We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”
Review of The Imperial

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Imperial
Ranked #171 of 371 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I disagree with the people who are leaving bad reviews on this restaurant - what do they expect for less than a fiver a head!! We don't go there expecting a top quality, silver service experience - but what we have always had is polite staff and nice food that is excellent value for money! It's probably one of the cheapest meals you can have nowadays - fish & chips or a big mac and chips would cost you more and there really is no comparison. If you don't like it, that's fine, but please don't diss it and put other people off because not everyone expects top class standards for budget class food. Keep up the good work Imperial because there are more people who appreciate what you do than people who don't appreciate good value for money :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Danijosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    20
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Chinese Fawlty Towers: verbally abusive staff”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have been here many times, food is OK, cheap and cheerful. This time I made the mistake of asking for a table other than the one the maitre d' had taken us to, the "Herr Kommandant" actually started shouting at me in the middle of the restaurant, said in broken English that if I wanted to choose a table I should have reserved one. The Chinese Basil Fawlty assured me that most of the tables were in fact reserved, but there was no "reserved" sign on any of them ! We only wanted a window seat. He then "blanked " me for the duration of our visit, clearly knows nothing about customer relations. If you like being shouted at and humiliated by staff in a restaurant, I heartily recommend you go here, otherwise, avoid it like the plague !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cheap, but NOT cheerful.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

If you are trying to do lunch on a budget, this might be the place to go.
A group of 6 of us had arranged to meet up and go to The Imperial for a lunch and have a bit of a catch up. We were shoved on a tiny table in a corner; it was very dark with no space to swing a cat (pardon the expression).
The food was well below the normal poor standards - it wasn't hot at all, and there wasn't even the full range that has normally been available.
Drinks are over priced.
Staff were down right rude - no thank you's when we left or anything.
Very, very disappointing.
I appreciate it is not a top-class restaurant, but I expect better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank IWTBAT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not one of the best Chinese buffets”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

This is quite a small restaurant, with an extremely limited variety of food. Some of the items were not that warm, and some didn't taste that great. Generally I'd describe the food as average. The dessert consists of a scoop of the lowest possible quality vanilla ice-cream.

Sometimes the staff would lean over my plate while I was eating to collect dirty plates!

Also, this place accepts cash only. I'm always a bit suspicious of restaurants that don't accept card.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Totally superb value”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Honestly why do people moan when they are paying £5 to eat a three course lunch. Its superb value and you can eat as much as you want. The food is good and yet everyone moans because you get nuggets and onion rings. Well let me ask you, how many "nuggets" would you get in Mcdonalds for £5 probably 6!!. So take it for what it is which is superb value and ill guarantee your go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ferguson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Imperial also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing