We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
London
Level Contributor
573 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 22 November 2008

This was so disappointing bearing in mind some of the recent reviews.

Upon arrival at 3pm I was told that absolutely NO FOOD was available until 6 pm but they could make a drink.....suggested I go to the Sandwich Shop across the road to get anything to eat.

The room was OK at best with two singles zipped together to make a double. A duvet barely covered the bed and there was only ONE towel.

At £100 b&b this was no better than a glorified Premier Inn and more expensive

Never again.......there must be better places in the Town.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    135
    70
    40
    24
See reviews for
31
103
17
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Despite external appearances (80's build, Wimpey Home style) this is a lovely hotel. I'm not quite sure what inspired the Andy Warholesque prints of Mohammed Ali along the corridors, but the whole place is really nicely finished.

The room was spacious, compfortable & spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. There really was no cause for complaint about this place at all. We paid £58.50 prpn, but I'll be interested to see if the opening of the new Travelodge affects prices in Chelmsford at all.

Overall, I would recommend staying here, but as always, shop around, you can generally find it cheaper...

  • Liked — The stylish interior
  • Disliked — The passe exterior
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateyk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Stayed here for two nights, staff were really friendly and helpful and the fact that you can use the fitness first gym over the road for free is excellent.
You can walk into the town in about 5-10 mins which is good and the parking at the hotel is free.
Only downside was the room was SO hot and we couldnt find any way of cooling it down, also there was a party going on / group of loud people which kept everyone awake til 4AM not the hotels fault but annoying as you can imagine.
Would stay again though if I had to go down that way

  • Liked — The gym and friendly staff
  • Disliked — where it is :-)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

The Atlantic does not purport to be a luxury hotel. It is a hotel for business and short-stay visits which does what it sets out to do very well indeed. The rooms are ample, modern, good facilities and excellent TV, well serviced. The breakfasts are good, and the waitresses and reception actually seem to enjoy working there. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and spacious bedroom
  • Disliked — Rather cut off by inner ring road from Chelmsford centre (but parking easy)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank atticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

I have stayed at this hotel several times, and my opinion is getting better as time progresses. The hotel is almost walking distance from the Chelmsford rail station, but it is probably better to take a cab. The entrance to the parking lot is a bit hard to decipher, but signs do indicate that you have to enter from Brook St next to the car wash.

The first room I shared with a colleague was a bit cramped, and difficult to access due to the lack of a lift. This time I stayed on the first floor in one of the 10x rooms. I found it to be spacious, well lit, and convenient to use for work. The WiFi is a bit flaky, but costs nothing. You'll need to look for the log in credential in the hotel guide.

The hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from the High Chelmer Shopping Center and the whole High St pedestrian mall area. Just go south on New St, and when you hit Tindall Square, make a slight left turn onto High St and start exploring.

I had breakfast in the hotel, and found it to be mediocre, sufficiently so that I never ate there again. Across the street is a Chinese take out that is pretty good, and down on Victoria Rd and a block closer to the rail station is an excellent pub.

My favorite restaurant is Loch Fyne down on the Chelmer River walk. I soon became a nightly regular.

My peeves:
a) The clerk I called and the hotel guide claim that you can get laundry service on Saturday. However, this is false. There is a laundromat a block further north next to Spar where you can purchase some laundry soap. You always enjoy ironing when its raining.
b) The WiFi rate varied between 1 and 54 Mbps, and often timed out before completing a query transaction.

Sure, I will go back since I often have business in the area, but there is going to be competition in the next few months that will be worth inspecting.

  • Liked — Close to the pedestrian mall on High St
  • Disliked — flaky internet service
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daSVGrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

I recently stayed here on business.
The hotel is modern and conveniently located for the town centre.
Parking was handy and the reception area is well laid out. Rooms were clean and spacious, only minor gripe was small bathroom but not a big deal.
Bar staff friendly, reception staff less so.
Didn't eat in the restauarnt for dinner but breakfast was excellent, prompt and friendly service and a good choice of food.
Didn't use the gym as too busy but would have been a good option as it's next door and is a proper gym rather than a hotel one.
All in all, not bad and I would stay again.

  • Liked — location and breakfast
  • Disliked — reception staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnetBlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

I booked two rooms directly with the hotel after checking availability on-line. I called them as I needed one double and one twin- staff were very helpful and were able to allocate rooms next to each other.
Cost were very reasonable for 1 night stay incl Breakfast- had the feeling this was included as I had called directly.
The style of the hotel is very contempory and reminds me of a Novotel.
We found the hotel to be clean, well presented and staff helpfull. Breakfast is std buffet with plenty available, and choice very good.
The rooms were large (better than Hilton!) and bathrooms well maintained. Each room also has air conditioner- very handy as some rooms look out over the car park and main road and you may need to keep the window closed due to a little noise.
Certainly recommended- will book again should we need to stay in the area.

  • Liked — Clean, value for money, location
  • Disliked — very little.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Starman262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
4.2 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Atlantic Hotel

Property: Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Address: New Street, Chelmsford CM1 1PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in to Chelmsford! The Atlantic Hotel is a modern, stylish place to stay. Comfortable accommodation comes as standard here, with spacious, attractive rooms offering full en-suite facilities just minutes from the town centre. Easily accessible by train and car, the Atlantic Hotel is also close to the Cathedral and University, while London can be reached with the minimum of fuss. You'll enjoy privacy as well as convenience here, and our staff will do everything in their power to make you comfortable. Speaking of comfort, our three feature New York' apartment suites offer something a little different for those who choose to stay in one. Pop Art in our corridors completes the contemporary look and feel in this relaxing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
Best Western Atlantic Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing