We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, poor quality food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive, poor quality food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We went here for a leaving party, it was a set menu and very expensive for the food on offer. Although the staff and service was excellent. A choice of medium or well done steak is a give-away to the style of food here, prepacked and zapped.. - unfortunate they are still charging low end restaurant prices for very very low end pub fare. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks for your review.

I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us recently but would thank you for your appreciation of our staff members.

I believe strongly that TripAdvisor is not the medium for lengthy rebuttals, however, I would be remiss if I did not take the opportunity to assure you that every steak delivered to a table in the restaurant is provided by local butchers and is most definitely not 'zapped'.

I would be more than happy to speak to you in this regard if you wish to call.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    77
    21
    12
    1
See reviews for
94
83
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here for business. Very nice well supplied room with comfortable furnishings and a very comfortable bed. Also nice and quiet at night. Good breakfast of ham and eggs. Have also eaten here quite a few times and the food is very good. Portions are large so one or two courses are usually enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thanks for your feedback, Richard. It's very much appreciated.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is our favourite restaurant ever!!!! We at least try and eat here once a month, food is fantastic, staff fantastic, I even had my wedding here as it was our favourite place to eat. All the guests couldn't compliment the food enough and how lovely it was, couldn't have asked for more. Great value for money. Looking forward to spending our first wedding anniversary with you in a few months.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

It's lovely to have such high praise from regular visitors. We look forward to welcoming you for your anniversary.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I loved the food but would have liked to have seen more vegetarian options on the menu.
The food was beautifully presented but dry, some sauces, dips or olive oil and lemon juice
would have made it extra special. More protein with the veggies would be great and less
carbs, dessert was lovely but heavy and dry it needed more sauce.

I know we are all cutting back on fat and sugar but some added wild foods, flowers even weeds
in the salad would help get a vegetarian foodie excited. Maybe highlight meals on the menu that are lower in salt, fat and sugar we all want to stay healthy. Vegan options too please.

Perhaps diners could fill in a questionare on what they would like to see added on to the menu plan, get some feedback and ideas.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie33220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thanks for your review.

You have made many suggestions in your review which can't be fully explored here. Certainly, if asked, we would happily provide extra sauces, gravy etc to add to your enjoyment of our food. We are also happy to cater to specific dietary requirements if we are advised in advance.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We go to the Lion a couple of times a month and last week alone I went there twice.
The bar staff are always very friendly and they have a good selection of wines and drinks.
Although I love the food I sometimes wish they did some lighter dishes in there.
The burger is really tasty.
I had the asparagus with hollandaise and poached egg which was a special and gorgeous.
The pate is also great and the apple sorbet.
I love the lunetta prosecco.
We will always return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granthannahbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thanks for your review and your continuing support of The Lion - it is much appreciated.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

i stay here regularly for business and it is always of a very high standard. The menu is varied and the specials are excellent and good value for money. The rooms are well designed and have everything a business traveller needs.I always look forward to coming here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thanks for your review.

It's great that we are ticking boxes for the right reasons and to know we have provided regular travellers with all that is needed.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Spent two nights at this small and friendly hotel. Was very pleasantly surprised how lovely the hotel was very well furnished and clean and fresh. the grounds were quite small but had nice little areas to sit out in. The restaurant is outstanding, all the meals were very well cooked and tasty. the full English breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked with a good selection of cereal and fruit etc. The staff were very friendly too.Thinking of going back for overnight stay soon.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thanks for your review, Janice.

I am very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
3.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
3.4 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
10.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Inn

Property: Lion Inn
Address: The Lion Inn Main Road | Boreham, Chelmsford CM3 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Chelmsford
Lion Inn Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing