We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay ~ Would recommend to everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Stay ~ Would recommend to everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here in December for 2 nights. We were a family of 6, attending a wedding in Chelmsford. 1st night, it was my mums birthday, where we had a meal in the restaurant. Lovely food, amazing atmosphere. 2nd day, we spent the morning getting ready in the hotel, very relaxing. Rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. Breakfast both mornings were also good. Overall, we all had a lovely time, and recommend this hotel and restaurant to everyone. Best place we've stayed in a while!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    78
    22
    12
    1
See reviews for
95
85
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Third time we have visited this great restaurant. Never disappoints, easy parking, attentive staff, great atmosphere, good and tasty food. The daily specials board is always worth a look.

Nothing more need saying, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had two friends visiting from London for my husbands birthday, and I had arranged for a babysitter for our children so we could enjoy some much needed catch up and adult time. I'd heard good things about The Lion so decided we would try it.
We arrived at about 3pm on Sunday (24th).
From the moment we arrived we were so impressed, firstly with the immense parking,then with the ambience, service, and then finally the food. The place was buzzing, we were seated in a quietish corner, we were happy there but would also have been happy in the main large area.
Our friends from London were very impressed and said its one of the best roasts they've had in a very long time.
I've heard from others that it can get very busy and sometimes there is a wait, we didn't experience that but even if we had, it would have been worth it.
We will definitely be recommending The Lion to our friends across Chelmsford (in fact we already have now!), and we will be returning!
Chrystal & David

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystalize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your brilliant review - we really appreciate it.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford Essex UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have been to the Lion many times since it's first opened and have always been very happy with the food and service but yesterday ( Sunday 17th November 2013)was definitely very poor service and the food was not up to their normal standard considering the cost. It would seem they are now giving preference to quantity of numbers rather than quality of food. Very disappointing as we took friends from Kent for their first visit. We will not be returning.

Les & Jeanne Marsh

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesChelmsfordEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks for your review.

I am sorry that your most recent experience was disappointing. It is always our intention to give each and every customer the best experience possible and we certainly haven't changed our thinking on this regardless of numbers.

As previously happy customers, I regret your decision not to return.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a good feedback from friend, they used to stay there on March. So, we decided to try ourselves. Really enjoyed our evening. Fantastic table service and atmosphere. Room was tidy and clean. Brilliant atmosphere and staff. Will come back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks for your review.

We really appreciate your all-round positive comments.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was a large restaurant which we visited on a Friday lunchtime. Considering the size of the restaurant the service was excellent. This was not fine dining but food enjoyable with large portions. Good choice with even more options via specials board.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sungym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We decided on a 'staycation' this year, visiting friends and family around the country. The Lion Inn was recommended for a 2 night stay by friends. We decided to splash out and go for the superior deluxe room option and were certainly not disappointed. Our room was large, beautifully decorated and furnished. The bed linen was excellent quality and we had a down duvet. The sleep quality was excellent despite being quite close to a very busy motorway. Our room had a small balcony which looked over the very well maintained garden. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent. There was a good choice of fresh fruit and the home-made Grenola was superb. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a drink in the bar. The staff throughout were friendly, professional and very well trained. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would definately recommend The Lion Inn

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for such positive comments, they are truly appreciated.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
3.4 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
7.0 mi away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Inn

Property: Lion Inn
Address: The Lion Inn Main Road | Boreham, Chelmsford CM3 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Chelmsford
Lion Inn Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing