We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelmsford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottage at Phoenix House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Cumbria
1 review
“A Great Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

As a regular business traveller it makes a change for a B&B to actually be like the website!
As ever with a business trip my stay was fairly brief, however, I would thoroughly recommend to both buiness and other travellers alike, you will not be disappointed.
Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bus_Traveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Having recently moved away from Chelmsford, we stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting family and friends. Beautiful accommodation with own entrance - warm and welcoming, spotlessly clean, incredibly comfortable, spacious and set in wonderfully quiet countryside. Delicious breakfasts of your choice in the delightful breakfast room overlooking stunning countryside views. Couldn't have felt more welcome - thank you Jayne & Tim - and Molly, of course! We've "bookmarked" for future visits. Marion & Dave

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDWChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed for two nights 12th/13th December whist visiting family. We found it quite easily despite fog on the way. Accommodation warm and welcoming on a gloomy night. Full cooked breakfast with lots of toast and coffee really hit the spot! We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here on the night of 12th November as I was attending a cookery course at Braxted Park. Jane gave me excellent instructions on how to find the place, and was very welcoming. The cottage was gorgeous, very comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. I had the best sleep ever in that lovely soft as a cloud bed. Breakfast was to die for. All in all, a little gem of a place and I would be extremely happy to stay again.

Room Tip: There's only the one suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed here before when we were working close to this B&B, on finding ourselves again in the area this was the first place we contacted.

Another excellent stay, we can highly recommend this delightful cottage, and we will definitely be returning.

Many thanks to our hosts Jane & Tim, not forgetting Molly of course.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We found Jane excellent to deal with. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and roomy. Very comfortable and with all you could possibly need for your stay. It's also set in beautiful country surroundings. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were fortunate to find this marvellous property whilst travelling through the U.K. The cottage is spacious, very well appointed and has all amenities provided including toiletries, tea and coffee facilities and ladies - a hair dryer! A full English breakfast is provided or Continental if preferred and this is served in the Family's delightful breakfast room which overlooks the spacious and well kept gardens. There are no cooking facilities here but there are a number of Pubs and places that one can eat at within easy driving, a list is provided for same. London is only 40 minutes away by rail from the closest railway station and it is easy to drive to Cambridge for sightseeing etc. Do follow the driving instructions provided to locate the property, do not rely on GPS or road maps.

Room Tip: There is only the cottage available which consists of a double bedroom, lounge room with TV and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviews255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
10.7 mi away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
6.9 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
4.7 mi away
Rivenhall Hotel
Rivenhall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Witham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage at Phoenix House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage at Phoenix House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cottage at Phoenix House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Phoenix House Fairstead Hall Road, Chelmsford CM3 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, boutique bed and breakfast accommodation in a ground floor guest suite offering complete privacy. A peaceful haven to return to after a busy day. Surrounded by beautiful countryside with far reaching views off the beaten track. Truly the best of both worlds, rural yet close to Chelmsford, Witham, Braintree and Hatfield Peverel. Only 25 minutes to Stansted Airport. Free WiFi. An idyllic location and a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage At Phoenix House Bed And Breakfast Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing