We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
106
168
90
50
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
168
90
50
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgood sizeexecutive roomtown centrehotel restaurantmodern hotelsky tvcoffee machinetrain stationwould stay againone night stayhigh streetcooked breakfastno air consaturday nightgood nights sleepgymtravelodge
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Very pleased to have free car parking with the hotel and on arrival found our room to be spacious, clean and well stocked with tea, coffee etc.

Our only complaint was from others staying in the hotel partying all through the evening! Having brought this to the attention of the manager an apology and the offer of a free room at either Chelmsford or Colchester accepted.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IssyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Ample free onsite parking.
Check in was quick and the room was a good size.
My room was overlooking the car park and my window didn't shut properly so was quite noisy in the morning.
I ate in the restaurant both nights I was here and I really enjoyed the food on both occasions.
So overall I'd say the hotel is average although the restaurant is above average.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HayleyGarner1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

This is just what you'd expect for Best Western.

Large rooms, reasonable sized bathroom. Temperature control was good and we had a window for fresh air.
Very economical. We received an AAA rate.
Friendly and helpful staff.
They kindly provide complimentary bottled water in your room and ice from the bar.

The hotel is a bit of a walk from the train station.
No fridges in room. Ice had to be retrieved from the bar downstairs.
Single beds are quite tiny.

Chelmsford is a great town. I would highly recommend this location if you are looking for a hotel outside of London. The town centre is quaint and very walkable with magnificent shopping and a great mall. Many coffee places were available for our walk to the train station every morning to explore London.

Cost for a 7-day train pass to reach the London underground was about 95 pounds.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Canada689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We arrived mid afternoon on Friday, my satnav took us to the hotel with no problems and there was ample free parking.- I had requested an accessible room and was given a nice, clean and well decorated room with a big Sky TV not far from reception. (There isn't a lift in this hotel)
As this was a group visit, the food was buffet style on the first evening and a convention dinner from a previously chosen menu on the second evening.
Breakfasts were a typical hotel buffet type and of high standard. The restaurant is Italian and the food delicious. The staff were very good and attentive. Internet was high signal.

Room Tip: As there is no lift, it is wise to request an accessible room if you have trouble with stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend as we were attending a wedding nearby. Our initial thoughts of the hotel were that it looked like an 'old people’s home' from the outside, although not the end of the world.

We were greeted by a grumpy looking receptionist who checked us in and took payment there and then (wishing I had held back payment until departure in hindsight).

My first shocking experience was finding SOMEONE ELSE'S BOXERS!!! Presumably a previous guest’s in the bottom of our wardrobe. We then noticed that our 'King size' bed as advertised was in fact two singles (single beds and single mattresses) pushed together.

I addressed these issues with the reception team who explained all their rooms have 'zip and lock' beds this is standard and they have no other rooms to offer us. On second look, the actual zip and lock part of the bed hadn't even been connected properly so my boyfriend fixed this for us (not his job). There was a minor apology regarding the boxer incident and a member of cleaning staff sheepishly followed me to the room to remove these straight away.

After this great start we had a more thorough look around the room and noticed that it looked as though it hadn't been cleaned for weeks; there were marks on the light switches, cupboards and walls. A carpet tile had been taken up and not put back properly and there were stains on the pillow cases that clearly did not come out in the wash. Just why the hotel is happy to provide guests with stained bedding for their stay is beyond me… The curtains were broken and half hanging down, which would have given the whole car park and high street a view of us getting ready for the wedding/or woken us up very early by daylight shining in, had it not been for my boyfriend who managed to fix them (again not his job!). There was also no iPod dock in the room as stated in the advert for an executive double.

The overall appearance of the room was below average for the amount we paid and I was genuinely upset with the service we received. On check out we were not asked how our stay was, which is (I strongly believe) a standard courteous question that should be asked to all guests when they depart. My only presumption is that the receptionist could not be bothered to hear any more complaints as she knew this is what would be coming.

I would not stay at the Best Western Chelmsford again, nor would I recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tasha-Leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, General Manager at Best Western Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Tasha-Leanne

I was very sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your recent stay at the Atlantic Hotel.

We take all our guests comments very seriously indeed, and I was most concerned to hear that the room was not to your expectations. I would like to address a couple of items you mentioned.

Initially when you came to Reception regarding the bed and the items in that had been left in the wardrobe, the Receptionists on duty misheard you, and thought you had said ‘Boxes’ not ‘Boxers’.
Upon the discovery of the items, the Receptionist who was with you was most embarrassed that these items had not been seen/removed by the housekeeping team that day.
We sincerely apologise for this occurrence, and the matter has been addressed with the Head Housekeeper and her team.

We are currently completing a refurbishment program. All our rooms have zip-link beds making them Superking size, which are designed for hotels and usually we get compliments on such.
This offers a very flexible sleeping solution and for this reason they are particularly popular in hotels and guest houses and I am sorry that these were not to your personal liking.

Suffice to say the room you were given was not up to our standards, and we apologise for this.
I know that you have not stayed with us prior, and would like to take the opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel.
I would like to invite you for a complimentary stay based on two people staying, with us on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday night, Bed & Breakfast within the next six months.
Date is subject to availability. If you wish to take up this offer, simply contact myself when you wish to book.

Yours sincerely,

Ricardo Santa-Rita / Regional General Manager

My direct email address: RSanta-Rita@rose-and-crown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews