We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening ”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #216 of 400 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Went to this pub this evening, always gets mixed reviews, but I must say even though it was very busy the food was exceptional
Had starters, mains, all very hot and lovely.. I can recommend the chicken wings and fish n chips, staff very chirpy, enjoying their jobs, great atmosphere, great background musicwell done

Thank stc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The White Horse, Great Baddow. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Visited today for Sunday lunch. Ordered one beef and one pork with stuffing. The beef had one slice and the pork 2 slices with no stuffing ! We also tried to order a side dish of cauliflower cheese but was told they had run out. It's a Sunday ! Surely you make sure it's available if it's on the menu. Was just disappointed that most of it was from frozen and not fresh. We have been many times before and it's always been good quality and good value. Not sure if there is new people running it, but we won't be returning anytime soon for Sunday lunch.

Thank Tinaturrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Tinaturrant, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience so we may further assist you in working towards a resolution.
The White Horse, Great Baddow
441245476209

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I usually visit this place for a drink with my friends and I've never encountered any problems here. They are always well stocked on a vast range of drinks and although I've never eaten here, food is available until 21.00 I think which is a good time.
The facilities are clean and tables cleared, the staff do a good job.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

many thanks for your review. Claire and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely Sunday lunch, great value for money, £10 for two courses including coffee! can't beat it!!
Great atmosphere, receive a warm welcome from staff, always have a smile, even when their busy just what you want from a local pub

Thank lisac6846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

many thanks for your review. Claire and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This is a welcoming pub for a evening drink with the locals,come along more the merrier
Always a good selection of real ales on tap , all day Mondays all real ales £2.49 pint ,rest of the week reasonable prices.Have used the restaurant always had good service usual
Chain pub food. If you like old beams and cosy fires in winter ,you will like this place,and summer a small garden to the side.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kenrimmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Kenrimmell, thank you so much for the positive review! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Romford, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Upminster, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing