We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice clean and well decorated rooms good helpful staff and good tasty food, (the Guinness was the best ive had outside Ireland). All round a great place to eat and sleep. Will definitely be going back

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UKTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    79
    23
    12
    2
See reviews for
98
88
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffs. UK.
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Couldn't really fault this place ! Warm welcome, well appointed room, friendly and efficient service, and good food. All this doesn't just happen - it's down to good management ! So I take my hat off to you ! Can't wait for my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here in December for 2 nights. We were a family of 6, attending a wedding in Chelmsford. 1st night, it was my mums birthday, where we had a meal in the restaurant. Lovely food, amazing atmosphere. 2nd day, we spent the morning getting ready in the hotel, very relaxing. Rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. Breakfast both mornings were also good. Overall, we all had a lovely time, and recommend this hotel and restaurant to everyone. Best place we've stayed in a while!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Third time we have visited this great restaurant. Never disappoints, easy parking, attentive staff, great atmosphere, good and tasty food. The daily specials board is always worth a look.

Nothing more need saying, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had two friends visiting from London for my husbands birthday, and I had arranged for a babysitter for our children so we could enjoy some much needed catch up and adult time. I'd heard good things about The Lion so decided we would try it.
We arrived at about 3pm on Sunday (24th).
From the moment we arrived we were so impressed, firstly with the immense parking,then with the ambience, service, and then finally the food. The place was buzzing, we were seated in a quietish corner, we were happy there but would also have been happy in the main large area.
Our friends from London were very impressed and said its one of the best roasts they've had in a very long time.
I've heard from others that it can get very busy and sometimes there is a wait, we didn't experience that but even if we had, it would have been worth it.
We will definitely be recommending The Lion to our friends across Chelmsford (in fact we already have now!), and we will be returning!
Chrystal & David

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystalize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your brilliant review - we really appreciate it.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford Essex UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have been to the Lion many times since it's first opened and have always been very happy with the food and service but yesterday ( Sunday 17th November 2013)was definitely very poor service and the food was not up to their normal standard considering the cost. It would seem they are now giving preference to quantity of numbers rather than quality of food. Very disappointing as we took friends from Kent for their first visit. We will not be returning.

Les & Jeanne Marsh

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesChelmsfordEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks for your review.

I am sorry that your most recent experience was disappointing. It is always our intention to give each and every customer the best experience possible and we certainly haven't changed our thinking on this regardless of numbers.

As previously happy customers, I regret your decision not to return.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a good feedback from friend, they used to stay there on March. So, we decided to try ourselves. Really enjoyed our evening. Fantastic table service and atmosphere. Room was tidy and clean. Brilliant atmosphere and staff. Will come back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmirams, Manager at Lion Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks for your review.

We really appreciate your all-round positive comments.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
3.4 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
402 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 11 in Chelmsford
351 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Inn

Property: Lion Inn
Address: The Lion Inn Main Road | Boreham, Chelmsford CM3 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Chelmsford
Lion Inn Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing