We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful house and grounds.”
Review of Hylands House

Hylands House
Ranked #7 of 40 things to do in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful house and grounds.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visited Hylands house and park today and took the guided tour of the house, the price was excellent at about £4 each adult, and Diana the tour guide was really knowledgeable and passionate about the property and the changes of styles and owner etc, the house has been really well restored with lovely ceilings and plaster work . the grounds are also well kept with plenty of areas for picnics or just messing about with kids. definitely give it a visit, you won't be disappointed :-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    61
    27
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
766 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A Great place to visit”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I took my family to Hylands House one sunny afternoon in May & we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, what with the beautiful walks around this large country estate & the visit to the house itself & tea & cake in the café, it all added up to a very pleasant few hours in a very beautiful part of Essex & in my considered opinion well worth a visit !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“I want to get married here. please!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The house really is beautiful. As you approach it is like a scene from The Sound of Music. Inside the tours are lovely. Perhaps not for children as it really is just information based, although the Christmas Fayre they host is really great for all the family. We are attending a party here soon on the lawn out the back, it is a great venue for all types of events if you can afford it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Simple and elegant”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Firstly make sure you buy the ticket at the gift shop. Once inside you are greeted by a person who explains what you can see and provides a map with a suggested order. The house has been very well renovated and there are selected pieces of furniture to highlight the building rather than clutter it up.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The entrance to the house was not signposted, many people were going to the main door asking for tickets to be told to go back to the shop for them, for myself as I am on crutches this proved to be very painful and time consuming, back in the shop I bought a tube of Kath Kitson hand cream which had been reduced, a bargain at £5? well no as when I got home I found it was "off" and like water and smelled bad! Being on a tight budget, it would cost me too much to take it back. The house itself when I finally got back there had nice ceilings and fireplaces but was done as for corporate meeting, rows of chairs, in the basement was the butlers room, which one could not see into as there was no lighting, but a very good wine cellar with talking mannequins. The food in the café was average and the waitress service very slow, one of them actually knocked my crutches away from me although by mistake did not even apologise! Not impressed overall wont be going back soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hylands House also viewed

 

Been to Hylands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing