We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but not during summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Chelmsford
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Though the reception is it conditioned, the rooms are not. During my stay when the outside temperature was in the low-mid 20s, the temperature in the room was unbearably warm, windows cannot be opened more than a couple of centimetres, and I found it impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank ndschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

noisy next to a busy fly over.room was dated and not clean in places.1 chair.no wardrobe very dated.staff friendly but can only work with what they have.no air con so room was very stuffy.windows on lock so could ony open a bit if you could bear the noise.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

would not recommend this hotel. the room was very hot at night. there was a lot of noise from the road and fighting youths outside, and it was very expensive. the child bed was very uncomfortable. £89 not well spent.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stay at a Travelodge very frequently, but this was the best I have ever stayed in. The lady at the check-in offered to bring food and drinks upstairs and in the morning I was greeted by a huge breakfast buffet. It was really top service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jules v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We chose to stay here as it was near a family party. A new hotel built a couple of years ago, without any air conditioning in the rooms. Windows only open one inch and then noise of Chelmsford flyover exceptionally loud. Bathrooms very basic, only 1 towel for 2 of us staying, no fan in them and badly ventilated.
Other family members also stayed here - elderly 70+ in laws were woken up at 2.30am by security guard demanding they get out of their room despite them being in the right room in the first place. Other friends, on arrival asked to move to Brentwood Travelodge despite booking 3 months earlier, rightly refused.
Totally disorganised, badly designed, badly managed hotel. My first and last time at a Travelodge. Next time it will be Premier Inn...they get it right.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank BMfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed two nights to visit friends in area it was all usual Travelodge standards mind u continental breakfast was ok but was looking forward to bacon vbg
Room was fine and staff were very friendly and helpful

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank mchawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. Hadn't been to a Travelodge for years as we had gone off them really. Room was very nice and quiet. Very pleasant staff who also supplied a fan as the room was very hot. Parking is expensive but you can park cheaply about 5 minutes walk away. Breakfast at the hotel was continental and good value. Recommend taking a fan in case the hotel has run out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie_Bucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
0.9 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 11 in Chelmsford
386 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
450 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel

Address: 128 - 136 Parkway | Army & Navy Roundabout, Chelmsford CM2 7PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range: £41 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing