We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San

San
Ranked #97 of 367 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Could not believe how good the food is and terrific ambiance
Plenty of choice, order anything you want off the menu and it arrives piping hot and so tasty.
The duck was succulent, the Thai Green Prawn Curry delicate and full of flavour, lemon chicken, sweet and sour, noodles, rice whatever we had so very very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColchesterDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    72
    28
    13
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good food consistently but personally I don't like the added 10% of bill as service charge. I always give a gratuity but of my choice. usually more than 10% and also in cash so that it goes to the staff and not management.
Usually have to book as very popular.
Lovely friendly restaurant with huge menu choice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good food and attentive staff make this "all you can eat" Chinese restaurant a popular destination. Always busy and never left disappointed, especially after gouging myself up the crispy duck!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I really do love this Chinese. I've never had bad service and the food is delivered to your table quickly. Although it's an all you can eat restaurant, it doesn't have the feel of such. Looking forward to my next visit!

Helpful?
Thank RachelK1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times now with friends and it has always been consistently good both food and service.

Never rushed, staff very friendly and food of the quality you would not expect of an all you can eat style restaurant.

Thoroughly recommend will be retiring soon

Helpful?
Thank MikeUK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing