We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
chelmsford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed here on our wedding night. Despite being dressed in morning suit and wedding dress the hotel refused to let us check in as we "didnt have the card we booked with and could do a runner". Eventually we were let into our room an hour later.

The hotel manager later said this was acceptable and would offer no apology.

Do not under any circumstances risk having any event at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chaplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    135
    71
    40
    24
See reviews for
32
102
17
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2009

A very comfortable corporate hotel with very high standards of food and service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businessmanCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Our bedroom was a good size, modern and clean. The receptionist made an effort to change our allocated room since we arrived early and the original one was not ready, which was a great start. Two main criticisms: the large carpark is controlled by a barrier and it's not clear that this will rise automatically when you approach, so it's a bit confusing when you arrive; breakfast is not included in room rate, and so I expected the full range to be available since I was paying separately but there was no meat or cheese on the buffet (an hour before the session ended) and the staff chatted noisly, making it unpleasant to linger over coffee and newspapers. Overall OK but a bit faceless and corporate.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My wife and I were in Chelmsford to attend my brother's wedding, and didn't fancy the drive home afterwards. Having looked at all the options available, we plumped for the Atlantic Hotel. The price of £85 was very reasonable: although on paper the Travelodge was cheaper at £50, this didn't include parking or breakfast, which were both included at the Atlantic. A warning to anyone wanting to stay at the Travelodge - parking is a rather eyewatering £20 per night.

Anyway, we got to the Atlantic to check in shortly after midnight, and parked up (having driven past the carpark entrance! A sign-post would have been handy). I had phoned the day before to check that it wouldn't be a problem checking in very late, and sure enough the reception was open. The two gentlemen behind the desk were very polite and helpful, especially given the late hour!

The hotel's decor is modern, but with some quirky twists such as art prints and coloured lighting in the corridors. The room was pleasantly decorated, reasonably large, had all the features you would expect including a large flatscreen TV with Freeview, and most importantly of all was clean. The bed was comfortable, and not surprisingly we got to sleep quickly after a long day.

Breakfast is served in the hotel's restaurant - the Atlantic Grill - and consisted of a cold buffet (cereals, cold meats, fruit juice, toast, etc) plus a choice of cooked (full English breakfast) items from the grill and tea or coffee. The standard of the cooked food was excellent - very nice sausages and bacon, and they cooked my wife's fried egg with the yolk fully solid as requested (spoiling a perfectly good egg if you ask me, but that's what she asked for!!).

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - much better than the Travelodge or Premier Inn, plus it's within easy walking distance of the town centre and the station.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_C_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

What a surprise! This hotel is great . We got a great deal for a two night stay including breakfast. Booked on the best western website...it was more expensive when we phoned the hotel direct!
The decor is modern and the rooms are clean and a good size with flatscreen tv.
Breakfast was incredible. We dont eat english breakfast normally but had to have it here as it was all cooked individually for your personal taste. The waiter at breakfast was very helpful hope he gets paid well he deserves to.
The bar area is small and lacks personality. All in all its a good hotel!

  • Liked — Free parking, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Bar
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eurpoetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
577 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

This was so disappointing bearing in mind some of the recent reviews.

Upon arrival at 3pm I was told that absolutely NO FOOD was available until 6 pm but they could make a drink.....suggested I go to the Sandwich Shop across the road to get anything to eat.

The room was OK at best with two singles zipped together to make a double. A duvet barely covered the bed and there was only ONE towel.

At £100 b&b this was no better than a glorified Premier Inn and more expensive

Never again.......there must be better places in the Town.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Despite external appearances (80's build, Wimpey Home style) this is a lovely hotel. I'm not quite sure what inspired the Andy Warholesque prints of Mohammed Ali along the corridors, but the whole place is really nicely finished.

The room was spacious, compfortable & spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. There really was no cause for complaint about this place at all. We paid £58.50 prpn, but I'll be interested to see if the opening of the new Travelodge affects prices in Chelmsford at all.

Overall, I would recommend staying here, but as always, shop around, you can generally find it cheaper...

  • Liked — The stylish interior
  • Disliked — The passe exterior
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateyk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
449 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 12 in Chelmsford
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Atlantic Hotel

Property: Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Address: New Street, Chelmsford CM1 1PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in to Chelmsford! The Atlantic Hotel is a modern, stylish place to stay. Comfortable accommodation comes as standard here, with spacious, attractive rooms offering full en-suite facilities just minutes from the town centre. Easily accessible by train and car, the Atlantic Hotel is also close to the Cathedral and University, while London can be reached with the minimum of fuss. You'll enjoy privacy as well as convenience here, and our staff will do everything in their power to make you comfortable. Speaking of comfort, our three feature New York' apartment suites offer something a little different for those who choose to stay in one. Pop Art in our corridors completes the contemporary look and feel in this relaxing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
Best Western Atlantic Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing