We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A twist on your standard curry ”

The Gurkha Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 405 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Draped along the magical heights of the Himalayas (Himalayan Kingdom) Nepal, is one of the most stunning and beautiful small countries of the world. It sets a romantic image with its ancient culture, is the birth place of Buddha and home to the famous Gurkha soldier. Here at the Gurkha Restaurant we strive to maintain the many traditional and delightful culinary cultures from all corners of Nepal. Our vastly experienced chefs have learnt the skills of traditional cuisine in Nepal and are now preparing the same delightful dishes here at the Gurkha Restaurant. Bringing the customs of both cuisine and warm service, it is our intention that dining at our restaurant is a unique experience with many delightful cuisines on offer.
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Absolutely amazing food that tantalised the taste buds. Even mouth full was delicious. Couldn’t fault the place. Very warm welcome. Perfect 40th birthday meal. Looking forward to going back and trying something dit

1  Thank 4everclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGurkhaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so pleased you had a perfect birthday meal at our restaurant :) We prioritise keeping our food as authentic as possible to give our customers a reaaaal taste of Nepal - so we are always overjoyed when our diners express their appreciation for our flavours! We look forward to hosting you again soon to try more delicious Nepalese foods ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We Couldn’t fault the Gurkha , fantastic food , friendly staff who didn’t rush us at all , I would highly recommend it ,

Thank REV-SC-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGurkhaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your review :) We are so pleased you had a great dining experience at our restaurant! We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We have eaten in this restaurant a few times now. The service is first class and so is the food. Consistently excellent. Superb tasting food. If you like Indian food you should try this restaurant.

Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Two different chicken dishes with same bland chicken chunks covered (not cooked in } two different sauses. Everything was luke warm. Bread was dry and both venison starter and lamb main dry and gristly , Have eaten in this restaurant many times which was good but delivery meal way below the same standard even though we sent nearly £80

    • Value
    • Food
Thank kevb1234Chelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Gurkha restaurant food was alright. I didn’t liked it much. Ordered a chilli chicken which was way too sweet, chicken curry was ok. We also ordered tandoori chicken which was so blend. I didn’t liked it as much as people on reviews. A bit too overrated.

Thank 24saloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGurkhaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review - we appreciate all feedback :) We do wish you would have expressed your opinion to us at the restaurant, as we could have then recommended something more suited to your liking - our menu is very vast with dishes all boasting a variety of flavours. I'm sure you would have found a dish that matched your tastebuds ;) Nevertheless, we do appreciate you giving us try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing