We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
107
168
90
50
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
168
90
50
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews good size executive room town centre hotel restaurant modern hotel sky tv coffee machine train station would stay again one night stay high street cooked breakfast no air con saturday night good nights sleep gym travelodge
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

The night porter had appalling attitude. He needs customer service training before he should be left in charge of the hotel. His mannerism is aggressive and we do not expect to be talked to like children when we are paying £125 a room

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 648tarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, General Manager at Best Western Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Mrs Heywood,

Thank you for submitting an additional review on Trip Advisor. I enclose below a response I have sent you via Medallia Guest Survey.

In the meantime, I would like to bring to your attention that on the night in question, my Night Porter served many other drinks to other guests which appreciated the intervention from Night Porter relating to the noise and behaviour.


"Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to
ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. My apologies if my Night Porter came across a little aggressive, but as we sometimes experience some feedback when guests use their mobile
phones or Ipads to play music after 11.00pm we request that all guests refrain from using such devices with music on...with a view not to disturb their sleep whilst staying at the Hotel. Noise can travel easier
at night...

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01245 268168 & 01206866677. "

Yours sincerely,

Ricardo Santa Rita / Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We picked this hotel as it was ideally located to visit friends who live in Chelmsford. It was also very convenient for a day trip to London, with the train station only five minutes walk from the hotel.

We stayed in a Duplex Suite, which was a huge room able to accommodate our family of four all in the same room and still have plenty of space. The room was well equipped, with what we learnt was new furniture and bathroom. There was a big screen TV with Sky & BT Sports, a posh Nespresso coffe machine, Galaxy hot chocolate and a modern desk with USB charging ports. This was incredibly good value for what we paid.

The staff was very friendly and attentive, always trying to please and make our stay enjoyable.

Unfortunately, we had a busy weekend planned, so didn't have a chance to try the on-site restaurant, but it looked very good. Maybe next time, as we will be definitely coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Duplex Suite if you need space - you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cristinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

visit was for a 3 course meal with a tribute show, held in the restaurant part of the hotel, first ever visit to this hotel, well laid out restaurant area with well stocked bar and rest area to the side, good size floor area for dancing, first course of mini pizza covered the whole large plate with enough topping for a whole meal,second course of breast of chicken with vegetables again large chicken breast with loads of side vegetables with offers more side vegetables, the third course of mixed fruit tart and cream was out of this world, large tart filled with so much different fruit it was a dream meal, with coffee to follow, followed by the number one U.K. ELVIS tribute artist Mark Summers making it a good rocking night, all for just £35,thats value for money, large free car park ( just remember to get exit code before leaving )

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank antony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

The nature of my job means that I travel around the country and stay in lots of hotels for much of the week and this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in. The rooms are clean and practical with the added touches of a coffee machine and toiletries. The staff are amongst the best I've experienced and the breakfast is amazing. I met Ben Mehanny, General Manager who explained that they also have a hotel in Bournemouth, which I have already booked for a trip in June. I've chosen this over the Hilton, where I normally stay in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have a coffee machine
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Very pleased to have free car parking with the hotel and on arrival found our room to be spacious, clean and well stocked with tea, coffee etc.

Our only complaint was from others staying in the hotel partying all through the evening! Having brought this to the attention of the manager an apology and the offer of a free room at either Chelmsford or Colchester accepted.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IssyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews