We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Temperature!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Temperature!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff were so-so - seemed fairly disorganized with checking us in, the biggest problem though was the sheer heat in the room! Why bother fitting air conditioning in the reception and entrance areas but not in any of the rooms! This issue may have been handled better if customers could at least have a fan in the room - despite knowing the heat was an issue they didn't have any available. Finally being able to open the window more than a few cm would have been good - but all windows are fitted with a 'safety' lock - exactly how many people try to jump/fall out of a travelodge window each year? Seems like a pointless health and safety extra that means the room is actually hotter than outside - I would have been more comfortable sleeping in my car in the car park! Would strongly advise anyone considering staying at travelodge in Chelmsford to NOT in the Summer months at least!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    107
    81
    46
    84
See reviews for
88
119
47
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

10 of us stayed and the staff were amazing from the minute we arrived. We arrived at 12 and they had a room ready for us to leave our bags for later. Check in was easy and staff very helpful. Joe was so helpful and found a fan for our pregnant friend. Only downside was the hot rooms. The fans weren't big enough to help but at least the hotel tried. Would def stay again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Though the reception is it conditioned, the rooms are not. During my stay when the outside temperature was in the low-mid 20s, the temperature in the room was unbearably warm, windows cannot be opened more than a couple of centimetres, and I found it impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank ndschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

noisy next to a busy fly over.room was dated and not clean in places.1 chair.no wardrobe very dated.staff friendly but can only work with what they have.no air con so room was very stuffy.windows on lock so could ony open a bit if you could bear the noise.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

Brighton And Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

would not recommend this hotel. the room was very hot at night. there was a lot of noise from the road and fighting youths outside, and it was very expensive. the child bed was very uncomfortable. £89 not well spent.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stay at a Travelodge very frequently, but this was the best I have ever stayed in. The lady at the check-in offered to bring food and drinks upstairs and in the morning I was greeted by a huge breakfast buffet. It was really top service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jules v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here as it was near a family party. A new hotel built a couple of years ago, without any air conditioning in the rooms. Windows only open one inch and then noise of Chelmsford flyover exceptionally loud. Bathrooms very basic, only 1 towel for 2 of us staying, no fan in them and badly ventilated.
Other family members also stayed here - elderly 70+ in laws were woken up at 2.30am by security guard demanding they get out of their room despite them being in the right room in the first place. Other friends, on arrival asked to move to Brentwood Travelodge despite booking 3 months earlier, rightly refused.
Totally disorganised, badly designed, badly managed hotel. My first and last time at a Travelodge. Next time it will be Premier Inn...they get it right.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BMfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel

Property: Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Address: 128 - 136 Parkway | Army & Navy Roundabout, Chelmsford CM2 7PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing