We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally very good, watch out for the breakfast prices though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Chelmsford
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arrived at 5.30pm yesterday, didn't realise that to get into the car park you have to drive up to the barrier and it opens. Instead initially parked in one of the 4 spaces just outside of it but no issue, just went and moved it after talking to the receptionist.

The staff are generally friendly, no problems there. The room reminded me of a Premier Inn room in a lot of ways. The bathroom wasn't massive but it was adequate and did the job. If you like a deep bath you'll love the bath in these rooms. No soap dispenser here though, just a small bottle of body wash - if there's 2 of you and you didn't bring any soap/shower gel you'll struggle to make that work for both! Bed was comfy, pillows were fluffy, towels were soft.

Next morning my girlfriend was starving, I said we should get breakfast outside of the hotel but she insisted she couldn't wait. So into the restaurant. I know hotel breakfasts are always overpriced but they seemed crazy here. £11.95 for a cooked breakfast?! I always think £5 at a roadside cafe is taking the piss for a couple of sausages/bacon/egg/toast. If you just want toast, a fruit salad, yoghurt, croissant etc it's JUST £8.95, W@W! Good food, but prices a little steep.

Thankfully the server in there only charged us for 1 continental breakfast as we didn't have much between us... I think asking us to pay £18 for a yoghurt/fruit salad bowl/2 pieces of toast/1 glass of concentrated orange juice would have bumped this review down to 2/5.

Room prices on reception state £125. Book it online whatever you do, we got the room for £63.

Room Tip: We were put into "109" right by reception. This hotel is popular with partygoers on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meesterwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel really well situated for our purpose of visiting family. Our requirements were simply a bed to sleep in and a decent breakfast in morning. Other facilities were of not much interest as we were spending very little time in place.

Car park good, plenty of spaces. Reception and check in very efficient and fuss free. Not a particularly large reception area but a few seats, clean and uncluttered. Up the stairs to our room corridor - really unusual dimmed coloured lighting reminiscint of a funfair's haunted house sideshow but nice to see some modern interior designers being listened to. Room perfectly adequate with evidence of it being regularly maintained. All facilities present and especially pleasing was the dedicated and very efficient air con. Whilst it is a bit noisy at night, it was welcome. Again pleasing was the bottled water in room with more available by asking reception - a nice touch.

Breakfast provided a good choice with the 'full english' well presented and with good quality ingredients.

Check out equally quick and efficient.

With regards to staff, we found all to be attentive, friendly and helpful. In summary, a gem of a hotel and facilities slap bang in the middle of Chelmsford centre.

Room Tip: I do not believe there is a good or bad type or area of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firefly306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

As a one night stop over it was ok .....by joining their club we had an upgraded room which was probably a good idea .....basic and there were some blood stains on the duvet cover ...should have complained but never really had the time or inclination ....the corridors were dimmed to give ambience I believe but almost to the point of darkness maybe to hide more stains who knows

Was woken in the early hours by returning partygoers which is to be expected in this type of establishment

Breakfast was average and the roof of the conservatory really needs a clean

Room Tip: Definitely join their club and take a free upgrade if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemmah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just spent a couple of nights (Friday and Saturday) at the Atlantic hotel in Chelmsford. Our welcome was warm and efficient, the room was large and well appointed, very clean and bedding spotless and of good quality. Twin beds zipped together made an enormous bed which on a warm evening was very comfortable. Bathroom a little small but adequate and clean. Tea tray well stocked and complimentary bottle of water there too. We had asked for a quiet room which it was except for the laundry truck calling at around 8.20 am and parking up outside our window, a bit noisy when they put out their steps to the back of the truck but otherwise no noise to worry about. You can hear the trains going by if you have the window open and they are frequent, but the noise wasn't disturbing at all. Would be better if there was a life but managed the stairs with our luggage. I am sure someone would help with cases etc if needed. Very close to Chelmsford town centre, we walked in, and all in all a perfect stay to visit family nearby. Will definitely use this hotel again. All the staff were helpful and friendly and we were happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if that's what you prefer. If you struggle with stairs ask for ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleDiamond60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If the brand wasn't above the door you wouldn't believe that this was a Best Western hotel. I've stayed at Best Western's in various places around the country and they are always of excellent quality. The rooms at the Atlantic are a little small. The King beds are just two singles linked together and the bedding is ALWAYS worn and uninviting and I have stayed in many of the rooms at this hotel in standard and exectutive. The cooked breakfast is not good, again it's just this hotel as my personal experience of Best Western's anywhere else the breakfast is great. I stay at the Atlantic on business as it's within walking distance from the town centre and train station. The staff are usually helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Toni E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 11 in Chelmsford
520 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Atlantic Hotel

Address: New Street, Chelmsford CM1 1PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range: £66 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in to Chelmsford! The Atlantic Hotel is a modern, stylish place to stay. Comfortable accommodation comes as standard here, with spacious, attractive rooms offering full en-suite facilities just minutes from the town centre. Easily accessible by train and car, the Atlantic Hotel is also close to the Cathedral and University, while London can be reached with the minimum of fuss. You'll enjoy privacy as well as convenience here, and our staff will do everything in their power to make you comfortable. Speaking of comfort, our three feature New York' apartment suites offer something a little different for those who choose to stay in one. Pop Art in our corridors completes the contemporary look and feel in this relaxing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
Best Western Atlantic Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing