We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”
Review of Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

went here for my friends birthday, and was amazed at how good it was!

steak is the best I have ever had

service is impeccable and friendly

great atmosphere

for the quality and quantity of food it is also very fairly priced

all together great experience

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    79
    22
    12
    1
See reviews for
98
87
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Visited this place on a Sunday evening with friends for the first time. Staff were top notch, food was amazing and the wine selection is going to get my full review over the coming months.

Do not be fooled into thinking this is just a pub tacked onto a nice hotel. The place is worth a visit even if you're not staying

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here as part of the wedding celebration of our Nephew and his new wife. It was fabulous from beginning to end, the service the food and the accommodation were all first class.
We had a buffet in the afternoon and a sit down meal for 30+ in the evening and drinks in the afternoon is the secluded garden that some of the guests rooms opened up onto. The staff who looked after us during the day and evening are a credit to this hotel and I am still astounded how the kitchen was able to cater for us promptly with everything ordered absolutely perfect while running a full service in the restaurant ( we were in a private side room). Our Bedroom was beautifully decorated with a lovely marble bathroom and the bed was really comfy.
We were All able to Breakfast together in the morning in the same side room and the full English I had was lush.
I will definitely try to stay here again so that we can eat in the Restaurant were the menu looked was amazing and the desserts and cakes were to die for.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Chelmsford area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I regularly stay here when on business and it's like home from home. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and on every stay have always been immaculate. Food is served downstairs in an always lively bistro style pub. The menus is great with plenty choices to suit everyone and the staff are exceptional. The Lion is the sort of place that makes being away from home a big bit more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Have stayed here numerous times in many rooms and all have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

For a remarkable family (17) weekend to celebrate 50th wedding anniversary. All rooms presented to a high standard,evening meal was a joy, service impeccable staff so accommodating. A meal all enjoyed. After a very comfortable night, all served a variety of delicious breakfasts of a very high standard. What a great time had by all, would never hesitate to take the family or recommend friends to use The Lion Inn.
Martin / Anne & Family (Yeulett)

Room Tip: Room 15 is very comfortable & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disY43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Normally this location is not visited by tourists. I booked there because of a business trip and I had a very nice experience. Actually this review should be for the complex of both a small cozy hotel and a big excellent bistro-pub restaurant were meals are served from breakfast to dinner.
Both are in high end management, friendly staff and warm hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviz1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Came here for my friends 40th birthday lunch on Monday 24th March 2014. A really enjoyable experience, great food, including my vegetarian dish, lovely atmosphere, nice staff. Particularly enjoyed the 'Lemon Posset with home made shortbread biscuit' mini dessert. All my friends (12 of us in total) said their meals were delicious. Would definitely recommend and will be returning as soon as I can!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleCaviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
3.4 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
7.0 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Inn

Property: Lion Inn
Address: The Lion Inn Main Road | Boreham, Chelmsford CM3 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Chelmsford
Lion Inn Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing