @ a budget price.

The staff we thought were very friendly, polite and helpful with recommendations on what to see and do. We were allocated a spacious room, room 103, which had a double bed, a pull out bed and a camp bed. The room was quite clean and airy. The TV worked and had about 8 channels. Some of the bedside lights didn't work but that didn't bother us. The bathroom was again quite clean.

Breakfast was plentiful, cereals, toast, croissants, fruit, tea coffee etc etc. We didn't have a car but I read that the charge is £20 per night. Overall 3 satisfied punters who will be booking back at Travelodge on our next adventure to Chelmsford..

*approx 10 mins walk to town centre, straight road can't go wrong.
* free wifi only for 30 mins, £3 per 24hrs afterwards.
*extensive roadworks on going outside, could pose a difficulty locating property with GPS

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sineadandbrendan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a case of getting what you pay for.

I booked two rooms and both were on the busy road side of the hotel. The staff were very pleasant and were able change one room to the rear of the building but not the other. The difference was amazing. The road side room was so noisy that the window needed to be shut but it was also so hot and airless that the window had to be open. Catch 22 This was a twin room and the beds were appalling--very narrow and squidgy with terry towelling sheets. A sleepless night occurred.

The other room was much more comfortable. Basic but with a big,new, comfortable double bed,crisp cotton sheets and ,because it was at the rear of the building, quiet enough to leave the window open so we managed a good nights sleep.

This is a low priced budget chain so don't expect 5
star accommodation.
It is very conveniently placed for walking into town, 5 mins max , but the location has a downside in that it is right next to a busy road and roundabout . Maybe they should consider air-con on the road side of the building so that windows could be kept shut.
I wouldn't stay again but the hotel reflected the price we paid .

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the rear--go for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dympsduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Used hotel as base for watching cricket as Essex CCC.
10 minute walk to ground and easy access to town centre too.Stayed on a Saturday night so a bit noisy internally when club kicking out time but as I was very tired not disturb me but appreciate could be an issue for light sleepers but pays your Monet take your choice and very reasonable price wise.
Don't park at hotel as £20 a night which is excessive .Parking nearby at £6 for 24 hours works and short walk across car park
Frankie and Benny's next door does good breakfast .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank jeffersWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It started with the shock that they do not own their own car park, so I had to pay £20 per night just for parking, effectively a surcharge. You have to pay for the parking by calling a premium rate phone number, and of course you will need to make that call on your mobile. The rooms were small but extremely clean. The bed was eminently comfortable. However, the curtains were not long enough or wide enough to cover the windows, so the room was not dark. There was no air con, and as the room overlooked the main road it left you with the option of stifling heat, or opening the window to the racket of the main road. The room was serviced by attentive staff, nice and clean, bed well made, no complaints there. Half an hours free WiFi, then it's charged. Wake up Travelodge! Wifi is free everywhere these days! Shower was powerful but had a flapping shower curtain. It's ok on the surface, but for the really important things, quality of sleep, parking and internet connection, it's appalling for someone working away from home for a few days. Minor irritants included not even having a power point by the bed to charge your phone while keeping it handy, and no bedside table, just a small recess which held a cup. The desk is tiny, and barely adequate for a laptop and a ring file. I can assure you my company will not be booking here again.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the main road, although most of them do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel

Property: Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Address: 128 - 136 Parkway | Army & Navy Roundabout, Chelmsford CM2 7PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing