We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Chesterield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel is in a good location close to the centre of town. the staff are very friendly and the rooms are of a good stadard and so is the cleaning of the room. The lonly slight down side for me was the wifi would drift in and out so you couldnt always connect. The breakfast in the hotel is very good with plenty of choice. The meals in the evening and expensive for what you get. In summary and great located hotel and I would stay again if in Chelmsford.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    135
    70
    40
    24
See reviews for
31
103
17
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have now stayed twice at the Atlantic Hotel in Chelmsford. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the high street in Chelmsford. There is free parking just outside and it is easy to find.
The reception staff are friendly and helpful.
We have stayed in both a standard room and an executive room. To be honest there is not a great seal of difference between the 2 types of room as both are spacious and comfortable .In the executive room there is a coffee machine but there are coffee/tea making facilities in both types of room.
We didn't use the hotel restaurant as we were so close to the town centre and there is a good choice of good restaurants nearby. We didn't have breakfast as service doesn't begin until 8 am on a Saturday and we needed to leave at 8.15 so we didn't have time.
That would be my only disappointment as overall we have enjoyed our stays there and will use this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed here recently whist on business with work.
The hotel is nice and clean, room was great, just what i needed, good shower, bed, tv, iron etc.
I had a meal in the restaurant which was OK, they seemed very short staffed and only had one guy on the bar and a single lady in the restaurant, it did seem a little busy for a Tuesday evening so maybe they were caught off guard a little?
The staff forgot me at first, i could see them looking at me, puzzled as to why i was sat down for so long and not eating... then it clicked and they realised that they sat me down and completely forgot to take my order (i waited 20 mins to order a drink)
The meal i had was fine except the soup (which was apparently Minestrone), was terrible, they forgot me again (waited 30 mins to order my starter) and as i was sat opposite the kitchen i could see the chef going mad because they must have ran out of soup but because they had took my order then decided not to tell the chef (i waited another 35 mins for starter) he made a fresh batch which was literally some chopped up carrots in water with some congealed oil sat on the top... seriously.. it was diabolical. The staff also messed up with my main meal by giving the guy next to me, the dish i had ordered and giving me, his! He didnt notice by the way! he looked at it when they put it in front of him with a bemused look, i could see him thinking "did i order this?" it was quite comical as i had clearly overheard him ask for a rare steak yet he was confronted with the chicken in breadcrumbs, i cant say i was suprised when i was presented with.... yes you guessed it..... a rare steak!
I couldn't help but laugh but hey the steak was fine......
In retrospect i probably should have mentioned it to them but i was afraid that my complaint would have been more trouble than it was worth.
They did redeem themselves with a decent breakfast so ill let them off!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here on business during a very rare occasion - A British Heatwave!
The hotel had an interesting decor and was very hot in the corridors,
The room was spacious and very clean and had an air conditioning / Heater unit in the room which was a bit noisy, the second night I switched it off and opened the window, didn't do much good as a thunderstorm developed!
The bed was a double and hard with a sag in it on one side
The Hotel is handy for the city centre and has a barriered car park

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, not been to Chelmsford before. Hotel was very easy to find and is within walking distance of the train station. I stayed in an executive suite & it was lovely, very clean & tidy. I would definitely stay here again & I would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great location for work and from the exterior it looked fine.
Check in was efficient, the interior was clean, receptionist very welcoming.
The corridors are very dark with pink lighting which I liked so I hoped the rooms would be the same but they were not.
The room was very big but a bit soul-less, lots of wooden shelves, the white duvet on the bed didnt add any colour. The bathroom was clean and spotless.
Room service menu very basic so I ate in the restaurant, although not cheap the food was fantastic so I would definitely recommend eating at the restaurant.
Breakfast was ok, buffet options ok.
Check out - receptionist was very engaging.
I would return but it wouldnt be my first choice, nothing majorly wrong but a splash of colour in the rooms to match the funky corridors would top it off.
May be being a bit fussy but staying at lots of hotels you get to know your likes and dislikes

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robborobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

I used to stay at the Atlantic a lot with work and having changed jobs I returned after about a year.
The staff are great, they really try to make your stay a positive one. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was made to order and great quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaterC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
4.2 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Atlantic Hotel

Property: Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Address: New Street, Chelmsford CM1 1PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in to Chelmsford! The Atlantic Hotel is a modern, stylish place to stay. Comfortable accommodation comes as standard here, with spacious, attractive rooms offering full en-suite facilities just minutes from the town centre. Easily accessible by train and car, the Atlantic Hotel is also close to the Cathedral and University, while London can be reached with the minimum of fuss. You'll enjoy privacy as well as convenience here, and our staff will do everything in their power to make you comfortable. Speaking of comfort, our three feature New York' apartment suites offer something a little different for those who choose to stay in one. Pop Art in our corridors completes the contemporary look and feel in this relaxing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
Best Western Atlantic Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing